Legal sources, including law journals, U. S. Code, U. S. Statutes at Large, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Supreme Court opinions and reports, Congressional Record, classic law texts, foreign policy documents, presidential documents, treaties, Virginia court briefs, English law history, and much more. Coverage: Varies by title.
Government & Public Policy: International Relations
For the first time ever, nearly two decades of televisions most preeminent program are available online in one expansive streaming video resource. The 60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 collection from Alexander Street grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union: economics, history, politics, religion, and social and cultural issues. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications published in the US and Canada. Coverage: 1986-present.
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
View description
Political, military, social, and economic developments in Afghanistan. Special reports, interviews, court proceedings, statistics, etc. Also translations of foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports,etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1945-1963.
Africa Knowledge Project, known as AKP, promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora.
African Books Collective (ABC) is an African-owned mission-based distribution outlet for books published in Africa. The publishers include: scholarly and literary presses; childrens book publishers; research institutes; university presses; commercial presses large and small; NGOs; writer, academic, and activist organizations or collectives. The library currently has digital access to the pre-2020 backlist of titles, as well as the frontlists for 2020 and 2021, which amounts to over 1500 titles.
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents.
Age of Emancipation includes numerous rare documents related to emancipation in the United States, as well as Latin America and the Caribbean. This collection supports the study of many areas, including activities of the federal government in dealing with former slaves and the Freedmen's Bureau, views of political parties and post-war problems with the South, documents of the British and French government on the slave trade, reports from the West Indies and Africa, and other topics.
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 900 news and information items daily from over 140 African news organizations and their own reporters to an African and global public. They operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Abuja, Johannesburg, Nairobi and Washington DC.
Resources documenting the struggles for freedom in Southern Africa Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, and the two Congos. Nationalist publications, records of colonial governments, local newspapers, personal papers, UN documents, oral testimonies, speeches, correspondence, etc. Coverage: Early 20th century-present.
This is an essential resource for the study of the apartheid era in Southern Africa, sourced exclusively from The National Archives UK. It provides unparalleled analysis of South African politics, trade relations, international opinion and humanitarian dilemmas against a backdrop of waning colonialism and mounting world condemnation. The content spans 30 years, from the election of the National Party in 1948 through to 1980.
Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states. Additional value has been by the expansion from the original 562 National Archives records to over 17,000, thus substantially improving access to over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
This archive focuses on Argentina after the era of Juan Pern. In this period civilian administrations traded power, trying, with limited success, to deal with diminished economic growth and continued social and labor demands. The documents offer insight into various aspects of the Argentine economy. Examples include: the minister of public works discussing a program in "highways, railroads, and water transport" (June 1960); a report on the newly appointed undersecretary of mines requesting that the embassy's economic counselor have the U.S. government "examine the possibilities of procurement of tungsten" (June 1961); and a resolution by the National Cinematographic Institute requiring that all films exhibited in motion picture theaters feature Spanish subtitles "accompanied by written proof that the dialogue has been has been translated and subtitled in Argentina" (April 1962).
One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The Associated Press Images Collection contains millions of photos from 1826 to the present, that capture the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment. More than 3,500 photos are added daily.
The Atlantic is an American magazine that features articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science.
East, Southeast, and South Asia. Citations to Western-language journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Coverage: 1971-present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (formerly Royal Historical Society Bibliography)
View description
History of Britain, Ireland, and the British abroad from 55BC to the present. Citations to journal articles and books. Coverage: 1901-present.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
This archive focuses on Brazil in the early 1960s. Sample documents include a report from Recife on the cultivation and export of pineapples, "especially in the states of Pernambuco and Paraba," as "an increasing source of foreign exchange for the Northeast." A November 1962 memorandum details the issuance of 40 billion cruzeiros in new currency "to meet runs on commercial banks during the political crisis, gradually flowing back to the Bank of Brazil following the return of normal conditions." The collection covers the period following the resignation from the presidency of Janio Quadros in 1961 and the succession of Vice President Joao Goulart, whose years in office were marked by high inflation, economic stagnation, and the increasing influence of radical political elements. The armed forces, alarmed by these developments, staged a coup on March 31, 1964, during the administration of U.S. President Lyndon B. Johnson.
