Humanities Databases

Best Bets

  • A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.

  • Archaeology, architecture, art, Asian Studies, classics, dance, film, radio, television, folklore, history, language and literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion, and theater. Scholarly journals. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work. Coverage: 1980-present.

  • Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

  • 19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

  • Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

  • Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 8,400 sources and 152 countries. Coverage: 1978-present.

  •  The AFI Catalog is the premier, authoritative resource of American film information and covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.

  • A history database through music. Streaming audio with songs by and about African Americans (immigrants, children, slaves, etc.) and about all aspects of the African American experience (civil rights, political campaigns, the Revolutionary War, etc.). Coverage: Precolonial period-present.

  • Broad coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life. Newspapers from over 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

  • Poems written by African Americans. Based on William French’s bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975. Coverage: 1760-1900.

  • Images, documents, and 3D models documenting heritage sites throughout Africa. Includes photographs, GIS data, site plans, excavation reports, traveler's accounts, maps, books, recordings, journal articles, etc. Coverage: 18th century-present.

  • Resources documenting the struggles for freedom in Southern Africa – Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, and the two Congos. Nationalist publications, records of colonial governments, local newspapers, personal papers, UN documents, oral testimonies, speeches, correspondence, etc. Coverage: Early 20th century-present.

  • Genealogical resources on New York and New England from the New England Historic Genealogical Society.

  • Fully searchable facsimile images that capture daily life in America. Wide variety of items, including clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, advertisements, menus, and social invitations. Coverage: 1760-1900.

  • A history database through music; formerly American Song. Streaming audio with songs by and about all Americans (immigrants, children, slaves, etc.), and about all aspects of the American experience (civil rights, political campaigns, the Revolutionary War, etc.). Coverage: Precolonial period-present.

  • Biographical articles of men and women who helped shape the nation. All eras and walks of life. Coverage: varies.

  • Complete poems, including any accompanying text (dedications, notes, etc.) written by the poet. Coverage: 1600-1900.

  • American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.

  • Newspapers from all 50 states with eyewitness reporting, letters, advertisements, obituaries, etc. Includes access to Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922), Series IV (1756-1922), and Series V (1777-1922). Coverage: 1690-1922.

  • Language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Citations to journal articles, books, and conferences. Coverage: 1924-present.

  • Fine, decorative, and commercial art; photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Journal articles, books, dissertations, museum bulletins, and reproductions of art works. Coverage: 1984-present. Full text 1997-present.

  • Fine, decorative, and commercial art; archaeology and architecture. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1929-1984.

  • Texts in French, including novels, nonfiction works, technical essays, travel accounts, pamphlets, poetry, drama, journalism, correspondence, and treatises. Coverage: 1700-present, some earlier.

  • Business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. Articles, news stories, letters, etc., drawn from the tables of contents of journals. Coverage: 1990-present.

  • Archaeology, architecture, art, Asian Studies, classics, dance, film, radio, television, folklore, history, language and literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion, and theater. Scholarly journals. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work. Coverage: 1980-present.

  • All fields of religion: biblical studies, archaeology, world religions, church history, ethics, etc. Citations to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays. Coverage: 1908-present.

  • Architectural design, archaeology, built environment, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, landscape architecture, garden history, urban design, real estate development, sustainable design. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1741-present.

  • One of the most widely circulated African American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1893-1988.

  • Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1990-2007.

  • History of Britain, Ireland, and the British abroad from 55BC to the present. Citations to journal articles and books. Coverage: 1901-present.

  • All aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes native peoples of Alaska, Canada, the US, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. Citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the US and Canada. Coverage: 16th century-present.

  • Citations to biographical material on women and men from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Includes the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial;
    Calendars of State Papers, Domestic; the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland; the Calendar of Close Rolls; and the official records of the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Coverage: 1500-1850, some earlier coverage.

  • Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1910-1975.

  • Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.

  • Classical music, including vocal, choral, orchestral, chamber music, stage and screen, opera, and operettas.

    Includes recordings, program notes, composer biographies, and play lists by category. Coverage: Medieval to contemporary.

