Global Studies

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union: economics, history, politics, religion, and social and cultural issues. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the US and Canada. Coverage: 1986-present.
Access World News
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 8,400 sources and 152 countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
AccessUN
United Nations documents and publications, including official records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN sales publications, and the UN Treaty Series. Coverage: 1991-present.
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
Political, military, social, and economic developments in Afghanistan. Special reports, interviews, court proceedings, statistics, etc. Also translations of foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports,etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1945-1963.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
East, Southeast, and South Asia. Citations to Western-language journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Coverage: 1971-present.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.
ClasePeriodica
Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.
Credo Reference
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959-
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Economist Online
One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944
The German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II. Statistical data from three official German publications. In German and English. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1944.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States
Political relations of states, including diplomatic and consular representation and bilateral treaties, conventions, and agreements. Documents from the US Department of State. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1944.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
This cross-curricular product covers today’s hottest social issues and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. More than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and 19,000+ reference articles are included.
Global Road Warrior
Practical information for travelers. Information by country on basic facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, telecommunications, money & banking, health & medical information, etc. Coverage: Current.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Terrorism, homeland security, policy, and organizational management. Congressional Research Service studies, GAO reports, presidential orders & directives, major legislation, congressional hearings, national strategy documents, etc. Coverage: Current.
International Financial Statistics
All aspects of international and domestic finance. From the International Monetary Fund. Coverage: 1948-present. USERS MUST REGISTER AND SIGN IN TO DOWNLOAD DATA.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
International politics, history, intellectual trends, and economics. Special reports, interviews, statistics, court proceedings, letters, translations of documents, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1949.
Jewish Studies Source
Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Journal and newspaper articles, books, and biographies. Coverage: 1922-present.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
KA Arabic e-Library
Also known as Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance. Collection of electronic books in Arabic. Contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises written by Arab authors of all genres. Coverage: Varies by title.
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
Black nationalism and pan-Africanism. FBI documents, correspondence, ephemera, reports, memoranda, transcriptions, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1970-1985.
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies
Part of the Global Issues Library, this curated database provides a rare breadth of study for students to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries.
NewsBank/Readex
Collection of historical primary-source databases. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.
Newsweek Archive
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries. With coverage from 1933 through 2012, it comprises 80 years of news reporting and commentary, charting the key US and global events during this period. Its diverse content beyond news and politics (in areas including business, science/technology, arts, travel, and family life) is such that there is valuable material for researchers in many fields, from history and political science through to economics, women's studies, and media history.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: International Relations
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on international relations across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Reference sources, scholarly & introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Coverage: Current. Unlimited user access.
PAIS Index
Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.
Peace Research Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including International Journal of Peace Studies, International Journal on World Peace, and Conflict Management & Peace Science. Coverage from 1964.
Policing the Shanghai International Settlement
A self-governing area of British, Russian, American, German, Japanese, and French expatriates. Includes files from the Special Branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police, reports, handbills, translations of Chinese press coverage, and clippings from the English-language press. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1894-1985.
Political Science Complete
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Pravda Digital Archive
Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.
ProQuest Central
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Coverage: 1970-current.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993
The student demonstrations and their aftermath, including crackdowns on Chinese civil rights. Public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Provides access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from 1900 to within the current decade. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Coverage: 1900-2008.
Web of Science
All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation IndexScience, and Conference Proceedings Citation IndexSocial Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.
World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates from 1960, where data are available. Coverage: 1960-present.
World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
The political, economic, and social development of post-liberation Greece. Translations of speeches, memoranda, statistics, interviews, official reports, letters, transcripts of political meetings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1940-1949.

Research Assistance