Statistics & Polls Databases

  • Government, politics, and US history. Full text of popular reference resources, including Politics in America, Guide to Congress, Encyclopedia of Political Science, and Voter Turnout in the United States 1788-2009. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects.  Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Data on a wide variety of subjects from government agencies, private exchanges, and international organizations. Users can manipulate datasets, make comparisons, and chart trends over time. Coverage: 1950s-present.

  • Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference is designed to allow users to quickly navigate the 25 billion points of data contained in the repository, representing 4.3 billion datasets covering thousands of geographic entities.

  • One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.

  • Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 4,000 global sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.

  • Quantitative data for all aspects of American history. Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (Cambridge UP, 2006). Coverage: 1790-1996.

  • All areas of the social sciences. Computer-based research and instructional data. Allows online data analysis using the Survey Documentation and Analysis (SDA) system. Coverage: Current and historical. **Some functions of the ICPSR Web site, such as downloading and uploading data, require you to log in after creating a free account.**

  • All aspects of international and domestic finance. From the International Monetary Fund. Coverage: 1948-present.

  • National public opinion polls. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.

  • Includes "company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data." Android devices not supported.

  • Questions and responses from public opinion polls conducted in the US and other countries. Coverage: 1986-present.

  • Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.

  • Social sciences. Data from public opinion polls (mostly American, but some international) conducted by leading survey organizations. Contains the searchable iPOLL Databank. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.

  • SAGE Stats provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Find the hard-to-locate data points you need to support your research. Visualize and compare thousands of normalized data sets to create new and interesting research avenues. Export data for greater analysis or combine with your own data to create new insights

  • Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

  • See also "ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States."

  • Presents statistics of overall industrial growth, detailed data on business structure and statistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in the historical time series. SWEM LIBRARY SUBSCRIBES TO: INDSTAT 2 2015, ISIC Revision 3 and IDSB 2015, ISIC Revision 3 and 4.

  • The primary World Bank collection of development indicators. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates from 1960, where data are available. Coverage: 1960-present.