Offering comprehensive full-run coverage for popular periodicals, this growing resource will offer facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries, totaling almost five million pages.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society is packed with primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place in Britain during the Industrial Revolution. The archive is composed of a number of individual collections, drawn together from a variety of sources. The content selection rationale for British Politics and Society was to present materials that enable in-depth examination and analysis of the growing calls for political reform that were met with state resistance and marked a crisis of legitimacy for both the government and the reform movements themselves.
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Books and journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.
Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.
The China-Global South Project (CGSP), formerly known as The China Africa Project, is a non-profit independent multimedia organization dedicated to exploring every aspect of Chinas engagement with Africa. The project has a full-time team of editors and analysts in five countries in African and Asia working every day to produce daily news and analysis. The site producesa mix of editorial content that combines original material with carefully curated third-party information.
*Limited English Language Content* China Research Gateway presents the full spectrum of Chinese research, with exhaustive representation of STEM, social science, and humanities disciplines.
China is not only a rich subject for scholarly inquiry, but is one of the worlds most prolific sources of research across all disciplines. China Research Gateway presents an unparalleled breadth of sources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and many other content types.
The scale of Chinese scholarly output in areas such as Artificial Intelligence, materials science, medicine, transportation, climate science, cyber security, communications technology, and quantum computing is extraordinary and continues to grow. CRG presents a centralized means for discovery and access to this rich trove of research, specifically tailored to serve the needs of North American scholars and institutions.
From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
Published in October 2012 by Bloomsbury Publishing in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre, the Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchills personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.
International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.
This collection will provide a unique opportunity to read the recollections of many of the players in the Cold War. These transcripts of oral recollections will assist scholars in understanding the motivations for conflict and conciliation. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1950s-1990s.
The backfiles of over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies. This archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century to the 21st these publications encompass the key events in the empire's later phase and its post-independence legacies.
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia / the Soviet Union and the US, 1910-1963
View description
This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relates to commercial and trade relations beginning in the Tsarist Russia period and extending through Khrushchev period in Soviet history. It contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including materials on treaties, general conditions affecting trade, imports and exports, laws and regulations, customs administration, tariffs, and ports of entry activities.
A unique look at history through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor. Coverage: 1917-2013
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign and War Offices.
Complete runs of all British Government Confidential Print volumes relating to the nations of South and Central America.
Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East.
Explore documents covering a broad sweep of history from c1824-1961, taking in the USA, Canada, the Caribbean and Central America.
Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.
Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
View description
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics. Early records in the collection focus on events in Palestine, Britains policy toward Palestine, and how the situation in Palestine affected relations with other nations.
Crisis in the Dominican Republic: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Files, 1963-1966
View description
The Dominican Republic has experienced many setbacks on the road to democracy. Dominican political history has been defined by traditions of "personalism," militarism, and social and economic elitism which has undermined its efforts to establish liberal constitutional rule. This collection includes U.S. State Department, U.S. Embassy, and Dominican Republic governmental dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
Primary source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
View description
Documents the founding of the Third Republic, created as a result of a compromise between pre-war Czechoslovak Republic leaders and the Czech Communist Party (KSC). An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1945-1963.
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions from 1945 to the present.
Provides users with access to a wide range of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on throughout the twentieth century. Selected and edited by the official historians of the FCO, Documents on British Policy Overseas includes many documents specifically de-classified for inclusion in the series.
Political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany. Predominantly instructions to and dispatches from US diplomatic and consular personnel. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1950-1963.
East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIUs analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries.
One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
An online market research tool that monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all products across all key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.
World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.
More than 3,000 issues comprising the run of the renowned newsweekly, The Far Eastern Economic Review (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Following an initial emphasis on China and Hong Kong, the scope of the magazines coverage subsequently expanded to encompass other regions and countries, including Japan, India and Australia, as well as smaller Asian states.
Country risk, industry, and company intelligence on global markets. Proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Coverage: Current. Formerly Business Monitor International.
Foreign Affairs is an American magazine of international relations and U.S. foreign policy published by the Council on Foreign Relations, a nonprofit, nonpartisan, membership organization and think tank specializing in U.S. foreign policy and international affairs.
Featuring diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. Due to the unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted first-hand accounts provide unprecedented levels of detail into a turbulent period in Chinese history.
This is an outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions.
This collection provides significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
Explore the history of Southeast Asia from 1963-1980 through official government documents from The National Archives, UK. This collection offers an insight into the significant changes that took place in Southeast Asia during 1963-1980, including the creation of Malaysia and the response to this from the wider region.
