Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.
Database Search Results
-
-
Provides access to the following Adam Matthew databases: American History, 1493-1945; American Indian Histories and Cultures; American West; Colonial America; Everyday Life & Women in America c. 1800-1920; India, Raj & Empire; Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007; Virginia Company Archives Online. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your my1693 member login page; please log in to access this resource.
-
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
-
Broad coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life. Newspapers from over 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.
-
African Americans and Jim Crow, 1883-1922 contains more than 1,000 fully searchable printed works from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I. These works provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement and include such topics as African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature.
-
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents.
-
All aspects of agriculture and related fields. Citations to journal articles, books, technical reports, proceedings, etc. Coverage; 1970-present.
-
Cross-searchable access to millions of pages of essential American history, literature and culture. Uncover captivating manuscript and typescript letters, diaries, notebooks, journals, newspapers, plus incredible art works, illustrations, photographs, video and 360-degree objects.
-
American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.
-
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
-
Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
-
American Fiction, 1774-1920 contains more than 17,800 titles and is comprised of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. It gathers extensive content in one place and allows researchers to explore the development of American literature in a changing culture through novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts, and sketches. These texts reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor of America through centuries of radical change, enabling students and researchers to answer key questions about history, society, identity, psychology, race, gender, and culture.
-
Descriptions of peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the US government, sex roles, efforts at Christian education, aboriginal and post-contact Indian culture, the many problems and achievements of missionary work, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1833-1893.
-
A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
-
Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute-UK). Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.
-
A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Also includes "Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century," though the majority of the database's coverage is 1940s-1980s.
-
Business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, technology. Articles, news stories, letters, etc., drawn from the tables of contents of journals. Coverage: 1990-present.
-
The Atlantic is an American magazine that features articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science.
-
All aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes native peoples of Alaska, Canada, the US, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. Citations to books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the US and Canada. Coverage: 16th century-present.
-
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
-
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.
-
British Theatre, Music, and Literature features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and they were curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for scholars of the nineteenth century.
-
The backfiles of a variety of 20th-century serials covering many aspects of children's lives and interests. These include titles focusing on education, entertainment / literature, news, and religion / moral development. As well as shedding light on the history of childhood and family life during this period, these titles provide alternative perspectives in the study of 20th-century advertising/marketing, popular culture, education, media, and print culture.
-
Explore a stunning collection of rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of these times. Coverage: 1820s to 1920s
-
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Librarys Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.
-
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the Peoples Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.
-
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. City directories are among the most comprehensive sources of historical and personal information available. Their emphasis on ordinary people and the common-place event make them important in the study of American history and culture. One of the few means available for researchers to uncover information on specific individuals, these directories provide such information as:
-
The backfiles of over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies. This archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century to the 21st these publications encompass the key events in the empire's later phase and its post-independence legacies.
-
A unique look at history through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor. Coverage: 1917-2013
-
Contemporary Anthropology: Archaeological Fieldwork and Methods brings together archival and textual material relating to archaeological excavations, methods, and practices done in the late 20th century to present day. It provides insights into the lives, cultures, and societies of ancient and not-so-distant civilizations through the analysis of material remains and artifacts from the past. This collection allows researchers and students to use archival material and published works to better understand, analyse, and critique archaeological research. Featured in this collection is the The Cusichaca Trust Archive sourced from the Senate House Library, University of London. Led by archaeologist Ann Kendall, the Trust did numerous excavations in the South-Central Andes from 1980s-2010s. The archaeology, archaeobotany and ethnohistorical work focused on human occupation of the area from the late first millennium BC, through Inca expansion and into the Spanish Colonial period.
-
A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.
-
The Dominican Republic has experienced many setbacks on the road to democracy. Dominican political history has been defined by traditions of "personalism," militarism, and social and economic elitism which has undermined its efforts to establish liberal constitutional rule. This collection includes U.S. State Department, U.S. Embassy, and Dominican Republic governmental dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
-
Primary source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
-
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
-
A free, open access database consisting of digital materials covering the whole span of Caribbean history and culture.
-
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
-
This project offers rare and invaluable sources for examining the lived experience of people who witnessed this pivotal era of English history. From 'ordinary' people through to more prominent individuals and families, these documents show how everyday working, family, religious and administrative life was experienced across England.
-
Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
-
Encyclopedia Virginia is the online reference work about the Commonwealth of Virginia. It aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state's proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology and interpret the state's significance to the people of Virginia, the nation, and the world.
-
Agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, etc. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.
-
Environmental Issues Online brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
-
Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**
-
Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**
-
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
-
More than 3,000 issues comprising the run of the renowned newsweekly, The Far Eastern Economic Review (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Following an initial emphasis on China and Hong Kong, the scope of the magazines coverage subsequently expanded to encompass other regions and countries, including Japan, India and Australia, as well as smaller Asian states.
-
From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production. Includes cookbooks, advertisements, correspondence, illustrations, government reports, images, and ephemera.
-
Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.
-
Practical information for travelers. Information by country on basic facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, telecommunications, money & banking, health & medical information, etc. Coverage: Current.
-
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general mens-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
-
Human impact on the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Citations to scholarly and general interest journal articles, government documents, and reports. Coverage: 1913-present.
-
A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of the Harper's Bazaar US and UK editions, from 1867 to the present. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource comprises a chronicle of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
-
Since 2010, Hispanic Americans have accounted for more than half of all U.S. population growth, profoundly shaping the nation’s demographics, culture, and politics. With Series 3, Hispanic Life in America is updated to reflect the latest news in government, business, and arts—from the U.S. immigration policies and the response at the U.S. southern border, to the Dreamers and the fate of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program (DACA), as well as the ongoing influence of Hispanic American businesses, politicians, musicians, athletes, and others.
-
The HistoryMakers Digital Archive is an extensive online database of over 9,000 hours of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. More content being added each week.
-
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
-
A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between the Indigenous peoples of North America and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
-
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It insures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved. Among many diverse and historical 20th century collections, materials include: the Papers of Simon Nkoli, a prominent South African anti-apartheid, gay and lesbian rights, and HIV/AIDS activist; Exit newspaper (formerly Link/Skakel ), South Africa's longest running monthly LGBTQ publication; Geographic Files, also known as "Lesbians in" with coverage from Albania to Zimbabwe; and the largest available collection of digitized Australian LGBTQ periodicals.
-
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (????????, News) was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles. Continuously published for over 100 years, Izvestiias prominence endures today as one of the most subscribed news sources of contemporary Russia, covering domestic and foreign policy, commentary, culture, education, and finance.
-
The Jewish Advocate was first printed in Boston in 1909. It continues to be a primary source of regional, national and international news and information for subscribers in New England and across the U.S., as well around the world. This digital newspaper archive (1905-1990) provides an in-depth historical perspective on issues and events pertaining to the rise of Zionism and the development of Jewish-American culture.
-
Language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Citations to journal articles, books, and conferences. Coverage: 1924-present.
-
Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
-
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
-
This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveler between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world. Includes materials by Cunard White State Line, Pullman Company, American Hotel Association, and others.
-
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, in the United States and United Kingdom, including the important magazine, The Advocate (1967-). The database chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954-2015.
-
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. Primary sources cover 19th to the early 21st centuries.
-
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
-
This collection provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century. It provides new perspectives on a diverse community and the wealth of resources available in the archive allow for creating connections amongst disparate materials. Through its many periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, international selection of posters, and other primary source materials, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides scholars and researchers with access to a wide variety of topics and viewpoints detailing the rich history of the LGBTQ community.
-
Linguistics Abstracts Online includes more than 800 journals dating back to 1911 and thousands of records with subject headings created by linguistics experts. Materials encompass the broad spectrum of linguistics and language study, including subject areas such as applied linguistics, communication, computational linguistics, deaf studies and education, English language teaching, fluency disorders, language and cultures, phonetics and phonology, psychology, speech pathology, theoretical linguistics and many more.
-
The Stationers Company (London, est. 1403) Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars. Includes trade, membership, administrative, and court records.
-
Social history, industry & labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database, pulling material from the Archives of the Federal Writers' Project (WFP). Coverage: 1933-1943.
-
A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
-
The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 18321978 contains the world's most comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitionersmany who later became judges and associates of the Supreme Court itself. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. This collection serves the needs of students and researchers in American legal history, politics, society, and government, as well as practicing attorneys. It covers every aspect of law, including civil rights law, constitutional law, corporate law, environmental law, gender law, labor law, legal history and legal theory, property law, taxation, and trademark and intellectual property law. It also touches on nearly every major event in American history from the countrys national and international wars to the most dramatic changes in the nations economic life, society, and culture.
-
Economic and business activity in the West, including agriculture, commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transportation. Fully searchable. From the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Coverage: 1450-1945.
-
Manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology, and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American who taught at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and is notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history.
-
Michigan Chronicle offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of Americas first Black president.
-
Researchers will find robust primary source insights on American culture in the city's long time newspaper, the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Regional topics reflect national and international trends of the times - such as Prohibition and civil rights.
-
Covers Appalachia, defined here as "the vast region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama." Topics include: American history, industry, education, religion, and folklore. Diaries, journals, narratives, travel accounts, family histories, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1700-1950.
-
Provides full text searchable archives for the New Yorker journal. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists and statesmen. Coverage: 1925-present. Two simultaneous users.
-
Discover the work of one of the worlds most important publishing dynasties through this collection from the historic John Murray Archive. From book history to travel writing, politics to poetry, this newly digitised resource introduces an unparalleled repository for nineteenth century culture and the literary luminaries who shaped it.
-
This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
-
The North China Daily News(in Chinese: Zilin Xibao), was an English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time. Spanning the period 1923-1941 this is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China, and with that the history of Shanghai, a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture and the economy, and thus the hub of all Euro-American activity.
-
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the worlds leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. The database provides users access to a variety of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations covering disciplines such as agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, and librarianship, among others.
-
This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.
