S Databases

1 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

 Report an Error

 Ask a Librarian

 Usage Guidelines

 Off Campus Access



Refine these databases by:

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

Early American history and culture. Books, pamphlets, serials, and other works about North, Central, and South America, also the Caribbean. Coverage: 1500-1926.

Safari Tech Books Online

Information technology. Searchable books, training videos, and journal articles from major IT publishers. Coverage: Current.

SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries

An effort by the Allies to prevent Germany from having the assets to start another war. Reports and letters, cables, and military attach reports referring to specific SAFEHAVEN-related topics. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1944-1945.

Sage Premier

High-quality, peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal content to over 1,000 SAGE journals and open access titles.

SAGE Stats

SAGE Stats provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Find the hard-to-locate data points you need to support your research. Visualize and compare thousands of normalized data sets to create new and interesting research avenues. Export data for greater analysis or combine with your own data to create new insights

Salud en Espanol

All aspects of consumer health and wellness. Evidence-based reports and fact sheets. Consumer Health Complete database, in Spanish. Coverage: Current.

San Francisco Chronicle: Historical Newspapers 1865-1922

Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, this newspaper lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America’s entry into World War I, and many other events.

Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993

The origins of and responses to the deregulation of S&Ls. Correspondence, studies, testimony, talking points, and news clippings from the White House, staff offices, and agencies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.

ScienceDirect

Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

ScienceDirect E-books

Elsevier is a world-leading provider of scientific, technical, and medical information products and services. This collection includes nearly 700 titles from Elseviers most current 2013 collection. To view what is available to W&M library users, select Show full-text available only on the refine search panel.

SciFinder

You must register to use this database. Click on this link to register: https://swem.wm.edu/um/scifinder/register.php. <br />
<br />
Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service.

SciTech Premium Collection

This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

Scotsman: Historical Newspapers 1817-1950

When it was founded in 1817, The Scotsman was so radical that it was considered “incendiary.” Today, it continues to provide an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events. The Scotsman captured the unprecedented turmoil and change occurring on both sides of the Atlantic during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Screen Studies Collection

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

Security Issues Online

Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats.

Senate Executive Journals, 1789-1980

The deliberations of American senators on a wide variety of events, organizations, and people, with a strong focus on nominations across military, judicial, and executive branches, and on international treaties. 1st Congress through the 96th Congress. Coverage: 1789-1980.

Short Story Index

This products aim is to index all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered. Approximately 200+ monographs are captured per year, with approximately 3,000-4,000 analytics (chapters/stories).

Simmons Insights

Survey analysis and planning software that includes data from recent Simmons' national consumer studies. 5 Simultaneous Users Allowed.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives

The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Coverage: 1960-1974

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Part 1. Debates over slavery and abolition; Part 2. Slave trade in the Atlantic world; Part 3. The institution of slavery; Part 4. The age of emancipation.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery--defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

Smithsonian Global Sound

World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.

Social Explorer

Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present.

Social Services Abstracts

Social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Citations to journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Coverage: 1979-present.

Social Theory

Social Theoryoffers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.

Social Work Online

Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Some cited references are included. Coverage: 1952-present.

Something About the Author

Something About the Author series examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images.

South China Morning Post: Historical Newspapers 1903-1998

South China Morning Post gives researchers new insights into Hong Kong’s unique political and social history during the 20th century. This premier English-language title is known for its authoritative, influential, and independent reporting on all of Asia as well as its perspective of the rest of the world.

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records

Primary source documents of records and correspondence of southern plantations during the Antebellum period of U.S. History. These documents reflect the business and operation of plantations, including slavery records. Part of ProQuest's History Vault.

Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South

Journal published in Richmond. Southern history, European history, military history, secessionism, states rights, and slavery issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1834-1864.

SPIE Digital Library

Contains full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers) journals and proceedings published since 1990.

Sports Medicine & Education Index

This database provides specialized, editorially curated A&I resources critical to researchers with an academic, professional or personal interest in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology. Coverage: 1970 - current

SpringerLink

Biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, law, humanities, and economics. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.

SpringerLink E-books

Springer eBooks offer high quality Springer print book publications in a digital format. This collection covers Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Science, Computer Science, and Earth and Environmental Science.

St. Louis Post Dispatch: Historical Newspapers 1874-2003

The St. Louis Post-Dispatch was noted for its investigative reporting and human interest stories. Created by Joseph Pulitzer of two pre-existing newspapers, the Post-Dispatch is the only St. Louis newspaper still in print. In addition to valuable coverage of pivotal regional events the daily publication provides a uniquely Midwestern perspective of local, national and international news.

State Papers Online

Early modern British and European history. English government, including social & economic affairs, law & order, religious policy, exploration, crown possessions & intelligence gathering, as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. English government documents. Coverage: 1509-1714.

Statista

Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.