Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Government & Public Policy: Public Policy
For the first time ever, nearly two decades of televisions most preeminent program are available online in one expansive streaming video resource. The 60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 collection from Alexander Street grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Africa Knowledge Project, known as AKP, promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora.
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents.
Age of Emancipation includes numerous rare documents related to emancipation in the United States, as well as Latin America and the Caribbean. This collection supports the study of many areas, including activities of the federal government in dealing with former slaves and the Freedmen's Bureau, views of political parties and post-war problems with the South, documents of the British and French government on the slave trade, reports from the West Indies and Africa, and other topics.
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 900 news and information items daily from over 140 African news organizations and their own reporters to an African and global public. They operate from Cape Town, Dakar, Abuja, Johannesburg, Nairobi and Washington DC.
American Prison Newspapers is bringing together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Also includes "Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century," though the majority of the database's coverage is 1940s-1980s.
The Atlantic is an American magazine that features articles in the fields of politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science.
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources.
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other fugitive material.
Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation
View description
The legal and politcal controversies that followed the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Several White House documentary collections, including memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, draft legislation, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Journal articles, books, market research reports, financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, etc. Coverage: Varies by title.
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Books and journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.
The China-Global South Project (CGSP), formerly known as The China Africa Project, is a non-profit independent multimedia organization dedicated to exploring every aspect of Chinas engagement with Africa. The project has a full-time team of editors and analysts in five countries in African and Asia working every day to produce daily news and analysis. The site producesa mix of editorial content that combines original material with carefully curated third-party information.
*Limited English Language Content* China Research Gateway presents the full spectrum of Chinese research, with exhaustive representation of STEM, social science, and humanities disciplines.
China is not only a rich subject for scholarly inquiry, but is one of the worlds most prolific sources of research across all disciplines. China Research Gateway presents an unparalleled breadth of sources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and many other content types.
The scale of Chinese scholarly output in areas such as Artificial Intelligence, materials science, medicine, transportation, climate science, cyber security, communications technology, and quantum computing is extraordinary and continues to grow. CRG presents a centralized means for discovery and access to this rich trove of research, specifically tailored to serve the needs of North American scholars and institutions.
International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.
Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy
View description
The enactment and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments and other environmental issues. News clippings, articles and editorials, speeches, studies and research reports, memoranda, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.
Annual coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress. In-depth reviews and analyses. Coverage: 1945-2012.
US Congress and its issues. Summaries and analyses, previous week's news, status of bills in play, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes as well as in depth reports on issues facing Congress. Coverage: 1983-2016.
CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. It includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, Politics in America, State Stats, and Voting and Elections.
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.
Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.
D&B Hoovers delivers insightful information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets. Search by Company Name, Executives, Industry or by using Conceptual Search and Business Signals. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Android devices not supported.
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Correspondence, field studies, reports, scientific data, photographs, and maps that document the career of Pope A. Lawrence, an environmental health scientist. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1924-1983.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions from 1945 to the present.
ProQuest's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materialswithin this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research.
Abstracts, indexing, and full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIUs analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries.
One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, etc. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.
An online market research tool that monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all products across all key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.
World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.
More than 3,000 issues comprising the run of the renowned newsweekly, The Far Eastern Economic Review (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Following an initial emphasis on China and Hong Kong, the scope of the magazines coverage subsequently expanded to encompass other regions and countries, including Japan, India and Australia, as well as smaller Asian states.
The civil rights and anti-war movements, communism, Black-nationalist and white-supremacist hate groups, the Socialist Workers Party, and American radicalism. Documents from the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1956-1971.
Real and perceived African American radicalism in the 20th century, including the federal scrutiny, harassment, and prosecution to which African Americans of all political persuasions were subjected. From the files of the FBI. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1920-1984.
Country risk, industry, and company intelligence on global markets. Proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 22 industry sectors. Coverage: Current. Formerly Business Monitor International.
A division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED researches and provides access to information related to "money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics."
Gallup Analytics is a subscription-based platform that houses more than a decade of international public opinion data from more than 160 countries and areas and nearly a century of U.S. national data.
This collection delivers the full story leading to the current global economic and financial crisis -- highlighting corporate finance, joint ventures and M&A, country profiles, capital markets, investor relations, currencies, banking, risk management, direct investment, money management and all the rest -- specifically tailored for faculty and students around the world. Included are over 320 papers and reports published by the Federal Reserve Board, Federal Reserve Banks, the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the U.S. General Accountability Office, Congressional Research Service, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency and Office of Thrift Supervision, International Organization of Securities Commissions, and other bodies.