-
INCLUDED DATABASES: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources - ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts - ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts - Algology, Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) - Animal Behavior Abstracts - Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) - Biochemistry Abstracts 1 - Biochemistry Abstracts 3 - Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts - Chemoreception Abstracts - Neurosciences Abstracts - Ecology Abstracts - Entomology Abstracts - Endocrinology Abstracts - Genetics Abstracts - Health and Safety Science Abstracts - Human Genome Abstracts - Immunology Abstracts - Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) - Biotechnology Research Abstracts - Nucleic Acids Abstracts - Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts - Toxicology Abstracts - AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts ( included in Virology and AIDS Abstracts) MEDLINE - Plant Science Toxline - Conference Papers Index. Coverage: 1946-current.
-
Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses queer in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT. Each of the document collections in the database will include a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources in historical terms and in relationship to previous scholarship. We ask our project editors to address the strengths, limitations, and characteristics of their archive and to explore the ways in which archives are constructed, constrained, and contested. This database seeks to broaden the field of queer history, including projects that focus on the experiences and perspectives of under-represented historical groups, including people of color, trans people, and people with disabilities.
-
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
-
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
-
The Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) collection provides unparalleled access to important statistical data from 1995 to present. Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, the collection contains data from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Developed in cooperation with leading statistical authorities, UDB-STAT-RUS contains official reports, yearbooks, monthly reports, special bulletins and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Coverage includes major economic indicators, industry, agriculture, economy and finance, population, environment, transportation, health, natural resources, and regional/urban statistics. Coverage ends in 2023.
-
Early American history and culture. Books, pamphlets, serials, and other works and print matter about North, Central, and South America. Documents also cover the Caribbean and the Atlantic World. Coverage: 1500-1926.
-
Sage Data is a large repository of harmonized and structured data in which users can search, compare, visualize and analyze data all on one platform. It provides access to 550+ U.S and International databases through one central searchable platform. Datasets cover a wide range of topics, including: business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more.
-
The looks at gender and sexuality in the centuries leading up to, and inclusive of, the period covered in Parts I and II of LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, providing context to the materials in those collections. It examines topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology. It not only offers a reflection of the cultural and social attitudes of the past, but also a window into how sexuality and gender roles were viewed and changed over time.
-
In the summer of 2012, as part of the London Olympic Games' Cultural Olympiad and the World Shakespeare Festival, Shakespeare's Globe hosted the hugely successful Globe to Globe Festival. This unprecedented six-week event saw companies from across the world perform at Shakespeare's Globe in over 30 different languages. Now you can watch 10 of these performances on Drama Online. The Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 collection will support all courses in Shakespeare's plays, and especially those exploring: global performance; intercultural production, interpretation and reception; and themes such as gender across global cultures. All films will have audio in their original language alongside fully translated English subtitles.
-
Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery--defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. Covers 1450s to 1880s.
-
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. Documents include legal materials and court cases, broadsides, court records, maps, pamphlets, lists of enslaved peoples, ship's logs, registers, and reports. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
-
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
-
The Sovetskii Ekran (Советский экран, Soviet Screen) Digital Archive offers a unique window into the history of Soviet cinema, capturing the essence of a journal that was pivotal from 1925 to 1998. Sovetskii Ekran, more than just a film journal, was a cultural barometer of its times, chronicling the evolution of Soviet film against the backdrop of significant societal and political changes. Its pages, filled with film critiques, interviews, and reader polls, offer a comprehensive view of the cinematic landscape and its influence on Soviet culture.
-
The Sunday Times launched in London on 20 October 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and to uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it. Since that first issue, the newspaper has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large. Boasting some 3.5 million articles and more than 800,000 digitized pages, The Sunday Times Historical Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers, and culture of the last two centuries. This archive is an important resource for the humanities and social sciences, especially in history, media studies, journalism, literature, cultural studies, politics, and theater. The collection is also a valuable resource for family history and genealogy. Coverage: 1822-2016
-
The Treasury of Lives is a biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region. In development since 2007, it provides accessible and well-researched biographies of notable scholars, masters, or leaders in traditional Himalayan and Inner Asian society and culture who are deceased and who were native to the region. Most essays are peer reviewed. Content is enhanced by a dynamic map of Asia.
-
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist seances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures. Four sections include: "spiritualism, sensation and magic" ; "circuses, sideshows and freaks" ; "music Hall, theatre and popular entertainment" ; "moving pictures, optical entertainments and the advent of Cinema."
-
Database of collections held by institutions across Virginia. Provides Virginia history and culture finding aids with descriptions of manuscript and archival collections in universities, colleges, and institutions in Virginia. Note these are indexes to collections, not scans of the materials themselves. Coverage: 1607-present.
-
A searchable archive of ~20 leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st, including Better Homes and Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, and Town & Country. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. Coverage: 1883-2005.
-
An unprecedented digital collection offering access to the runs of more than 100 publications from Archie Comics. Its one of the longest-running, best-known comic staples, spanning the early 1940s to 2020. Alongside the flagship title, Archie, other prominent titles, which have pervaded wider popular culture, include Sabrina: The Teenage Witch, Josie and the Pussycats, Betty & Veronica, and Jughead.
-
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940s-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture like fashion, rock and roll, sexuality and dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. Includes images, advertisements, reviews, and magazine articles.