The Middle East in the 1970s was characterised by its conflicts, with a cast of political figures whose influence can still be felt today. Providing an invaluable resource for researchers and students seeking to understand the modern Middle East, this collection contains complete runs of Foreign Office files, providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact.
Foreign Policy is an American news publication, founded in 1970 and focused on global affairs, current events, and domestic and international policy. It produces content daily on its website and app, and in four print issues annually. Users can access current articles as well as the online archive of past issues.
Political relations of states, including diplomatic and consular representation and bilateral treaties, conventions, and agreements. Documents from the US Department of State, originally microfilmed as "Records of the Department of State relating to Political Relations." An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1944.
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
View description
During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean changed dramatically. Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political subversion. This collection examines this new "Good Neighbor" policy that was adopted by the United States and its effects.
Gallup Analytics is a subscription-based platform that houses more than a decade of international public opinion data from more than 160 countries and areas and nearly a century of U.S. national data.
This collection comprises materials related to the planning and organization of the October 1991 Middle East Peace Conference in Madrid. It consists of correspondence, memoranda, cables, diplomatic dispatches, reports, studies, maps, and printed material which document all aspects of staging the conference as well as the conference itself. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1981-1993.
George H. W. Bush and Foreign Affairs: the Moscow Summit and the Dissolution of the USSR
View description
When George H. W. Bush became president in 1989 the United States had already begun to see a thawing of relations with the Soviet Union. President Bush spoke of softening relations in his inaugural address, claiming that "a new breeze is blowing," and adding that "great nations of the world are moving toward democracy through the door to freedom." This collection provides an in-depth analysis of the events leading up to the dissolution of the U.S.S.R. and its implications for U.S.-Soviet relations.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
This collection delivers the full story leading to the current global economic and financial crisis -- highlighting corporate finance, joint ventures and M&A, country profiles, capital markets, investor relations, currencies, banking, risk management, direct investment, money management and all the rest -- specifically tailored for faculty and students around the world. Included are over 320 papers and reports published by the Federal Reserve Board, Federal Reserve Banks, the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the U.S. General Accountability Office, Congressional Research Service, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and Office of Thrift Supervision, International Organization of Securities Commissions, and other bodies.
Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.
Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.
Legal sources, including law journals, U. S. Code, U. S. Statutes at Large, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Supreme Court opinions and reports, Congressional Record, classic law texts, foreign policy documents, presidential documents, treaties, Virginia court briefs, English law history, and much more. Coverage: Varies by title.
Terrorism, homeland security, policy, and organizational management. Congressional Research Service studies, GAO reports, presidential orders & directives, major legislation, congressional hearings, national strategy documents, etc. Coverage: Current.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
All areas of the social sciences. Computer-based research and instructional data. Allows online data analysis using the Survey Documentation and Analysis (SDA) system. Coverage: Current and historical. **Some functions of the ICPSR Web site, such as downloading and uploading data, require you to log in after creating a free account.**
All aspects of international and domestic finance. From the International Monetary Fund. Coverage: 1948-present. USERS MUST REGISTER AND SIGN IN TO DOWNLOAD DATA.
Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War. While these modules provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, these records also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. As such, the collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category are an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. In addition, U.S. diplomats and military officials often reported back on international reaction to events in the United States, thereby providing an international perspective on important developments in the United States. This category also now includes British Foreign Office Records on World War I and the creation of Israel from 1940-1948.
Spanning the presidential administrations of Ronald Reagan to Barack Obama, The International War on Drugs documents the United States Government's response to the global illicit drug trade. Studies, reports, and analyses compiled by governmental and military agencies demonstrate how the U.S. organized and waged a decades-long campaign against drugs. Documents in the collection include U.S. military analyses and recommendations for halting the illegal drug trade; strategy reports from the Department of State Bureau for International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs; and reports from the Congressional Research Service. Topics covered include terrorism and drug trafficking; money laundering and financial crimes; individual country reports and actions against drugs; U.S. policy initiatives and programs; U.S. bilateral and regional counterdrug initiatives.
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (????????, News) was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles. Continuously published for over 100 years, Izvestiias prominence endures today as one of the most subscribed news sources of contemporary Russia, covering domestic and foreign policy, commentary, culture, education, and finance.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
View description
International politics, history, intellectual trends, and economics. Special reports, interviews, statistics, court proceedings, letters, translations of documents, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1949.
