Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies

All Databases in this Category

Refine these databases by:

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

Annual Reviews

Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Coverage: 1940s-1980s.

Berg Fashion Library

Now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank.

Dolley Madison Digital Edition

All known correspondence of Dolley Madison, wife of President James Madison. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage ongoing, begins 1788.

Emily Dickinson's Correspondences

Searchable poems and letters from Dickinson's correspondence with her sister-in-law. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: Late 1850s-1886.

Ethnographic Video Online

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

Everyday Life & Women in America

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Films On Demand

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.**

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs

In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.

Independent Voices

A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Journal of Emily Shore

Diary of a young English woman who wrote from the age of eleven until her death from consumption at the age of nineteen. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1831-1839.

JSTOR

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

Letters of Christina Rossetti

Complete text of The Letters of Christina Rossetti (ed. Antony H. Harrison, University Press of Virginia, 19972004). Searchable letters of the Victorian poet. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1843-1895.

Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry

A collection of letters, diaries, and other documents from a mother and daughter in South Carolina covering 1739 to 1830. An interesting look into the daily life of the management of an early American household and plantation.

Queen Victoria's Journals

In 1832, the 13-year old Princess Victoria of Kent began the first volume of her journal, thus starting a habit that would continue for the rest of her life. In total 141 volumes of her journal survive, numbering approximately 33,000 pages. The Queen Victoria's Journals website reproduces every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals as high-resolution color images along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages.

SocINDEX with Full Text

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Vogue Archive

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Vogue Italia Archive

The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 , Scholar's Edition

US history and US women's history. Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, web site reviews, the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, and all publications of local, state, and national commissions on the status of women since 1963. Coverage: 1600-2000.

Women's Magazine Archive

A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. Coverage: 1883-2005.

Women's Studies International

Women's studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Journal and newspaper articles, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents, and grey literature. Coverage: 1972-present.

Women's Wear Daily Archive

Searchable and browsable archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution, full color images. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered.