Language & Literature Databases

Best Bets

  • Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • The Literary Research Guide  (sixth edition) is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

  • Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Literature, language, linguistics, literary theory, folklore, and the dramatic arts. International coverage of journal articles, series, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and scholarly websites. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1925-present.

  • English and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Coverage: 1701-1800.

  • Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

  • 19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

  • A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.

  • Poems written by African Americans. Based on William French’s bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975. Coverage: 1760-1900.

  • Fully searchable facsimile images that capture daily life in America. Wide variety of items, including clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, advertisements, menus, and social invitations. Coverage: 1760-1900.

  • Complete poems, including any accompanying text (dedications, notes, etc.) written by the poet. Coverage: 1600-1900.

  • American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.

  • Language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Citations to journal articles, books, and conferences. Coverage: 1924-present.

  • Texts in French, including novels, nonfiction works, technical essays, travel accounts, pamphlets, poetry, drama, journalism, correspondence, and treatises. Coverage: 1700-present, some earlier.

  • Archaeology, architecture, art, Asian Studies, classics, dance, film, radio, television, folklore, history, language and literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion, and theater. Scholarly journals. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work. Coverage: 1980-present.

  • Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.

  • Searchable version of the most recent edition.

  • CLCD is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.6 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children’s books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries (725 Awards and growing) dating back to 1922.

  • The first novel written by an African American, William Wells Brown. Includes the full extant texts of the novel’s four versions (1853, 1860, 1864, 1867). A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1853-1867.

  • Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.

  • Part of the Literature Resources from Gale, covers authors 1900 to present. Includes biographies, literary criticism, and citations to other relevant biographical sources.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects.  Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Books and other items printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere. Coverage: 1473-1700.

     

  • English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Coverage: 1701-1800.

  • Searchable poems and letters from Dickinson's correspondence with her sister-in-law. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: Late 1850s-1886.

  • Searchable full-text poems in English from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the 19th century by writers from the British Isles. Works in English by Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are included. Also known as Chadwyck-Healey English Poetry, 600-1900. Coverage: 600AD--1900.

  • Citations to more than 460,000 books, serials, pamphlets, advertisements, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral material published mainly in the British Isles and North America. From the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Database now freely available from the British Library. Coverage: 1473-1800.

  • A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are not included with our subscription.

  • Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.

  • Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Integrates literature resources from Gale into a single research environment. The following collections are available within this interface: Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, MLA International Bibliography, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature.  Searchable full text across all volumes.  Date coverage: Varies by title.  Access available to unlimited users.


     

  • Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.

  • Harper’s Weekly, the news and literary journal published in New York City. Searchable full text, including news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and ads. Coverage: 1857-1877.

  • Based on the recently discovered working draft of Typee, the database showcases the many revisions of the novel from its publication in 1846.

  • Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Diary of a young English woman who wrote from the age of eleven until her death from consumption at the age of nineteen. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1831-1839.

  • Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Provides access to full-text articles in the humanities, social sciences and science. Content includes the back runs of thousands of academic journals, current issues of select titles, primary sources and other materials. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your "my1693" member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Also known as Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance. Collection of electronic books in Arabic. Contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises written by Arab authors of all genres. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Database containing all editions of one of the Japanese main newspapers, the Asahi Shinbun, and the Aera news magazine. Also contains an encyclopaedia of contemporary vocabulary Chiezo. Coverage: 1879 to present.

  • Complete text of The Letters of Christina Rossetti (ed. Antony H. Harrison, University Press of Virginia, 1997–2004).
    Searchable letters of the Victorian poet. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1843-1895.

  • Complete text of The Letters of Matthew Arnold (ed. Cecil Y. Lang,University Press of Virginia, 1996–2001). Searchable
    letters of the 19th-century poet and cultural critic. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1829-1888.

  • Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.

  • The Literary Research Guide  (sixth edition) is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

  • Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.

  • Social history, industry& labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1943.

  • A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

  • Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1881 - 1993.

  • English-language dictionary and thesaurus. Coverage: Current.

  • Literature, language, linguistics, literary theory, folklore, and the dramatic arts. International coverage of journal articles, series, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and scholarly websites. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1925-present.

  • Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world

  • Collection of historical primary-source databases. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

  • 19th-century and early 20th-century studies. Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906) and Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents. Coverage: 1774-1920, varies by index.

  • 19th-century US urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

  • E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.

  • Definitions for most of the words in the English language. Also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present. Coverage: Current and historical.

  • Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO): William Shakespeare provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of Shakespeare's works.

  • Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.

  • Formerly the International Index to the Performing Arts, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.

  • Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

  • Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your "my1693" member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database. For off-campus access Login thru your institution. Select United States InCommon Federation and College of William and Mary.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in history and the humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • This product’s aim is to index all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered. Approximately 200+ monographs are captured per year, with approximately 3,000-4,000 analytics (chapters/stories).

  • Journal published in Richmond. Southern history, European history, military history, secessionism, states’ rights, and slavery issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1834-1864.

  • The world's "newspaper of record." Includes entire newspaper, all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos. Fully searchable. Does NOT include the Sunday Times. Coverage: 1785-2012.

  • Weekly literature review published in London. Complete facsimile edition, fully searchable. Book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters, and commentary pieces. Coverage: 1902-2012.

  • Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.

  • Includes all of Voltaire's literary works from the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete Works of Voltaire.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Social Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Citations to books, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, production reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, etc. Coverage 1960-present.