  • The first novel written by an African American, William Wells Brown. Includes the full extant texts of the novel’s four versions (1853, 1860, 1864, 1867). A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1853-1867.

  • England's governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies. Digitized versions of the Privy Council and Related Bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers (Collection CO 1 from The National Archives, London) and the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1574-1757.

  • Primary sources and original research held by the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg. Includes manuscripts; historical, archaeological, and architectural research reports; York County probate inventories; and the Virginia Gazette 1736-1780. Coverage: 17th-early 19th centuries.

  • Includes: The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies; Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies; an atlas; a medical and surgical history; the Southern Historical Society Papers; Campaigns of the Civil War; and biographical books on Confederate generals.

  • Part of the Literature Resources from Gale, covers authors 1900 to present. Includes biographies, literary criticism, and citations to other relevant biographical sources.

  • Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects.  Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Biographical reference for deceased women and men notable in British history. Coverage: 400BC-present.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

  • Digital archive of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published during the past four centuries. Includes titles from all 50 states. Coverage: 1690-1922.

  • Books and other items printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere. Coverage: 1473-1700.

     

  • Reference works, scholarly books, literature, and fiction. Full text. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Collection of databases devoted to a variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and science. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Coverage: 1701-1800.

  • Searchable poems and letters from Dickinson's correspondence with her sister-in-law. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: Late 1850s-1886.

  • Searchable full-text poems in English from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the 19th century by writers from the British Isles. Works in English by Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are included. Also known as Chadwyck-Healey English Poetry, 600-1900. Coverage: 600AD--1900.

  • Citations to more than 460,000 books, serials, pamphlets, advertisements, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral material published mainly in the British Isles and North America. From the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Database now freely available from the British Library. Coverage: 1473-1800.

  • Searchable full text of works acted on or intended for the stage, which are either wholly or predominantly in verse. Based on the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. Also known as Chadwyck-Healey English Verse Drama. Coverage: 1270-1899.

  • Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

  • Citations to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Based on the bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, by John Alden and Dennis Landis. Coverage: 1493-1700.

  •  The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. This database contains FIAF’s Treasures from Film Archives, a selection of reference volumes and the linked full text of more than 60 journals that offer a detailed index of the silent era film holdings of archives from around the world. FIAF’s editorial staff, along with its affiliates, produce the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.

  • Entertainment films and personalities, including awards, plot summaries, and full cast/crew lists, all searchable. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Part of Film Indexes Online. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Collection of databases in the humanities, social sciences, arts, and science. See individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

  • Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.
    Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature.  Searchable full text across all volumes.  Date coverage: Varies by title.  Access available to unlimited users.


     

  • Visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Encyclopedias and other reference resources. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.

  • All aspects of music. Grove Music Online and full text of several reference sources. Coverage: Current. Note: Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.

  • Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.

  • Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.

  • Harper’s Weekly, the news and literary journal published in New York City. Searchable full text, including news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and ads. Coverage: 1857-1877.

  • Based on the recently discovered working draft of Typee, the database showcases the many revisions of the novel from its publication in 1846.

  • All aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. Coverage: 1954-present.

  • Quantitative data for all aspects of American history. Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (Cambridge UP, 2006). Coverage: 1790-1996.

  • Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • The arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Interdisciplinary coverage of the Middle Ages (300-1500). Citations to journal articles and some books published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan, and South Africa. Coverage: 1967-present.

  • Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Journal and newspaper articles, books, and biographies. Coverage: 1922-present.

  • Diary of a young English woman who wrote from the age of eleven until her death from consumption at the age of nineteen. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1831-1839.

  • Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Provides access to full-text articles in the humanities, social sciences and science. Content includes the back runs of thousands of academic journals, current issues of select titles, primary sources and other materials. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your "my1693" member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. **All films have public performance rights.**

  • Complete text of The Letters of Christina Rossetti (ed. Antony H. Harrison, University Press of Virginia, 1997–2004).
    Searchable letters of the Victorian poet. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1843-1895.

  • Complete text of The Letters of Matthew Arnold (ed. Cecil Y. Lang,University Press of Virginia, 1996–2001). Searchable
    letters of the 19th-century poet and cultural critic. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1829-1888.

  • Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.

  • Social history, industry& labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1943.

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1881 - 1992.

  • Literature, language, linguistics, literary theory, folklore, and the dramatic arts. International coverage of journal articles, series, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and scholarly websites. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1925-present.

  • American history, industry, education, religion, and folklore. Diaries, journals, narratives, travel accounts, family histories, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1700-1950.

  • Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.

  • Classical, jazz, world, rock, pop, folk, etc. Music notes, cover artwork, track list, instrumentation & publisher information, libretti & synopses of operas, composer & artist biographies.
    Streaming access. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • African American newspaper, published weekly in New York City. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1922-1993.

  • Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

  • 19th-century US urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

  • One of the best researched and well written African American newspapers of its time. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1921-2003.

  • Visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Encyclopedias and other reference resources. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.

  • Global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Reference sources, scholarly & introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Coverage: Current. Unlimited user access.

  • Wide range of disciplines, including economics, humanities, law, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, medicine, and social sciences.
    Oxford University Press journals. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • All aspects of music. Grove Music Online and full text of several reference sources. Coverage: Current.
    Concurrent users: 5

  • Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Provides access to Colonial Williamsburg Foundation’s online archive of research reports, manuscripts, probate inventories, and Virginia Gazette issues published in Williamsburg from 1736 to 1780. The Digital Library has now been integrated into the Research section of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation’s website. Coverage: 17th-18th centuries.

  • Prominent early American newspaper published in Philadelphia. Articles, editorials, letters, news items, and advertisements. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1728-1800.

  • Music, dance, theater, and poetry. Citations to articles in American newspapers from the earliest extant copy (1690) through the end of the Revolutionary War (1783), including those in the French and German languages.

  • Philosophy and related fields. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Coverage: 1940-present. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Weekly newspaper published in Great Britain that defined the style of photojournalism in the 20th century.
    Complete and searchable. Coverage: 1938-1957.

  • Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your "my1693" member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

  • All disciplines. Citations to magazine articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the US.
    Coverage: 1890-1982.

  • World religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Journal articles. Coverage: 1975-present.

  • Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.

  • All aspects of music from around the world. Citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, iconographies, videos, etc. Coverage: 1967-present.

  • Music history and culture. Citations to journal articles published in the 18th-20th centuries. Coverage: 1800-1950.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in history and the humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Early American history and culture. Books, pamphlets, serials, and other works about North, Central, and South America, also the Caribbean. Coverage: 1500-1926.

  • Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

  • World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.

  • Journal published in Richmond. Southern history, European history, military history, secessionism, states’ rights, and slavery issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1834-1864.

  • Biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, law, humanities, and economics. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Early modern British and European history. English government, including social & economic affairs, law & order, religious policy, exploration, crown possessions & intelligence gathering, as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. English government documents. Coverage: 1509-1714.

  • The world's "newspaper of record." Includes entire newspaper, all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos. Fully searchable. Does NOT include the Sunday Times. Coverage: 1785-1985.

  • Weekly literature review published in London. Complete facsimile edition, fully searchable. Book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters, and commentary pieces. Coverage: 1902-2012.

  • Includes fully searchable previously unpublished transcripts of over 500 documents from the Virginia Company Archives; records of the Virginia Company of London; complete Ferrar Papers from Magdalene College, Cambridge; and a wide range of maps, illustrations, and other works. Coverage: 1590-1790.

  • News covering all of Virginia, also information from other colonies, Scotland, England, and other countries. Published weekly in Williamsburg, VA. Coverage: 1736-1780.

  • Virginia history and culture. Finding aids with descriptions of manuscript and archival collections in universities, colleges, and institutions in Virginia. Coverage: 1607-present.

  • Includes all of Voltaire's literary works from the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete Works of Voltaire.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Social Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Citations to books, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, production reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, etc. Coverage 1960-present.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • WorldCat Discovery includes access to a wide variety of electronic, licensed, physical and locally digitized materials. Users can discover more than 1.8 billion items in local libraries and around the world with a single search.