ProQuest Government Periodicals Index provides indexing and links to full text articles from over 300 of the most important periodicals published by agencies and departments of the United States Federal government. Coverage: 1988-Present.
Human impact on the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Citations to scholarly and general interest journal articles, government documents, and reports. Coverage: 1913-present.
Legal sources, including law journals, U. S. Code, U. S. Statutes at Large, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Supreme Court opinions and reports, Congressional Record, classic law texts, foreign policy documents, presidential documents, treaties, Virginia court briefs, English law history, and much more. Coverage: Varies by title.
Quantitative data for all aspects of American history. Electronic version of Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition (Cambridge UP, 2006). Coverage: 1790-1996.
Terrorism, homeland security, policy, and organizational management. Congressional Research Service studies, GAO reports, presidential orders & directives, major legislation, congressional hearings, national strategy documents, etc. Coverage: Current.
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
The United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
All areas of the social sciences. Computer-based research and instructional data. Allows online data analysis using the Survey Documentation and Analysis (SDA) system. Coverage: Current and historical. **Some functions of the ICPSR Web site, such as downloading and uploading data, require you to log in after creating a free account.**
Collection of briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1983-1994.
A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
For over the past 200 years, the burning of fossil fuels, such as coal and oil, and deforestation, have caused the concentrations of heat-trapping "greenhouse gases" to increase significantly in our atmosphere. In this collection documents (1991-2009) the U.S. response to the threat posed by climatic change and global warming. The research behind the studies, reports, and analyses represents an exhaustive review of the facts, causes, and economic and political implications of a phenomenon that threatens every region of the world.
All aspects of international and domestic finance. From the International Monetary Fund. Coverage: 1948-present. USERS MUST REGISTER AND SIGN IN TO DOWNLOAD DATA.
Spanning the presidential administrations of Ronald Reagan to Barack Obama, The International War on Drugs documents the United States Government's response to the global illicit drug trade. Studies, reports, and analyses compiled by governmental and military agencies demonstrate how the U.S. organized and waged a decades-long campaign against drugs. Documents in the collection include U.S. military analyses and recommendations for halting the illegal drug trade; strategy reports from the Department of State Bureau for International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs; and reports from the Congressional Research Service. Topics covered include terrorism and drug trafficking; money laundering and financial crimes; individual country reports and actions against drugs; U.S. policy initiatives and programs; U.S. bilateral and regional counterdrug initiatives.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
The data is provided in a format which is digestible in any GIS software that allows the user to import ESRI GRID-formatted data. The WMS and WCS are links to the data hosted on East View Geospatial's servers for organization-wide access and can be used with most current GIS software. Coverage: 2000-2020.
The Latin America & Iberia Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Latin American countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, and also Spain and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, anthropology, law, and humanities.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyisms rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world. Articles from international scholarly law journals. Coverage: Varies by title.
Legal Source is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, and others involved with the law. Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world. The collection includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.
Black nationalism and pan-Africanism. FBI documents, correspondence, ephemera, reports, memoranda, transcriptions, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1970-1985.
Part of the Global Issues Library, this curated database provides a rare breadth of study for students to investigate both crucial global trends in mass incarceration, and the detailed prison infrastructure of specific countries.
Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Citations to journal articles, from the US National Library of Medicine. See also PubMed. Vendor: Proquest. Coverage: 1940-present.
Mergent Archives is an online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Containing more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries, Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy to navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Business and financial research. Includes US and international company data and archives, US and international annual reports, fact sheets, insider trades, and industry reports (North America, Asia/Pacific and Europe). Includes Mergent Horizon and Company Analytics. Coverage: Current.
Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy.
Results of National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) research in preliminary form before final publication. Coverage: 1973-present.
Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and NYT apps. Also includes New York Times' archives for articles outside the 1923-1980 date range. Must be logged in to your NYTimes.com account. Sign up for a free account by going to https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ (search for: William & Mary).
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major international magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. It also includes publications by the United Nations, UNESCO, and European community. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015
Formerly, AP NewsMonitor Collection.Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. End users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of crime as a social phenomenon. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on political science across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.
Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the worlds leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs. The database provides users access to a variety of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations covering disciplines such as agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, and librarianship, among others.
PolicyMap is a data and mapping tool with access to tens of thousands of indicators from hundreds of authoritative sources on topics such as demographics, incomes & spending, housing, quality of life, economy, education, and health. Users can create maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in visualization tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload their own data for comparisons.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
POLITICO Pro is considered the essential policy information tool. It offers real-time, customizable news & analysis on developments in policy, access to over 100 policy expert reporters and a data-driven graphics/presentation tool.
