Find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your college library, covering all disciplines. Access BrowZine from your browser by simply going to http://browzine.com. BrowZine will automatically detect if users are on campus and select your library; if off-campus, users will be prompted initially to select their library. From your mobile device download BrowZine from the App Store and install it. Supported devices: iPad (2 or later); Google Nexus; Samsung Galaxy; Kindle Fire HD. Select the subject areas and start browsing!
Research Tools
Premium access to the complete contents of the new issue, an archive of articles from the past two years, and more than four years' worth of grant listings -- all fully searchable.
This database is a trial which expires June 30, 2024. We appreciate your feedback.
Constellate is a text analysis platform that integrates access to scholarly content and open educational resources into a cloud-based lab. Users can apply text analysis methods to datasets, and hone their skills with support from on-demand tutorials. The platform draws on content from the JSTOR corpus as well as from 100+ publishers preserving content with Portico providing millions of primary and secondary sources across many fields of study. NOTE: In order to access the full range of features, users must create or sign in with their JSTOR account.
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to a wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. It includes: The entire universe of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. A database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders A database of over 3 million recently awarded grants A keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF Grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs) Grantmaker-sponsored publications
HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) enables computational analysis of works in the HathiTrust Digital Library (HTDL) to facilitate non-profit research and educational uses of the collection. HTRC, which is co-located at Indiana University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, engages in research and development for computational text analysis of massive digital libraries. Leveraging data storage and computational infrastructure at Indiana University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the Center creates and maintains a suite of tools and services for text-based, data-driven research, such as HTRC Algorithms and Data Capsule, and engages in cutting-edge research on large-scale data analysis.
HTRC operates under a non-consumptive research paradigm: HTRC makes available the collection for computational analysis, while remaining clearly within the bounds of the fair use rights courts have recognized as applying to text analysis. The Center is committed to breaking new ground in the areas of non-consumptive text mining, allowing scholars to fully utilize content of the HathiTrust Digital Library.
Lynda.com is a constantly growing library of over 2000 video courses and over 107,000 tutorials in streaming video format, and new material is added every week. Courses are offered at different skill levels in over 140 specialties. Subjects covered range from 3D + Animation; Audio; Business including Office and Google software; Design; Developer; Photography and Video; and Web and social media. Videos use screenshots, narration, live action, smart boards, charts and graphics, audio and include captioning.
MLA Handbook Plus is a new, subscription-based digital product providing online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook
Definitions for most of the words in the English language. Also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present. Coverage: Current and historical.
Pivot-RP accelerates the research process by providing access to the most comprehensive global source of research funding opportunities, facilitating collaborator discovery, and offering insights and short-cuts to help research organizations win a larger share of available funding.
*Users must create an account on the site to access the database. Select "create account" and follow the guided instructions using your institutional email address. After filling in personal information and selecting your institution from the pulldown list of "Affiliated Member Institutions"; you will receive an email with a validation link to confirm the registration*
RefWorks is an online tool that you can use to import, organize, annotate, and share research from databases, PDFs, and the web. The program automatically generates references for various citation styles, and the Write-N-Cite function lets you seamlessly incorporate both citations and references into your papers as you write them.
Scite is an award-winning platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles via Smart Citations. Smart Citations allow users to see how a publication has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence for the cited claim.
SciVal is a web-based research analytics solution that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of over 8,500 research institutions and 220 countries worldwide. SciVal allows the user to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports. ALL USERS WILL NEED TO REGISTER WITH A USERNAME AND PASSWORD.
Detailed information about serials from around the world, including academic & scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc. Includes evaluative reviews of hundreds of those serials from Magazines for Libraries. Coverage: Current.
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, annotate, cite, and share research. Users can sign-up for an account with their @wm.edu email address in order to take advantage of the University's unlimited storage plan.