Past Exhibits

  • This year, William & Mary’s Earl Gregg Swem Library marks its 50th birthday. Taken from the University Archives Photograph Collection, the images in this exhibit show the planning, construction, and opening of Swem Library in 1966.
  • This exhibit features publications and research from current faculty members in the English Department.
  • This exhibit is a photographic glimpse into the archaeology of the College of William and Mary over the last 70 years.
  • In the late seventeenth century, colleges usually built their library collections from donations, not college funds. The main donor for William & Mary’s first library was Francis Nicholson, the royal governor of Virginia, who gave over 200 volumes in 1698.
  • Featuring documents, photographs, and selected ceramic works from the Joseph Palin Thorley Papers in Swem Library’s Special Collections Research Center, this exhibit provides unique insights into the many facets of his life as an artisan, scholar, soldier, and historian.
  • Tribe Pride: William & Mary Athletics Display uses photographs, artifacts, and publications housed in the University Archives to showcase history of intercollegiate sports at William & Mary.
  • The William & Mary Mattachine LGBTIQ Research Project: Documenting the LGBTIQ Past in Virginia aims to better understand, chronicle, and preserve the history of LGBTIQ people in Virginia.