C Databases

1 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

 Report an Error

 Ask a Librarian

 Usage Guidelines

 Off Campus Access



Refine these databases by:

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.

Cambridge Core

Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

ccAdvisor

A searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to scholarly academic databases, websites, and tools withhundreds of reviews and updated information on electronic resources. The reviews are written by subject-area experts in collaboration between Choice and the Charleston Company.

Cecil Papers

The Cecil Papers is a major collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. More than 150,000 pages have been digitized in full color to create a definitive online archive of almost 30,000 manuscript documents written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history. These are accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers, featuring summaries and/or transcripts of many documents and two eighteenth-century volumes of selected transcriptions.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.

Checkpoint

Comprehensive tax and accounting research database covering tax and accounting laws and news on the international, federal, state and local levels. Provides access to a variety of primary sources, analysis, journals, news, cases, and rulings. 35 simultaneous users.

Chicago Defender: Historical Newspapers 1909-1975

A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1909-1975.

Chicago Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1849-1994

Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily tribune (published 1847-1858; coverage 1849-1858), Chicago press and tribune (1858-1860), Chicago tribune (1860-1872), Chicago daily tribune (1872-1963), Chicago tribune (1963-current file). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. Coverage: 1849-1994.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

Access to current and historical information relating to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Indexes hundreds of journal articles and a bibliography of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses, and dissertations covering biomedical and social science worldwide.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

CLCD is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.6 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of childrens books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries (725 Awards and growing) dating back to 1922.

Chinese Newspapers Collection

Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953

Christian Science Monitor: Historical Newspapers 1908-2004

Founded in 1908, the Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

Chronicle of Higher Education

News and information about higher education, job listings in academia, discussion forums, and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. To search issues, scroll and click This Weeks Issue, then View Issues by Year. Click these instructions for accessing the Chronicle via off-campus computers, mobile devices, and iPads. Note: although the Chronicle.com website includes coverage from 1989-present, only the most current year plus one year can be searched by issue. To browse earlier years, use the database Academic Search Complete. Coverage: 1989-present (see note above)

Chronicle of Philanthropy

Premium access to the complete contents of the new issue, an archive of articles from the past two years, and more than four years' worth of grant listings -- all fully searchable.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

This database allows you to search and view public domain newspaper pages (1690-1963) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.

CINAHL with Full Text

Premier database for nursing and allied health literature. Includes references to journals, American Nurses' Association and National League for Nursing publications, nursing standards of practice, and critical paths.

Cincinnati Enquirer

When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city the nations 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as The Queen of the West. A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave The Cincinnati Enquirer a unique perspective to report on international, national and regional news. Coverage: 1841-2009

Civil War Collection

Contains seven parts: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective; Part II: The Soldiers Perspective; Part III: The Generals Perspective; Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective; Part V: Iowas Perspective; Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories; Part VII: Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books.

Civil War in Words and Deeds

Army life 1861-1865 through regimental histories and first-person accounts. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1865-1920.

ClasePeriodica

Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.

Classical Music Library

Classical music, including vocal, choral, orchestral, chamber music, stage and screen, opera, and operettas. Includes recordings, program notes, composer biographies, and play lists by category. Coverage: Medieval to contemporary.

Classical Scores Library

Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy

The enactment and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments and other environmental issues. News clippings, articles and editorials, speeches, studies and research reports, memoranda, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.

Clotel, or The President's Daughter: A Narrative of Slave Life in the United States

The first novel written by an African American, William Wells Brown. Includes the full extant texts of the novels four versions (1853, 1860, 1864, 1867). A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1853-1867.

Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation

This collection will provide a unique opportunity to read the recollections of many of the players in the Cold War. These transcripts of oral recollections will assist scholars in understanding the motivations for conflict and conciliation. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1950s-1990s.

Colonial America

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period. Access: Modules 1 - 5

Colonial State Papers

England's governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies. Digitized versions of the Privy Council and Related Bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers (Collection CO 1 from The National Archives, London) and the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1574-1757.

Colonial Williamsburg Digital Library

Primary sources and original research held by the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg. Includes manuscripts; historical, archaeological, and architectural research reports; York County probate inventories; and the Virginia Gazette 1736-1780. Coverage: 17th-early 19th centuries.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection

A unique look at history through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor. Coverage: 1917-2013

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

Engineering, computer theory and systems, and new technologies in their social and professional contexts. Citations to journal articles, professional publications, and reference sources. Also includes searchable cited references for key journals. Coverage: 1965-present.

Confederate Newspapers

The real and true history of (Southern) public opinion during the war. A mixture of issues and papers, some only single issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1860-1865.

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer-oriented health information covering all areas of health and wellness. Reference books and encyclopedias, journal articles, drug information sheets, health reports, images, videos, etc. Coverage: Current.

ConsumerReports.org

Provides access to the online version of Consumer reports magazine, as well as additional features. Includes ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Includes product test videos, interactive guides, advice forums, consumer news, and more.

Contemporary World Drama

This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.

Contemporary World Music

Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.

Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons

Items originating from prisoners. Mostly letters, but also receipts for parcels, money orders, personal effects, paper currency, and realia. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1936-1945.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Worksis a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them.

Country Life Archive

A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.

CQ Almanac

Annual coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress. In-depth reviews and analyses. Coverage: 1945-2012.

CQ Magazine

US Congress and its issues. Summaries and analyses, previous week's news, status of bills in play, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes as well as in depth reports on issues facing Congress. Coverage: 1983-2016.

CQ Press Library

CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. It includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, Politics in America, State Stats, and Voting and Elections.

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection

Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.

CQ Researcher (includes CQ Global Researcher)

Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.

Credo Reference

Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-

Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.