Multidisciplinary Databases

Best Bets

  • Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

  • Business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. Articles, news stories, letters, etc., drawn from the tables of contents of journals. Coverage: 1990-present.

  • Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

  • Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Multidisciplinary. 1,700 magazines (such as news magazines and other popular magazines), newspapers, and some scholarly journals and reference books. Those magazines, newspapers, and journals contain secondary articles as well as 160,000+ primary source documents (such as interviews, speeches, letters, laws, case studies, poems, short stories, and more) and almost 600,000 images (photographs, charts, graphs, maps, and more). Coverage: varies by title.

  • Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexisincluding U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Coverage: 1701-1800.

  • Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

  • Despite its name, covers scholarly sources from the 12th century to early 20th century. Includes Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents, and images. Coverage: 1106-1930 (varies by source).

  • Academic Complete collection via Ebook Central offers over 150,000 scholarly ebooks from leading publishers. Provides unlimited multi-user access and DRM-free chapter downloads. Adobe Digital Editions is needed to download an ebook from a desktop/laptop and an ebook reader app such as Bluefire is needed for mobile devices.

  • Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

  • Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 8,400 sources and 152 countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

  • Provides access to the following Adam Matthew databases: American History, 1493-1945; American Indian Histories and Cultures; American West; Colonial America; Everyday Life & Women in America c. 1800-1920; India, Raj & Empire; Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007; Virginia Company Archives Online. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your my1693 member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Biographical articles of men and women who helped shape the nation. All eras and walks of life. Coverage: varies.

  • This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

  • The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. This classic reference work provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information. Coverage: 1758-Present

  • Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.

  • Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.

  • Business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. Articles, news stories, letters, etc., drawn from the tables of contents of journals. Coverage: 1990-present.

  • Open access to over 1 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering & Systems Science, and Economics.

  • One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The Associated Press Images Collection contains millions of photos from 1826 to the present, that capture the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment. More than 3,500 photos are added daily.

  • The research needs of two-year college students. Alcohol & drug abuse counseling, audiology, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, electrical technology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel & tourism, veterinary technology. Journal articles and books. Coverage: 1985-present.

  • W.A. Scott II founded the Atlanta Daily World at a time when most black Americans lived in the South. He felt that the race problem could only be solved in the South, which required an informed community. Rather than reading news about African-Americans through the optics of a host of prejudiced white papers, he launched his own newspaper to educate, inspire, uplift, and promote the expression of the Southern black community. Coverage: 1931-2003

  • Citations to biographical material on women and men from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • A searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to scholarly academic databases, websites, and tools withhundreds of reviews and updated information on electronic resources. The reviews are written by subject-area experts in collaboration between Choice and the Charleston Company.

  • Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Searchable version of the most recent edition.

  • Founded in 1908, the Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

  • Premium access to the complete contents of the new issue, an archive of articles from the past two years, and more than four years' worth of grant listings -- all fully searchable.

  • When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city the nations 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as The Queen of the West. A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave The Cincinnati Enquirer a unique perspective to report on international, national and regional news. Coverage: 1841-2009

  • Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Data on a wide variety of subjects from government agencies, private exchanges, and international organizations. Users can manipulate datasets, make comparisons, and chart trends over time. Coverage: 1950s-present.

  • Since 1898, the Dayton Daily News has reported on historical events as the evening paper for the residents of Dayton, Ohio. Its pages offer researchers a fascinating glimpse into the history and economic, cultural, and social life of Ohio, the U.S., and the world from 1898-1922.

  • Biographical reference for deceased women and men notable in British history. Coverage: 400BC-present.

  • Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

  • Reference works, scholarly books, literature, and fiction. Full text. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.

  • An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies. Coverage: 1910-2015

  • English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Coverage: 1701-1800.

  • Engineering Case Studies Online will dramatically improve teaching and research by providing a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.

  • Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.**

  • Collection of databases in the humanities, social sciences, arts, and science. See individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

  • Food Studies Onlineis a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, and its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.

  • Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Collection of databases devoted to a variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and science. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

  • ProQuest Government Periodicals Index provides indexing and links to full text articles from over 300 of the most important periodicals published by agencies and departments of the United States Federal government. Coverage: 1988-Present.

  • US government documents, all subjects. Citations to congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Coverage: 1976-present.

