United States (General)

All Databases in this Category

Refine these databases by:

19th Century Collections Online

Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

19th Century Masterfile

Despite its name, covers scholarly sources from the 12th century to early 20th century. Includes Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents, and images. Coverage: 1106-1930 (varies by source).

19th Century US Newspapers

19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

Accessible Archives

Collections of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. Coverage: Varies by newspaper.

AM Explorer: Americana

Cross-searchable access to millions of pages of essential American history, literature and culture. Uncover captivating manuscript and typescript letters, diaries, notebooks, journals, newspapers, plus incredible art works, illustrations, photographs, video and 360-degree objects.

American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger: Historical Newspapers 1857-1922

Founded in New York City in 1857, The American Hebrew was established as the weekly source of news impacting international Jewish communities. Reports on the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S., were of intense interest to readers of the paper.

American History in Video

People and events in American history and their presentation over time. Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Coverage: 1492-2000. **All films have public performance rights.**

American History, 1493-1945

Contains books, maps, artwork, and other primary source materials from the Gilder Lehrman Collection. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.

American Israelite: Historical Newspapers1854-2000

“Let there be light” has been the motto of The American Israelite since it was first published in 1854 with the intention to illuminate principles of Jewish faith and instill a sense of community among American Jews who often lived in geographically dispersed locations. This weekly is considered the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper available in the country.

American Periodicals Series Online

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

American West

Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centers and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.

Americas Historical Newspapers (includes Early American Newspapers)

Newspapers from all 50 states with eyewitness reporting, letters, advertisements, obituaries, etc. Includes access to Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922), Series IV (1756-1922), and Series V (1777-1922). Coverage: 1690-1922.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Coverage: 1940s-1980s.

Arizona Republican

From the dust of the territorys new capital, Phoenix, The Arizona Republican arose in 1890 to ultimately become the states largest newspaper. Delivering news about a changing world to its readers, The Arizona Republican focused on local and national politics and ways to make the territory a better place to live. It was instrumental in the campaign for Arizona statehood, which was achieved in 1912. Coverage: 1890-2007

Atlanta Daily World: Historical Newspapers

W.A. Scott II founded the Atlanta Daily World at a time when most black Americans lived in the South. He felt that the race problem could only be solved in the South, which required an informed community. Rather than reading news about African-Americans through the optics of a host of prejudiced white papers, he launched his own newspaper to educate, inspire, uplift, and promote the expression of the Southern black community. Coverage: 1931-2003

Austin American Statesman: Historical Newspapers 1871-1978

Founded in 1871, the historical Austin American Statesman is the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas. It provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century.

Baltimore Afro-American

One of the most widely circulated African American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1893-1988.

Boston Globe: Historical Newspapers 1872-1988

Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1984). Includes Boston Daily Globe (1872-1922), Boston Daily Globe (1923-1927), Daily Boston Globe (1928-1960), and Boston Globe (1960-1988).

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.

Chicago Defender: Historical Newspapers 1909-1975

A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1909-1975.

Chicago Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1849-1994

Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily tribune (published 1847-1858; coverage 1849-1858), Chicago press and tribune (1858-1860), Chicago tribune (1860-1872), Chicago daily tribune (1872-1963), Chicago tribune (1963-current file). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. Coverage: 1849-1994.

Christian Science Monitor: Historical Newspapers 1908-2004

Founded in 1908, the Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

This database allows you to search and view public domain newspaper pages (1690-1963) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Cincinnati Enquirer

When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city the nations 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as The Queen of the West. A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave The Cincinnati Enquirer a unique perspective to report on international, national and regional news. Coverage: 1841-2009

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy

The enactment and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments and other environmental issues. News clippings, articles and editorials, speeches, studies and research reports, memoranda, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection

A unique look at history through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor. Coverage: 1917-2013

Dayton Daily News: Historical Newspapers 1898-1922

Since 1898, the Dayton Daily News has reported on historical events as the evening paper for the residents of Dayton, Ohio. Its pages offer researchers a fascinating glimpse into the history and economic, cultural, and social life of Ohio, the U.S., and the world from 1898-1922.

Detroit Free Press: Historical Newspapers 1831-1999

This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition, first U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony, and the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881. A fundamental resource for labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry.

Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988

This collection includes the proceedings of the 1832-1988 Democratic National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1832-1988.

Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988

The collection includes the proceedings for 1856-1988 of the Republican National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage of the conventions, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1856-1988.

Everyday Life & Women in America

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.

Global Missions and Theology

Christian missionary activities, practices, and thought in the US. Personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Harford Courant: Historical Newspapers 1764-1992

America's longest continuously published newspaper, the Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation.

Harper's Bazaar Archive

A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of the Harper's Bazaar US and UK editions, from 1867 to the present. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource comprises a chronicle of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.

Historical Statistics of the United States

Quantitative data for all aspects of American history. Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (Cambridge UP, 2006). Coverage: 1790-1996.

HistoryMakers Digital Archive

The HistoryMakers Digital Archive is an extensive online database of over 9,000 hours of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. More content being added each week.

Hollywood, Moral Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code

Collection of documents from the Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administration. The 500 titles selected from the holdings of the Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Beverly Hills, California. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1927-1968.