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations, 1930-1939
View description
This archive charts a key decade in U.S.-Japanese relations. It is is one of three digital collections based on the microfilm title Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to United States Political Relations with Japan, 1930-1954. The source material contains Decimal File 711.94. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1939.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
The data is provided in a format which is digestible in any GIS software that allows the user to import ESRI GRID-formatted data. The WMS and WCS are links to the data hosted on East View Geospatial's servers for organization-wide access and can be used with most current GIS software. Coverage: 2000-2020.
The Latin America & Iberia Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Latin American countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, and also Spain and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, anthropology, law, and humanities.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyisms rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world. Articles from international scholarly law journals. Coverage: Varies by title.
Legal Source is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, and others involved with the law. Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world. The collection includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.
This digital collection casts new light on Britain's relationship with the EEC, Anglo-American ties, the Cold War, Decolonisation, and issues of Public and Political Morality. Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillans government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title.
Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and NYT apps. Also includes New York Times' archives for articles outside the 1923-1980 date range. Must be logged in to your NYTimes.com account. Sign up for a free account by going to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ (search for: William & Mary).
Provides full text searchable archives for the New Yorker journal. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists and statesmen. Coverage: 1925-present. Two simultaneous users.
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major international magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. It also includes publications by the United Nations, UNESCO, and European community. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015
Formerly, AP NewsMonitor Collection.Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. End users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua. An Archives Unbound database, scanned from National Archives Department of State records. Coverage: 1910-1933.
These files from the National Archives of the United Kingdom allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixons handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administrations notable achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation.
The North China Daily News(in Chinese: Zilin Xibao), was an English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time. Spanning the period 1923-1941 this is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China, and with that the history of Shanghai, a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture and the economy, and thus the hub of all Euro-American activity.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African and African American Studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
The International Law bibliography provides authoritative guidance to the complex system of rules and principles meant to govern relations between states, to international organizations like the United Nations, and to international relations and diplomacy.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on international relations across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and historiographic essays on Latin American studies across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and historiographic essays on military history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on political science across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.
Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including International Journal of Peace Studies, International Journal on World Peace, and Conflict Management & Peace Science. Coverage from 1964.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the worlds leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. The database provides users access to a variety of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations covering disciplines such as agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, and librarianship, among others.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
POLITICO Pro is considered the essential policy information tool. It offers real-time, customizable news & analysis on developments in policy, access to over 100 policy expert reporters and a data-driven graphics/presentation tool.
Questions and responses from public opinion polls conducted in the US and other countries. Coverage: 1986-present.
Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.
Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1952, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.
Social sciences. Data from public opinion polls (mostly American, but some international) conducted by leading survey organizations. Contains the searchable iPOLL Databank. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
The Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) collection provides same-day full-text access to more than 60 of the most influential daily and weekly Russian publications on current affairs, including news magazines. Archives dating back to 1980 can be found online in this exclusive collection. Current official sources such as Rossiiskaia gazeta, independent media and partisan publications, and several English-language newspapers such as The Moscow Times are included. Many titles have been manually scanned and digitized in-house and are available exclusively through East View. All content is legally secured by our long-term and established contracts with the publishers and suppliers of source material, guaranteed. Through our exclusive agreements, a number of the publications found on East Views site appear before the print version is available. The content is 100% complete and unabridged in full text, with every table, graph and chart included as images.
The Russian Government Publications (UDB-GOV) collection monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts as well as auxiliary information such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The collection includes Biulleten Schetnoi palaty, published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma, and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma (The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee), responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions and decisions of the Constitutional Court are also available as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo. Coverage stops in 2023.
The Russian Regional Newspapers (UDB-REG) collection provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russias regions. The collection currently includes newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and as well as newspapers focusing on local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The collection represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil and gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered the most authoritative. Coverage begins in 1997 and ends in 2023.
The Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) collection provides unparalleled access to important statistical data from 1995 to present. Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, the collection contains data from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Developed in cooperation with leading statistical authorities, UDB-STAT-RUS contains official reports, yearbooks, monthly reports, special bulletins and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Coverage includes major economic indicators, industry, agriculture, economy and finance, population, environment, transportation, health, natural resources, and regional/urban statistics. Coverage ends in 2023.
