Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Sociology
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
The evolution of the American Indian Movement (AIM) as an organization of social protest, and the development of Native American radicalism. From the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1969-1979.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
American Prison Newspapers is bringing together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Also includes "Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century," though the majority of the database's coverage is 1940s-1980s.
Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and the full-text of The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.
Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.
Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
ProQuest's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materialswithin this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Family Studies, Journal of Marriage & Family, and Family Relations.
Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.
Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Gallup Analytics is a subscription-based platform that houses more than a decade of international public opinion data from more than 160 countries and areas and nearly a century of U.S. national data.
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the mens movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Documents include cartoons, correspondences, diaries, handbills, leaflets, newsletters, photographs, posts, speeches, and ephemera. Covers: Nineteenth Century to Present.
GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general mens-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
All areas of the social sciences. Computer-based research and instructional data. Allows online data analysis using the Survey Documentation and Analysis (SDA) system. Coverage: Current and historical. **Some functions of the ICPSR Web site, such as downloading and uploading data, require you to log in after creating a free account.**
A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
Indian Claims Insight is a one-of-a-kind research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Coverage: 1789-Present
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It insures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved. Among many diverse and historical 20th century collections, materials include: the Papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel ), South Africa's longest running monthly LGBTQ publication; Geographic Files, also known as "Lesbians in" with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of digitized Australian LGBTQ periodicals.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyisms rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, in the United States and United Kingdom, including the important magazine, The Advocate (1967-). The database chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954-2015.
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. Primary sources cover 19th to the early 21st centuries.
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
This collection provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century. It provides new perspectives on a diverse community and the wealth of resources available in the archive allow for creating connections amongst disparate materials. Through its many periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, international selection of posters, and other primary source materials, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides scholars and researchers with access to a wide variety of topics and viewpoints detailing the rich history of the LGBTQ community.
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Journal and magazine articles, books, news sources, and regional newspapers. Coverage: Varies by title.
Part of the Global Issues Library, this curated database provides a rare breadth of study for students to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries.
This is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
This cross-curricular product covers todays hottest social issues and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. More than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and 19,000+ reference articles are included.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of crime as a social phenomenon. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool with access to tens of thousands of indicators from hundreds of authoritative sources on topics such as demographics, incomes & spending, housing, quality of life, economy, education, and health. Users can create maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in visualization tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload their own data for comparisons.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
SAGE Stats provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Find the hard-to-locate data points you need to support your research. Visualize and compare thousands of normalized data sets to create new and interesting research avenues. Export data for greater analysis or combine with your own data to create new insights
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 75,000 data variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to use, but this has been designed to be incredibly user friendly - most users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training. Access includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, County and ZIP Code Business Patterns Survey and the Consumer Expenditure Data (CEX) and the Claritas PRIZM data module.
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present.
Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1983 offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the social sciences dating as far back as 1907. With its extraordinary breadth and depth, this database indexes approximately 1,000,000 articles, including book reviews.
Social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Coverage: 1979-present.
Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Some cited references are included. Coverage: 1952-present.
Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study. Includes advertisements, postcards, price lists and order forms, sales documents, trade cards, catalogues, manuals, correspondence, and ephemera.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Taylor & Francis ebooks hosts an extensive collection of online research within a single destination. The platform features ebooks across all disciplines, including Science, Technology, Engineering, Medical, Humanities, and Social Sciences.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940s-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture like fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. Includes images, advertisements, reviews, and magazine articles.
Research Assistance
Jessica Ramey
Instruction & Research Librarian