Art & Art History

A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.

A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Coverage: 1860-2015

Fine, decorative, and commercial art; photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Journal articles, dissertations, museum bulletins, and reproductions of art works. Coverage: Full text 1995-present; Indexes and Abstracts 1984-present.

Art Index Retrospective provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Fine, decorative, and commercial art; archaeology and architecture. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1929-1984.

The backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art. Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events / trends. Coverage: 1962 - 2020

The national employment service online bulletin for the performing arts by Theatre Communications Group. Includes job postings for administration, artistic production, career development, and education. **Please contact the Cohen Career Center at career@wm.edu to obtain login.**

The national employment service online bulletin for the performing arts by Theatre Communications Group. Includes job postings for administration, artistic production, career development, and education. Alumni log in to Tribe Careers at https://wm-csm.symplicity.com. **Please contact the Cohen Career Center at career@wm.edu to obtain login to Artsearch**

Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods. To download or save images create a free user account with your W&M email.

Citations to journal articles on architectural design, archaeology, built environment, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, landscape architecture, garden history, urban design, real estate development, and sustainable design. Coverage: 1741-present.

Now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank.

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. Coverage: Scholarship published from 1990-2007, discussing art from antiquity through the early 21st century.

China Art Digital Library provides a comprehensive collection of works from Chinese fine arts, calligraphy, and folk art from 3000 B.C. to the present day. China Art Digital Library includes over 780,000 art images from more than 400 albums, museum and exhibition catalogs, and includes references to nearly 720,000 supporting research documents available in China Academic Journals (CAJ) and China Doctoral Dissertations (CDMD). CNKI will continue to add new images as they become available from Chinese art exhibition catalogs and international Chinese exhibitions. At the same time, based on CNKI massive academic resources, the database offers a wealth of art information, including artists’ information, techniques, history background, and theory research. Navigation available in English; content primarily in Chinese.

Encyclopedia Virginia is the online reference work about the Commonwealth of Virginia. It aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state's proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology and interpret the state's significance to the people of Virginia, the nation, and the world.

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.

Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

An interactive edition of one of the most influential books on color ever written offers users an entirely new way to experience Josef Albers's masterwork.

A resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

**William & Mary currently has access to a limited selection of films on Kanopy. If a film is not currently accessible, you can fill out a request form on Kanopy's site and the library will review and attempt to accommodate if possible.** Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. *All films have public performance rights.*

Manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology, and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American who taught at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and is notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history.

E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.

Focuses on the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Includes over 200,000 articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as over 19,000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures. Provides access to Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other art reference titles. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on art history across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Each Oxford Bibliographies article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways through the most useful and important works on the topic in question.

Formerly the International Index to the Performing Arts, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.

This database features around 600 titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.

Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.

Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.

The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site offers students and scholars an engaging experience, encouraging critical thinking skills and supporting rigorous academic research.