Sage Data is a large repository of harmonized and structured data in which users can search, compare, visualize and analyze data all on one platform. It provides access to 550+ U.S and International databases through one central searchable platform. Datasets cover a wide range of topics, including: business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more.
SAGE Stats provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Find the hard-to-locate data points you need to support your research. Visualize and compare thousands of normalized data sets to create new and interesting research avenues. Export data for greater analysis or combine with your own data to create new insights
Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 75,000 data variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to use, but this has been designed to be incredibly user friendly - most users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training. Access includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, County and ZIP Code Business Patterns Survey and the Consumer Expenditure Data (CEX) and the Claritas PRIZM data module.
The backfiles of more than 25 periodicals reflecting the 20th/21st–century history of a variety of movements and ideologies on the political left. These titles include Marxist, socialist, communist, social democratic, and Fabianist publications, addressing key topics and events such as labour history / workers' rights, international socialism, anti-Nazi movements, Red Scares, class struggles, campaigns / legislation, and youth radicalism.
This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State . The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1961 on USSR, including Office of Strategic Services (OSS) files.
Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.
See also ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States. Published annually by the federal government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world.
The student demonstrations and their aftermath, including crackdowns on Chinese civil rights. Public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, dating from 1715 through to today. Also, ProQuest has partnered with the National Library of Scotland to create the very first digitised collection of 19th Century House of Lords Parliamentary Papers, providing online access to previously unseen and valuable historical documents.
Provides online access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from 1900 to within the current decade. The types of declassified documents include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Coverage: 1900-2008.
Presents statistics of overall industrial growth, detailed data on business structure and statistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in the historical time series.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. Sponsoring colleges and universities gain access to the full database of over 1,000,000 news abstracts and catalog records covering news from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and Fox. The Sponsorship also provides online access to thousands of hours of NBC and CNN news broadcasts. Students, faculty and staff associated with sponsoring colleges and universities are able to view the Archive's collection of NBC material, ranging from August 5, 1968 to the present and CNN broadcasts beginning in 1995. Current material is not available until at least 72 hours after the original broadcast.
Documents in this collection illustrate Cold War contexts, the role of the United States in Venezuela's foreign affairs, and the centrality of oil in the Venezuelan economy. Examples include a U.S. Department of State telegram titled "Communist Subversion in Venezuela," which details "three foreign Communists" being held on "charges of conspiring to overthrow the government, illegally purchasing arms and disseminating Red propaganda..." Illustrations of the Castro-Communist insurgency in Venezuela include a letter from Ambassador Stewart C. Allen to the Secretary of State that details a detachment of Marines being sent "[to] guard Maracaibo Lake installations and security installations elsewhere being strengthened. "Meanwhile arrest extremist labor leaders continuing in oil fields on direct instructions [to] State Governors from President" (October 1962). Other documents detail a range of issues, such as: clarification of Venezuelan boundaries; multiple balance sheets for the Central Bank of Venezuela; and police corruption in Zulia, one of Venezuela's twenty-three states.
Unlimited access to WSJ.com, mobile, and tablet apps. Focuses on personalized, current, mobile and credible news. Print edition available in EReader format. Coverage includes four-year archive. Use the link above to activate your free account. You need only do this one time. This will provide direct access to wsj.com.
Wall Street Journal as it appears on microfilm (full-page images with a page-by-page browsing format). Updated monthly. Coverage: 2008-3 months ago
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1889-2002.
Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com web site on any device and to all Washington Post apps. Must be logged in to your WashingtonPost.com account: 1. Register for a free account with your W&M email address at the registration link above. 2. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner. 3. Click "Account Settings". 4. Make sure your email is verified; if not, click "unverified" to be sent a verification email. 5. Click the "My Subscription" tab. 5. Click "Activate free digital access".
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1877-2004.
EBSCO's News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. These feeds are monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes over 5,000 feeds across a range of business and general news topics.
Women's studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Journal and newspaper articles, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents, and grey literature. Coverage: 1972-present.
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates from 1960, where data are available. Coverage: 1960-present.
Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918; Records of the British Foreign Office
View description
This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government.
World War II, Occupation, and the Civil War in Greece, 1940-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
View description
The political, economic, and social development of post-liberation Greece. Translations of speeches, memoranda, statistics, interviews, official reports, letters, transcripts of political meetings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1940-1949.
Research Assistance
Mary Oberlies
Instruction & Data Services Librarian