Questions and responses from public opinion polls conducted in the US and other countries. Coverage: 1986-present.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage: 1960 - current
Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1952, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration. Full archive of this index digitized, bringing coverage back to 1974.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Departments staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Social sciences. Data from public opinion polls (mostly American, but some international) conducted by leading survey organizations. Contains the searchable iPOLL Databank. (Requires campus authentication.) Coverage: 1935-present.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
The Russian Government Publications (UDB-GOV) collection monitors mainly the events in the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. It includes stenographic records of the hearings of both its houses, the Duma and Federation Council, and provides vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts as well as auxiliary information such as the schedule and agenda of legislative work. The collection includes Biulleten Schetnoi palaty, published by the State Audit Chamber subordinate to the Duma, and the Vestnik Tsentrizbirkoma (The Herald of the Central Electoral Committee), responsible for all types of elections in Russia. Texts of laws, presidential decrees, government resolutions and decisions of the Constitutional Court are also available as well as comments on current Russian legislation published by popular legal journals Zakon and Gosudarstvo i pravo. Coverage stops in 2023.
The Russian Regional Newspapers (UDB-REG) collection provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russias regions. The collection currently includes newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and as well as newspapers focusing on local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The collection represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil and gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered the most authoritative. Coverage begins in 1997 and ends in 2023.
The Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) collection provides unparalleled access to important statistical data from 1995 to present. Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, the collection contains data from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Developed in cooperation with leading statistical authorities, UDB-STAT-RUS contains official reports, yearbooks, monthly reports, special bulletins and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Coverage includes major economic indicators, industry, agriculture, economy and finance, population, environment, transportation, health, natural resources, and regional/urban statistics. Coverage ends in 2023.
SAGE Business Cases is a robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 3,650 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Sage Data is a large repository of harmonized and structured data in which users can search, compare, visualize and analyze data all on one platform. It provides access to 550+ U.S and International databases through one central searchable platform. Datasets cover a wide range of topics, including: business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more.
SAGE Stats provides extensive social science data covering geographies within the United States and spans topics such as healthcare, crime, education, employment, religion, and government finances. Find the hard-to-locate data points you need to support your research. Visualize and compare thousands of normalized data sets to create new and interesting research avenues. Export data for greater analysis or combine with your own data to create new insights
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing over 75,000 data variables. Professional mapping applications take over 20 hours of training to use, but this has been designed to be incredibly user friendly - most users are up and running with less than 10 minutes of training. Access includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the American Community Survey, Decennial Census, County and ZIP Code Business Patterns Survey and the Consumer Expenditure Data (CEX) and the Claritas PRIZM data module.
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer is designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information from 1790 to the present.
Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.
See also ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States. Published annually by the federal government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps the world.
Provides online access to a broad range of previously classified federal records from 1900 to within the current decade. The types of declassified documents include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. Coverage: 1900-2008.
Presents statistics of overall industrial growth, detailed data on business structure and statistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in the historical time series.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Unlimited access to WSJ.com, mobile, and tablet apps. Focuses on personalized, current, mobile and credible news. Print edition available in EReader format. Coverage includes four-year archive. Use the link above to activate your free account. You need only do this one time. This will provide direct access to wsj.com.
Wall Street Journal as it appears on microfilm (full-page images with a page-by-page browsing format). Updated monthly. Coverage: 2008-3 months ago
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1889-2002.
Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com web site on any device and to all Washington Post apps. Must be logged in to your WashingtonPost.com account: 1. Register for a free account with your W&M email address at the registration link above. 2. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner. 3. Click "Account Settings". 4. Make sure your email is verified; if not, click "unverified" to be sent a verification email. 5. Click the "My Subscription" tab. 5. Click "Activate free digital access".
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1877-2004.
EBSCO's News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. These feeds are monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes over 5,000 feeds across a range of business and general news topics.
The progression of womens rights through documents presented to President Ford from The Special Assistant to the President for Women. Meeting minutes, briefing papers, correspondence, talking points, speeches, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1974-1977.
Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights--woman suffrage, fair pay, and better working conditions grew in the United States and England. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1786-1933.
Women's studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business, and education. Journal and newspaper articles, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents, and grey literature. Coverage: 1972-present.
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators. Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional, and global estimates from 1960, where data are available. Coverage: 1960-present.
Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.
Research Assistance
Mary Oberlies
Instruction & Data Services Librarian