Modern Languages

All Databases in this Category

Refine these databases by:

ACLS Humanities E-book

A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.

ARTFL Project (American French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)

Texts in French, including novels, nonfiction works, technical essays, travel accounts, pamphlets, poetry, drama, journalism, correspondence, and treatises. Coverage: 1700-present, some earlier.

Chinese Newspapers Collection

Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953

ClasePeriodica

Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.

Credo Reference

Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World

A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.

Factiva

World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.

Films On Demand

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.**

Fuente Academica

Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)

Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.

KA Arabic e-Library

Also known as Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance. Collection of electronic books in Arabic. Contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises written by Arab authors of all genres. Coverage: Varies by title.

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. **All films have public performance rights.**

Kikuzo II Visual

Database containing all editions of one of the Japanese main newspapers, the Asahi Shinbun, and the Aera news magazine. Also contains an encyclopaedia of contemporary vocabulary Chiezo. Coverage: 1879 to present.

Latin American Newspapers

Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.

Literature Criticism Online

Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online offers the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day. Articles from over 430 scholarly journals included. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), one of the most important bibliographic sources for English studies.

Literature Resources from Gale

Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.

MedicLatina

Neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, hematology, etc. Journal articles in Spanish from Latin American and Spanish publishers. Coverage: Varies by title.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.

Pravda Digital Archive

Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.

ProQuest

Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

Salud en Espanol

All aspects of consumer health and wellness. Evidence-based reports and fact sheets. Consumer Health Complete database, in Spanish. Coverage: Current.

Vente et Gestion

Business, including accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, and technology. In French. Coverage: 1971-present.

Voltaire Electronique

Includes all of Voltaire's literary works from the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete Works of Voltaire.

Web of Science

All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation IndexScience, and Conference Proceedings Citation IndexSocial Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.