Summer 2017

Faculty and Staff

President W. Taylor Reveley III

Commencement Honorary Degree Recipients

Walter Isaacson, President and CEO of The Aspen Institute:


Carrie Cooper, Dean of University Libraries:

  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  • The Book of Summer by Michelle Gable
  • The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis
  • Spies in the Family by Eva Dillion

Kelly Crace, Assistant Vice-President for Health and Wellness:

Department of Art & Art History

Elizabeth Mead:

Eliot Dudik:

Biology Department

Kurt Williamson:

Randy Chambers:

Beverly Sher:

Chemistry Department

Tyler Meldrum:

Department of Classical Studies

Economics Department

Nathaniel Throckmorton:

Peter McHenry:

Donald Campbell:

Brian Beach:

Department of English

Arthur Knight:

Francesca Sawaya:

Chelsey Johnson:

Keith Johnson:

Adam Potkay:

Suzanne Raitt:

Mary Melfi:

  • Pere Goriot by Balzac
  • Mask of Innocence by François Mauriac

Monica Potkay:

Kara Thompson:

Department of Geology

Rowan Lockwood:

Institute for the Theory & Practice of International Relations

Tyler Frazier:


Department of Government

Michael Tierney:

Debra Shushan:

Larry Evans:

Paul Manna:

Amy Oakes:

Dan Maliniak:

  • World War Z by Max Brooks

Lyon G. Tyler Department of History

Nicholas Popper:

Chitralekha Zutshi:

Emily Gioielli:

Judy Allen:

Jerry Watkins III:

Nadine Zimmerli:

Andrew Fisher:

Department of Mathematics

Cary Humber:

Department of Modern Languages & Literatures

Julie Hugonny:

  • Saga by Brian Vaughan

Jorge Terukina:

John Riofrio:

Michael Cronin:

Giulia Pacini:

Tomoyuki Sasaki:

Teresa Longo:

Jennifer Taylor:

Mason School of Business

William Stauffer:

  • The Fix by David Baldacci
  • Growth is Dead: Now What? By Bruce MacEwen

Jim Bradley:

  • Moneyball by Michael Lewis
  • Only Humans Need Apply by Thomas Davenport and Julia Kirby
  • A Model Discipline by Kevin Clarke and David Primo

Department of Music

James Armstrong:

Katherine Preston:

Department of Philosophy

Timothy Costelloe:

Physics Department

Eugene Tracy:

  • Juvenescence: A Cultural History of our Age by Robert Pogue Harrison

Department of Religious Studies

Marc Lee Raphael:

Department of Sociology

Thomas Linneman:

Elyas Bakhtiari:

Shruti Devgan: