Literature & Media

All Databases in this Category

Refine these databases by:

American Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writers vision with the producers and directors interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else.

American History in Video

People and events in American history and their presentation over time. Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Coverage: 1492-2000. **All films have public performance rights.**

American Newsreels in Video

American Newsreels in Video is comprised of news footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War. During this time, newsreels had an unparalleled political and social impact. All feature films worldwide began with a newsreel in the audience's native language and topical coverage was broad. United Newsreel provides more than 35 hours of the American weekly newsreel produced by the U.S. Office of War Information from 1942 to 1946, complete with transcripts, while the Universal Newsreel provides more than 200 hours of content with full transcripts from Universal Studios biweekly series that ran from 1929 to 1946.

American Poetry

Complete poems, including any accompanying text (dedications, notes, etc.) written by the poet. Coverage: 1600-1900.

Gale Literary Sources

Integrates literature resources from Gale into a single research environment. The following collections are available within this interface: Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder,Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, MLA International Bibliography, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers Project

Social history, industry& labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1943.

MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), theMLA International Bibliographyis the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online tool that you can use to import, organize, annotate, and share research from databases, PDFs, and the web. The program automatically generates references for various citation styles, and the Write-N-Cite function lets you seamlessly incorporate both citations and references into your papers as you write them.

Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South

Journal published in Richmond. Southern history, European history, military history, secessionism, states rights, and slavery issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1834-1864.

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels

Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.

W&M ScholarWorks

Open access database containing the scholarly output of the W&M community, including masters theses and dissertations from 1920 to today.

Research Assistance