Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
History: Europe
Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.
East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union: economics, history, politics, religion, and social and cultural issues. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the US and Canada. Coverage: 1986-present.
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia, provides a unique analysis of this "retro-reform" policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe. The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65, is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change.
This new collection offers insight into how WWII changed American society, the economy and its lasting impact on individuals and families. Drawn from The National WWII Museum, New Orleans, and carefully curated by Adam Matthews team of editors and academic advisors, the collection includes a wealth of primary sources, from photos and notebooks to personal accounts and artefacts.
The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. This classic reference work provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information. Coverage: 1758-Present
Archives Direct is a suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive.
Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in history and the social sciences. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.
ARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main database with over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and they were curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for scholars of the nineteenth century.
Published in October 2012 by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchills personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia / the Soviet Union and the US, 1910-1963
View description
This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities.
Items originating from prisoners. Mostly letters, but also receipts for parcels, money orders, personal effects, paper currency, and realia. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1936-1945.
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
View description
Documents the founding of the Third Republic, created as a result of a compromise between pre-war Czechoslovak Republic leaders and the Czech Communist Party (KSC). An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1945-1963.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions from 1945 to the present.
Provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.
Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Early European Books includes digitized books from major European libraries including the National Library of France, the National Library of Florence, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library, London, and the Royal Library, Denmark. EEB provides digital access to continental printed texts before 1701 with full-color, high-resolution images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts, providing information about the physical characteristics and provenance histories of the original artefact. There are over 53,000 books included, in languages including French, German, Italian, Hebrew, Dutch, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Icelandic, Swedish, and Danish. Collections 1-19.
Political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany. Predominantly instructions to and dispatches from US diplomatic and consular personnel. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1950-1963.
The German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II. Statistical data from three official German publications. In German and English. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1944.
English- and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable full text. Includes books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Coverage: 1701-1800.
Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century reconstructing one of the world's great historical conversations. Access to 63,967 historical documents and 8,002 correspondents.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. Covers 1942 to 2007.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa from Algeria to Madagascar
View description
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1910-1930.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa
View description
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1910-1929.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa
View description
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1939.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa
View description
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal's African colonies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1910-1929.
This Corvey Collection contains over 2 million printed pages of English-language works, many of them comprising multiple volumes. It thus constitutes one of the most important collections of British Romantic-era writing in existence anywhere. The extent of its scholarly significance is indicated by the considerable number of exceedingly rare publicationsand even numerous previously unknown worksby British writers (and women writers in particular, whose works comprise over 1,000 of the titles) who were active during the Romantic period. In addition to the English-language literary texts, the Corvey Collection of European Literature also includes 3,658 works in French (including more than 500 by women) and 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 17901840.
Citations to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Based on the bibliography European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, by John Alden and Dennis Landis. Coverage: 1493-1700.
The First World War portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.
Featuring diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. Due to the unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted first-hand accounts provide unprecedented levels of detail into a turbulent period in Chinese history.
This is an outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions.
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: the Moscow Summit and the Dissolution of the USSR
View description
When George H. W. Bush became president in 1989 the United States had already begun to see a thawing of relations with the Soviet Union. President Bush spoke of softening relations in his inaugural address, claiming that "a new breeze is blowing," and adding that "great nations of the world are moving toward democracy through the door to freedom." This collection provides an in-depth analysis of the events leading up to the dissolution of the U.S.S.R. and its implications for U.S.-Soviet relations.
Taking the phenomenon of the Grand Tour as a starting point, this resource explores the relationship between Britain and Europe from c.1550 to 1850, exploring the Anglo-European response to continental travel for pleasure, business and diplomacy. This digital collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows students and researchers to explore and compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. From Napoleons defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandelas release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.
This collection offers a comprehensive survey of the original writings of the French Huguenot authors, from the first stirrings of radical dissent in the 1530s through to the end of the century. The selection privileges first and foremost original writings of authors writing within France and for an exclusively French audience: among them Antoine de la Roche Chandieu, Jean de lEspine and Philippes du Plessis Mornay. These three gifted authors offered an eclectic mixture of theology, consolation literature and political and religious polemic. Of special interest are the anonymous works that set the tone as the Huguenot movement emerged as an autonomous force during the early part of the 1560s.
The Institution of Slavery explores, in vivid detail, the inner workings of slavery from 1492 to 1888. Through legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, government records, and other primary sources, this collection reveals how enslaved people struggled against the institution. These rare works explore slavery as a legal and labor system, the relationship between slavery and religion, freed slaves, the Shong Massacre, the Demerara insurrection, and many other aspects and events.
Resettlement of refugees from Europe during the Nazi era. Memoranda, records, government documents, correspondence, and other files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1938-1948.
