International Relations

All Databases in this Category

Refine these databases by:

ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)

East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union: economics, history, politics, religion, and social and cultural issues. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the US and Canada. Coverage: 1986-present.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

AccessUN

United Nations documents and publications, including official records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN sales publications, and the UN Treaty Series. Coverage: 1991-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

East, Southeast, and South Asia. Citations to Western-language journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Coverage: 1971-present.

Border and Migration Studies Online

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.

British Periodicals

Offering comprehensive full-run coverage for popular periodicals, this growing resource will offer facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries, totaling almost five million pages.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Data on a wide variety of subjects from government agencies, private exchanges, and international organizations. Users can manipulate datasets, make comparisons, and chart trends over time. Coverage: 1950s-present.

Digital National Security Archive

From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

Economist Historical Archive

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Economist Online

One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.

Europa World

Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.

Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States

Political relations of states, including diplomatic and consular representation and bilateral treaties, conventions, and agreements. Documents from the US Department of State. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1944.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)

Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.

HeinOnline

Legal sources, including law journals, U. S. Code, U. S. Statutes at Large, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Supreme Court opinions and reports, Congressional Record, classic law texts, foreign policy documents, presidential documents, treaties, Virginia court briefs, English law history, and much more. Coverage: Varies by title.

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)

Terrorism, homeland security, policy, and organizational management. Congressional Research Service studies, GAO reports, presidential orders & directives, major legislation, congressional hearings, national strategy documents, etc. Coverage: Current.

Human Rights Studies Online

Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.

ICPSR

All areas of the social sciences. Computer-based research and instructional data. Allows online data analysis using the Survey Documentation and Analysis (SDA) system. Coverage: Current and historical. **Some functions of the ICPSR Web site, such as downloading and uploading data, require you to log in after creating a free account.**

International Financial Statistics

All aspects of international and domestic finance. From the International Monetary Fund. Coverage: 1948-present.

Legal Collection

Current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world. Articles from international scholarly law journals. Coverage: Varies by title.

Legal Source

Legal Source is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, and others involved with the law. Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world. The collection includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.

Military & Government Collection

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title.

New York Times Digital

Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and NYT apps. Also includes New York Times' archives for articles outside the 1923-1980 date range. Must be logged in to your NYTimes.com account. Register for a free account. You need only register one time at accessnyt.com. This will provide direct access to nytimes.com.

News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015

Oxford Scholarship Online

Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.

Peace Research Abstracts

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including International Journal of Peace Studies, International Journal on World Peace, and Conflict Management & Peace Science. Coverage from 1964.

POLITICO Pro

POLITICO Pro is considered the essential policy information tool. It offers real-time, customizable news & analysis on developments in policy, access to over 100 policy expert reporters and a data-driven graphics/presentation tool.

Pravda Digital Archive

Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.

ProQuest Congressional

Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States

Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.

Race Relations Abstracts

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.

Revolution and Protest Online

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18thcentury through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics.

SAGE Stats

SAGE Stats provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Find the hard-to-locate data points you need to support your research. Visualize and compare thousands of normalized data sets to create new and interesting research avenues. Export data for greater analysis or combine with your own data to create new insights

Security Issues Online

Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, dating from 1715 through to today. Also, ProQuest has partnered with the National Library of Scotland to create the very first digitised collection of 19th Century House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, providing online access to previously unseen and valuable historical documents.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Provides access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from 1900 to within the current decade. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Coverage: 1900-2008.

Washington Post Digital: 1996 to present

Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com web site on any device and to all Washington Post apps. Must be logged in to your WashingtonPost.com account. Register for a free account with your W&M email address at the registration link above. You need only register one time. This will provide direct access to washingtonpost.com.

World Development Indicators

The primary World Bank collection of development indicators. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates from 1960, where data are available. Coverage: 1960-present.

Research Assistance