Science & Technology Databases

Best Bets

  • Engineering, electronics, and computer science. Access to the full text of IEEE/IET electronic library (IEL) content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from journals, transactions, letters, and conference proceedings of the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database. For off-campus access Login thru your institution. Select United States InCommon Federation and College of William and Mary.

  • This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

  • Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

  • Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. You must register to use this database. Click on the separate database SciFinder Registration.

  • The provider of SciFinder requires an initial registration step here before you can use the SciFinder database.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Social Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

  • Access to all Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) publications. Includes news and research in information technology and computer science. Coverage: 1985-present.

  • All aspects of agriculture and related fields. Citations to journal articles, books, technical reports, proceedings, etc. Coverage; 1970-present.

  • Military, geopolitical, and aeronautical topics. Citations to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals.

  • Indexes research on reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, infection and immunity in man (and other animals and plants), algae, fungi, protozoa, lichens, microbiology, pathology, environmental research, and toxicology. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Journal articles, booklets, pamphlets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts. Coverage: 1984-present.

  • A streaming video platform providing high definition productions with universal access on laptop, phones, or desktops, making it easy to incorporate educational video content into the academic curriculum. Includes access to an ever-growing collection of educational programs, including history and science topics.

  • Behavioral and related studies (neurophysiology, behavior ecology, genetics, applied ethology). Journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, standards, etc. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, engineering, and allied subject areas. Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, press releases, etc. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Trade, technical, and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Journal articles, conference proceedings, scientific reports, books, and theses. Coverage: 1960-present.

  • Business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. Articles, news stories, letters, etc., drawn from the tables of contents of journals. Coverage: 1990-present.

  • Medically oriented coverage of bacteriology, immunology, biochemistry, and genetics. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • BioOne Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia (www.vivalib.org) Mobile-friendly

    Biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

    Peer-reviewed journal articles and bulletins. Coverage: 2000-present.

  • Biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental, and marine biology. Citations to research, applications, regulatory developments, and new patents. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Ceramics industry, including the manufacture, processing, applications, properties, and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Citations to conference proceedings, books, patents, standards, and company product literature.

  • Premier database for nursing and allied health literature. Includes references to journals, American Nurses' Association and National League for Nursing publications, nursing standards of practice, and critical paths.

  • Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.

  • The enactment and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments and other environmental issues. News clippings, articles and editorials, speeches, studies and research reports, memoranda, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.

  • Theoretical research and practical applications in computer technology from around the world. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • Engineering, computer theory and systems, and new technologies in their social and professional contexts. Citations to journal articles, professional publications, and reference sources. Also includes searchable cited references for key journals. Coverage: 1965-present.

  • Copper, copper alloys, and copper technology. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Coverage: 1965-present.

  • Corrosion science and engineering, including general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Coverage: 1980-present.

  • Life sciences, environmental sciences, and the aquatic sciences; also physics, engineering, chemistry, and materials science. Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Searchable full text of the current handbook, critically evaluated chemical and physical data, as well as structure drawing and searching. Coverage: Current edition.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects.  Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Correspondence, field studies, reports, scientific data, photographs, and maps that document the career of Pope A. Lawrence, an environmental health scientist. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1924-1983.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

  • Reference works, scholarly books, literature, and fiction. Full text. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Collection of databases devoted to a variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and science. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Electronics and communications: circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, and power systems. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, books, etc. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • This database captures every aspect of the interdisciplinary nature of magnetic resonance and provides the most complete and up-to-date online reference resource in the field. Currently eMagRes has published over 1,100 articles written by more than 1,250 experts in the field.

  • The manufacturing practices, properties, and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composities. Searches multiple databases at one time: Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering; Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Copper Technical Reference Library; Corrosion Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts , Ceramics; Materials Business File; CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Mechanical Engineering Abstracts; and METADEX. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, etc. Coverage: 1986-present.

  • Handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering, also telecommunications. Coverage: Current editions.

  • Agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, etc. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Documents that help the government and the general public understand the effects of developments on the environment and to decide whether developments should go ahead. Required by the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). Coverage: 1985-present.

  • Collection of databases in the humanities, social sciences, arts, and science. See individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature.  Searchable full text across all volumes.  Date coverage: Varies by title.  Access available to unlimited users.


     

  • Geology and geosciences of North America and the world. Citations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses. Includes references to all publications of the US Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669-present for North America, 1933-present for the rest of the world.

  • Geology and the geosciences. Citations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Human impact on the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Citations to scholarly and general interest journal articles, government documents, and reports. Coverage: 1913-present.

  • Biological, medical, physical, and social sciences. Journal articles, reference works, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Engineering, electronics, and computer science. Access to the full text of IEEE/IET electronic library (IEL) content published since 1988 with select content published since 1872 from journals, transactions, letters, and conference proceedings of the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers.

  • Agricultural, food & beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Citations to the journal. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • The arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

  • The Journal of Visualized Experiments, commonly referred to as JoVE, is a journal of peer reviewed material covering the fields of biology, medicine, chemical, and physical research in video format.

    There is a collection of open access material in this database, generally with a firewall which excludes access to the 3 most current years.

    SWEM LIBRARY SUBSCRIBES TO THE GENERAL BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, ENGINEERING AND NEUROSCIENCE SECTIONS OF JoVE, WHICH PROVIDE CURRENT ACCESS TO MATERIAL IN THIS AREA.

  • Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. **All films have public performance rights.**

  • The data is provided in a format which is digestible in any GIS software that allows the user to import ESRI GRID-formatted data. The WMS and WCS are links to the data hosted on East View Geospatial's servers for organization-wide access and can be used with most current GIS software. Coverage: 2000-2016.

     

  • Mathematical sciences. Reviews of journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. From the American Mathematical Society. Coverage: 1940-present.

  • Mathematical sciences. Reviews of journal articles, books, and conference proceedings. 
    Coverage:  1940-present.

  • Forensic engineering, management & marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics & dynamics, and mathematics & computation. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, and patents. Coverage: 1966-present.

  • Neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, hematology, etc. Journal articles in Spanish from Latin American and Spanish publishers. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Citations to journal articles, from the US National Library of Medicine. See also PubMed. Vendor: Proquest. Coverage: 1940-present.

  • Metals and alloys, their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and books. Coverage: 1966-present.

  • Biological oceanography, ecology, physical & chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation & communications, maritime law, desalination, ships & shipping, and marine biology. Citations to worldwide technical literature. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • Wide range of disciplines, including economics, humanities, law, life sciences, mathematics & physical sciences, medicine, and social sciences.
    Oxford University Press journals. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Traumatic- and post-traumatic stress issues, sponsored by the US Department of Veterans Affairs. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, technical reports, etc. Coverage: 1871-present.

  • Plant science, including pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques, and environmental biology. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1994-present.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database. For off-campus access Login thru your institution. Select United States InCommon Federation and College of William and Mary.

  • The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). Also includes: Computer & Information Systems Abstracts - Electronics & Communications Abstracts - Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts. Coverage: 1962-current.

  • The collection contains agricultural science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA. Coverage: 1970-current.

  • INCLUDED DATABASES: Aqualine - Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) - ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources - ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources - ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality - ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts - ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts - Oceanic Abstracts - Water Resources Abstracts. Coverage: 1960-current.

  • The collection contains atmospheric science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). Coverage: 1974-current.

  • INCLUDED DATABASES: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources - ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts - ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts - Algology, Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) - Animal Behavior Abstracts - Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) - Biochemistry Abstracts 1 - Biochemistry Abstracts 3 - Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts - Chemoreception Abstracts - Neurosciences Abstracts - Ecology Abstracts - Entomology Abstracts - Endocrinology Abstracts - Genetics Abstracts - Health and Safety Science Abstracts - Human Genome Abstracts - Immunology Abstracts - Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) - Biotechnology Research Abstracts - Nucleic Acids Abstracts - Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts - Toxicology Abstracts - AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts ( included in Virology and AIDS Abstracts) – MEDLINE - Plant Science – Toxline - Conference Papers Index. Coverage: 1946-current.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

  • The collection contains earth science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from GeoRef. Also includes Oceanic Abstracts. Coverage: 1693-current.

  • INCLUDED DATABASES: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering - Civil Engineering Abstracts - Earthquake Engineering Abstracts - Environmental Engineering Abstracts - Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts - Biotechnology and BioEngineering Abstracts - Biotechnology Research Abstracts. Coverage: 1966-current.

  • INCLUDED DATABASES: Aqualine - Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management : Conference Papers Index - ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality - Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) - Ecology Abstracts - Environment Abstracts - Environmental Engineering Abstracts - Health & Safety Science Abstracts - Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) - Pollution Abstracts - Risk Abstracts - Sustainability Science Abstracts - Toxicology Abstracts - Water Resources Abstracts - EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements – TOXLINE - Biotechnology Research Abstracts - Environmental Impact Statements: Full-text . Coverage: 1960-current.

  • INCLUDED DATABASES: Aluminum Industry Abstracts - Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts - Copper Technical Reference Library - Corrosion Abstracts - Engineered Materials Abstracts - ADV Polymer library (includes Composite Abstracts & Engineering Material Abstracts, Ceramics) - Materials Business File – METADEX. Coverage: 1965-current.

  • This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

  • Psychiatry and related disciplines. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM),the DSM Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM cases, journal articles, and textbooks. Coverage: Current.

  • The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.

  • Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Free database from the National Institutes of Health. Citations to biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, journal articles, and online books. See also Medline. Coverage: 1951-present.

  • All disciplines. Citations to magazine articles from the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the US.
    Coverage: 1890-1982.

  • Organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Includes patent information. Coverage: 1771-present.

  • Information technology. Searchable books, training videos, and journal articles from major IT publishers. Coverage: Current.

  • All aspects of science and technology. Citations to journal articles. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1970-present.

  • Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

  • Elsevier is a world-leading provider of scientific, technical, and medical information products and services. This collection includes nearly 700 titles from Elsevier’s most current 2013 collection. To view what is available to W&M library users, select “Show full-text available only” on the refine search panel.

  • Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. You must register to use this database. Click on the separate database SciFinder Registration.

  • The provider of SciFinder requires an initial registration step here before you can use the SciFinder database.

  • All aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials & devices, high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, and other relevant topics. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • Contains full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers) journals and proceedings published since 1990.

  • Biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, law, humanities, and economics. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

  • All areas of toxicology, including chemicals & pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, and teratogens. Citations to journal articles, books, and technical reports. Coverage: 2000-present.

  • Water-related topics including characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Coverage: 1967-present.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Social Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Sciences and social sciences. Journal articles, books, reference works, databases, and other resources. Only content with the unlocked icon is available. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • WorldCat Discovery includes access to a wide variety of electronic, licensed, physical and locally digitized materials. Users can discover more than 1.8 billion items in local libraries and around the world with a single search.