Physics & Applied Science

Annual Reviews
Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.
Engineering Index
Bibliographic coverage of the international serial and non-serial literature for research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, transportation engineering, forensic engineering, engineering services, education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, mathematics/computation, design, construction, and latest technological developments. Coverage: 1966 - current
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
IEEE Xplore
Engineering, electronics, and computer science. Access to the full text of IEEE/IET electronic library (IEL) content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from journals, transactions, letters, and conference proceedings of the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers.
IOPScience
Physics journals from IOP (Institute of Physics). IOPScience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. It embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
PROLA is a complete archive of the American Physical Society's journal publications dating back to the first volume of each journal. Coverage: 1893-present.
ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). Also includes: Computer & Information Systems Abstracts - Electronics & Communications Abstracts - Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts. Coverage: 1962-current.
ProQuest Materials Science Collection
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1965 - current
PubChem
The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.
Reaxys
Organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Includes patent information. Coverage: 1771-present.
ScienceDirect
Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.
SciFinder
You must register to use this database. Click on this link to register: https://swem.wm.edu/um/scifinder/register.php. Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service.
SciTech Premium Collection
This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SPIE Digital Library
Contains full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers) journals and proceedings published since 1990.
SpringerLink
Biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, law, humanities, and economics. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.
Web of Science
All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation IndexScience, and Conference Proceedings Citation IndexSocial Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

Research Assistance