Interdisciplinary coverage of the Middle Ages (300-1500). Citations to journal articles and some books published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan, and South Africa. Coverage: 1967-present.
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War. While these modules provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, these records also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. As such, the collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category are an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. In addition, U.S. diplomats and military officials often reported back on international reaction to events in the United States, thereby providing an international perspective on important developments in the United States. This category also now includes British Foreign Office Records on World War I and the creation of Israel from 1940-1948.
The Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more. Each issue contains in-depth analysis and lively debate of current events. The Weekly Irish Times coverage (1876-1958) includes The Times Pictorial.
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (????????, News) was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles. Continuously published for over 100 years, Izvestiias prominence endures today as one of the most subscribed news sources of contemporary Russia, covering domestic and foreign policy, commentary, culture, education, and finance.
Primarily the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance. Leaflets, handbills, printed proclamations, resolutions, circular letters, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1939-1945.
This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising. Users must use the "Login through your library or institution" link on the database's homepage to select their region and institution for access.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Citations to journal articles, books, and conferences. Coverage: 1924-present.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyisms rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
This resource presents a multi-national journey through well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveler between 1850 and the 1980s. Guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals provide unique insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world. Includes materials by Cunard White State Line, Pullman Company, American Hotel Association, and others.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. Primary sources cover 19th to the early 21st centuries.
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
This resource offers literary scholars the opportunity to examine manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Alongside original compositions are copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. The whole collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays.
The Stationers Company (London, est. 1403) Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars. Includes trade, membership, administrative, and court records.
The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers collection traces the history of Ukraine during its early period of independence after the collapse of the Soviet Union, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005). Comprising over 900 titles, this database includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. This hyperlocal coverage provides researchers with granular insight into regional and ethnic interests, concerns, and conflicts that are still relevant today. Many of the titles are in Ukrainian and Russian; this collection also includes ethnic newspapers in languages such as: Armenian, Crimean Tatar, German, Hebrew, Hungarian, Polish, and more. A limited number of contemporaneous Ukrainian community publications from other territories are also included.
A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
This digital collection casts new light on Britain's relationship with the EEC, Anglo-American ties, the Cold War, Decolonisation, and issues of Public and Political Morality. Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillans government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees.
Economic and business activity in the West, including agriculture, commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transportation. Fully searchable. From the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Coverage: 1450-1945.
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries. Includes primary sources from 1850-1949.
Only five major letter collections exist from fifteenth century England and they are all available online for the first time in this digital resource - the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh Papers. Coverage: 1400-1490
An extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. A collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
This collection provides an unprecedented primary source from France in which the cultural representations of layers of the French elite and academics can be explored over more than one hundred and thirty-five years in which the modern European world was truly born. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1672-1810.
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids.
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major international magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. It also includes publications by the United Nations, UNESCO, and European community. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015
Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Contains over 500 U.S. newspapers (ex. USA Today, Washington Post) and 700 international newspapers (ex. Toronto Star, Manila Times). Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.
These files from the National Archives of the United Kingdom allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixons handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administrations notable achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation.
Otzar HaHochma is the world's largest digital library, containing more than 110,564 Judaic books, scanned page after page in their original format.
The variety of topics in Otzar HaHochma embraces all Jewish fields, including:
Bible and its Commentaries.
Tannaitic literature including Mishnah, Tosefta, Midrash Halakhah and Aggadah as well as their Commentaries.
Talmudic literature from both Babylonian and Jerusalem Talmuds and their Commentaries, as well as Geonic works.
Halakhah and Customs from the Rishonim and Acharonim, as well as Responsa Literature.
Jewish Philosophy from medieval times to the modern period.
Kabbalah and Hasidism including liturgical writings, sermons.
Modern scholarship in Jewish history, Hebrew linguistics, Jewish psychology, family studies, information science, etc.
Torah compilations, memorial volumes, prayer books, and much more.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period.
The new OCD is a continuously updated and ever-expanding resource that will ensure scholarship remains current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives. New and revised articles written by leading international authors will appear on a rolling basis.
The Papers of Neville Chamberlain contain political papers documenting his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, but also highlight his personal correspondence with his family. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1869-1940.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. Their goal was to identify and describe all manner of writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama in Early Modern Britain.
This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.
Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.
Most items in this collection were dropped by the Allies over German occupied territory, many printed in more than 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1939-1945.
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.
A unique collection of primary source material for the study of music and musical life. Combines access to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full Text). Coverage: 1760-1966.
The Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) collection provides same-day full-text access to more than 60 of the most influential daily and weekly Russian publications on current affairs, including news magazines. Archives dating back to 1980 can be found online in this exclusive collection. Current official sources such as Rossiiskaia gazeta, independent media and partisan publications, and several English-language newspapers such as The Moscow Times are included. Many titles have been manually scanned and digitized in-house and are available exclusively through East View. All content is legally secured by our long-term and established contracts with the publishers and suppliers of source material, guaranteed. Through our exclusive agreements, a number of the publications found on East Views site appear before the print version is available. The content is 100% complete and unabridged in full text, with every table, graph and chart included as images.
This collection reproduces important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20.
The Russian Government Publications (UDB-GOV) collection monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts as well as auxiliary information such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The collection includes Biulleten Schetnoi palaty, published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma, and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma (The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee), responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions and decisions of the Constitutional Court are also available as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo. Coverage stops in 2023.
SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries and Assets in Neutral Countries
View description
An effort by the Allies to prevent Germany from having the assets to start another war. Reports and letters, cables, and military attach reports referring to specific SAFEHAVEN-related topics. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1944-1945.
The looks at gender and sexuality in the centuries leading up to, and inclusive of, the period covered in Parts I and II of LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, providing context to the materials in those collections. It examines topics such as patterns of fertility and sexual practice; prostitution; religion and sexuality; the medical and legal construction of sexualities; and the rise of sexology. It not only offers a reflection of the cultural and social attitudes of the past, but also a window into how sexuality and gender roles were viewed and changed over time.
Slave Trade in the Atlantic World charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise as perpetuated on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, placing particular emphasis on the Caribbean, Latin America, and United States. This collection was developed by an international editorial board with scholars specializing in North American, European, African, and Latin American/Caribbean aspects of the slave trade. Includes customs records, court cases, shipping records, manuscripts, personal papers, letters, trade records, and other materials.
The Sovetskii Ekran (Советский экран, Soviet Screen) Digital Archive offers a unique window into the history of Soviet cinema, capturing the essence of a journal that was pivotal from 1925 to 1998. Sovetskii Ekran, more than just a film journal, was a cultural barometer of its times, chronicling the evolution of Soviet film against the backdrop of significant societal and political changes. Its pages, filled with film critiques, interviews, and reader polls, offer a comprehensive view of the cinematic landscape and its influence on Soviet culture.
The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine during the early 20th Century leading up to World War II —covering the Ukrainian War of Independence, the Holodomor, and other events leading up to WWII. Comprising over 50,000 pages and five titles, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv. This collection includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian. Covers 1899 to 1939.
This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State . The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1961 on USSR, including Office of Strategic Services (OSS) files.
Early modern British and European history. English government, including social & economic affairs, law & order, religious policy, exploration, crown possessions & intelligence gathering, as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy. Includes English government documents, such as Privy Council Office records and letters of notable British political figures. Coverage: 1509-1714.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a special research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Users will be asked to create a user profile.
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.
Political affairs, Jews, refugee & relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. The collection consists of the State Departments records of the President's personal representative to Pope Pius XII. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1940-1950.
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist seances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures. Four sections include: "spiritualism, sensation and magic" ; "circuses, sideshows and freaks" ; "music Hall, theatre and popular entertainment" ; "moving pictures, optical entertainments and the advent of Cinema."
The complete run of Vogue Italia, one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue, from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Articles are in Italian, while some advertisements and images are in English.
Providing perspectives from both the Vichy government and the resistance movement, this unique collection constitutes the sum of the French press that actually reached Britain during the Occupation of 1940-44. It is the record of what was known by the British about the hearts and minds of the French people at the most dramatic period of their shared history.
The theological, legal, and social implications of witchcraft. Printed works, transcripts of trials, eyewitness accounts, court records, dissertations, etc. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German. There are also selected documents in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, and Dutch. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1500-1930.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through womens voices. Includes materials from women in the Asian Empires, European Empires, Ottoman and Post-Ottoman Empires, Native Women in North America, Settler Society in North America, South Africa, the United States, and Globally.
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918; Records of the British Foreign Office
View description
This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
View description
The political, economic, and social development of post-liberation Greece. Translations of speeches, memoranda, statistics, interviews, official reports, letters, transcripts of political meetings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1940-1949.
Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs and smaller expositions from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic. Covers the fairs from 1851 to 1967, including those in London (1851), Philadelphia (1876), Paris (1889), Chicago (1893), St. Louis (1904), San Francisco (1915), Chicago (1933-4), New York City (1939-40), and Montreal (1967). Also includes materials from smaller fairs, including the Buffalo Pan-American Exposition (1901) and Portland, Oregon, Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition (1905) and 2015 Milan Expo.
Research Assistance
Rick Mikulski
Instruction & Research Librarian