  • The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. From Napoleons defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandelas release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.

  • Quantitative data for all aspects of American history. Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (Cambridge UP, 2006). Coverage: 1790-1996.

  • National public opinion polls. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.

  • The Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more. Each issue contains in-depth analysis and lively debate of current events. The Weekly Irish Times’ coverage (1876-1958) includes The Times Pictorial.

  • Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. Popular with British servicemen and women stationed in the region, as well as readers in Cairo and Alexandria, the paper had strong readership in both Jewish and Arab cities throughout Palestine. Coverage: 1932-2008

  • Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Provides access to full-text articles in the humanities, social sciences and science. Content includes the back runs of thousands of academic journals, current issues of select titles, primary sources and other materials. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your my1693 member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • The oldest and most influential English-language newspaper in Korea, The Korea Times is globally recognized for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news historically through contemporary times as well as its perspective on regional issues and events. Coverage: 1956-2016

  • Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Journal and magazine articles, books, news sources, and regional newspapers. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Multidisciplinary. 1,700 magazines (such as news magazines and other popular magazines), newspapers, and some scholarly journals and reference books. Those magazines, newspapers, and journals contain secondary articles as well as 160,000+ primary source documents (such as interviews, speeches, letters, laws, case studies, poems, short stories, and more) and almost 600,000 images (photographs, charts, graphs, maps, and more). Coverage: varies by title.

  • English-language dictionary and thesaurus. Coverage: Current.

  • Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), theMLA International Bibliographyis the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

  • Literature, language, linguistics, literary theory, folklore, and the dramatic arts. International coverage of journal articles, series, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and scholarly websites. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1925-present.

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1851-2014.

  • Collection of historical primary-source databases. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexisincluding U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

  • Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

  • 19th-century and early 20th-century studies. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) and Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents. Coverage: 1774-1920, varies by index.

  • This is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the health sciences. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

  • Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Hinduism. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

  • The new OCD is a continuously updated and ever-expanding resource that will ensure scholarship remains current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives. New and revised articles written by leading international authors will appear on a rolling basis.

  • Definitions for most of the words in the English language. Also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present. Coverage: Current and historical.

  • Wide range of disciplines, including economics, humanities, law, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, medicine, and social sciences. Oxford University Press journals. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Citations to papers presented at conferences worldwide. Coverage: 1993-present.

  • Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

  • Questions and responses from public opinion polls conducted in the US and other countries. Coverage: 1986-present.

  • Every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. Citations to the papers presented. Coverage: 1993-present.

  • Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your my1693 member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

  • Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

  • Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Includes multiple subcollections in broad subject areas like Civil Rights; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions.

  • This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

  • Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.

  • All disciplines. Citations to magazine articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the US. Coverage: 1890-1982.

  • Full color image edition (with current day) of the Richmond Times-Dispatch daily newspaper. All formats of the Richmond Times-Dispatch (print feed, web edition, and new image edition) can also be accessed from Access World News.

  • Social sciences. Data from public opinion polls (mostly American, but some international) conducted by leading survey organizations. Contains the searchable iPOLL Databank. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in history and the humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • High-quality, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal content to over 1,000 SAGE journals and open access titles.

  • Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

  • The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Coverage: 1960-1974

  • Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

  • See also ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States.

  • An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.

  • Detailed information about serials from around the world, including academic & scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc. Includes evaluative reviews of hundreds of those serials from Magazines for Libraries. Coverage: Current.

  • Includes the Virginian-Pilot Historical Archives, 1865-1989; as well as the current newspaper issues from 1990 to present. Content can also be accessed from "Access World News."

  • The goal of the Portal is to provide course materials for adoption that are of no cost to students. It provides a wide array of Open Educational Resources, shared library resources, and content available for purchase using VIVA funds.

  • Student & faculty research, student publications, digitized material from the Special Collections Research Center, and select university records. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1889-1999.

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1877-2001.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation IndexScience, and Conference Proceedings Citation IndexSocial Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Sciences and social sciences. Journal articles, books, reference works, databases, and other resources. Only content with the unlocked icon is available. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • The primary World Bank collection of development indicators. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates from 1960, where data are available. Coverage: 1960-present.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • WorldCat Discovery includes access to a wide variety of electronic, licensed, physical and locally digitized materials. Users can discover more than 1.8 billion items in local libraries and around the world with a single search.