Genealogy

All Databases in this Category

Refine these databases by:

19th Century Masterfile
Despite its name, covers scholarly sources from the 12th century to early 20th century. Includes Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents, and images. Coverage: 1106-1930 (varies by source).
African American Biographical Database
Biographical information on African Americans. Includes Chadwyck-Healey's microform collection: Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950, obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations; and the index to that collection, Black biography, 1790-1950.
American Ancestors
Genealogical resources on New York and New England from the New England Historic Genealogical Society.
American National Biography: ANB
Biographical articles of men and women who helped shape the nation. All eras and walks of life. Coverage: varies.
Ancestry.com
Provides access to historical U.S. and international documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Citations to biographical material on women and men from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. Coverage: Varies by title.
Dictionary of National Biography
Biographical reference for deceased women and men notable in British history. Coverage: 400BC-present.
Jewish Studies Source
Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Journal and newspaper articles, books, and biographies. Coverage: 1922-present.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.
Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog
Marriages, obituaries, emigration patterns, customs, important events, etc., from the Village Record, published in West Chester, PA. Coverage: 1818-1870.