In Response to the AIDS Crisis

Collection of briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1983-1994.

Independent Voices

A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Indianapolis Star: Historical Newspapers 1903-2004

The Indianapolis Star is the largest newspaper in Indiana, and a staunch watchdog and advocate for its community. Three times it has been honored with a Pulitzer Prize — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting.

iPOLL

National public opinion polls. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers

The concerns and challenges of interned Japanese Americans during World War II. Bulletins and newspapers. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1942-1945.

Jewish Advocate: Historical Newspapers 1905-1990

The Jewish Advocate was first printed in Boston in 1909. It continues to be a primary source of regional, national and international news and information for subscribers in New England and across the U.S., as well around the world. This digital newspaper archive (1905-1990) provides an in-depth historical perspective on issues and events pertaining to the rise of Zionism and the development of Jewish-American culture.

Jewish Exponent: Historical Newspapers 1887-1900

The Jewish Exponent first hit the presses in 1887, founded by a group of 43 prominent Philadelphia businessmen. This stock ownership was meant to ensure the newspaper represented the entire community while serving in its coverage of local, national and international news.

Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers Project

Social history, industry& labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1943.

Los Angeles Sentinel: Historical Newspapers 1934-2005

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2005). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Los Angeles Times (LA Times), 1881-1994

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1881 - 1994.

Louisville Courier Journal: Historical Newspapers 1830-2000

The Louisville Courier Journal is Kentucky's newspaper of record. The paper has become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia. The Courier Journal became the first U.S. daily newspaper to appoint a woman managing editor, Carol Sutton in 1974.

Minneapolis Star Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1867-2001

Researchers will find robust primary source insights on American culture in the city’s long time newspaper, the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Regional topics reflect national and international trends of the times - such as Prohinition and civil rights.

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

American history, industry, education, religion, and folklore. Diaries, journals, narratives, travel accounts, family histories, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1700-1950.

Music Magazine Archive: Rock, Folk & Hip Hop!

The digital archive includes rarely collected, widely scattered, and now sought after publications that present a unique record of popular culture, music journalism, and social and political transition in the late 20th century.

New York Times: Historical Newspapers 1851-2014

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1851-2014.

New Yorker Archive

Provides full text searchable archives for the New Yorker journal. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists and statesmen. Coverage: 1925-present. Two simultaneous users.

News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015

Newsday: Historical Newspapers 1940-1989

As the largest suburban newspaper in the United States, Newsday provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the New York metropolitan area and northeastern United States during the post-World War II period.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers

19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Historiesincludes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives,

North American Womens Letters and Diaries

North American Women's Letters and Diariesincludes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Coverage: Colonial to 1950

Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880

Accounts from settlers. Based on The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865; and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1800-1880.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1819-1870)

Documents the move to industrialization from a predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century. Articles, advertisements, vital statistics, etc., from 8 newspapers published in the area. Coverage: Varies by title.

Philadelphia Inquirer: Historical Newspapers 1860-2001

The Philadelphia Inquirer, one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

Philadelphia Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1912-2001

The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

Pittsburgh Courier: Historical Newspapers 1911-2002

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh Courier (1955-1965 : City ed.).

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette: Historical Newspapers 1786-2003

The Post-Gazette is the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Reporting news in a city that was once considered the industrial center of a nation, and now considered an education and medical hub, this newspaper offers researchers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.

ProQuest Congressional

Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.

San Francisco Chronicle: Historical Newspapers 1865-1922

Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, this newspaper lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America’s entry into World War I, and many other events.

Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993

The origins of and responses to the deregulation of S&Ls. Correspondence, studies, testimony, talking points, and news clippings from the White House, staff offices, and agencies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives

The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. Coverage: 1960-1974

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery--defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it.

Social Explorer

Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present.

Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South

Journal published in Richmond. Southern history, European history, military history, secessionism, states rights, and slavery issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1834-1864.

St. Louis Post Dispatch: Historical Newspapers 1874-2003

The St. Louis Post-Dispatch was noted for its investigative reporting and human interest stories. Created by Joseph Pulitzer of two pre-existing newspapers, the Post-Dispatch is the only St. Louis newspaper still in print. In addition to valuable coverage of pivotal regional events the daily publication provides a uniquely Midwestern perspective of local, national and international news.

Virginia Heritage Database

Virginia history and culture. Finding aids with descriptions of manuscript and archival collections in universities, colleges, and institutions in Virginia. Coverage: 1607-present.

Virginian-Pilot Historical and Current

Includes the Virginian-Pilot Historical Archives, 1865-1989; as well as the current newspaper issues from 1990 to present. Content can also be accessed from "Access World News."

Wall Street Journal: Historical Newspapers 1889-2002

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1889-2002.

Washington Post: Historical Newspapers 1877-2002

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1877-2002.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 , Scholar's Edition

US history and US women's history. Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, web site reviews, the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, and all publications of local, state, and national commissions on the status of women since 1963. Coverage: 1600-2000.

Women's Magazine Archive

A searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history. This database provides access to the complete archives of several 19th and 20th-century women's magazines. Coverage: 1883-2005.

Research Assistance