Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
Modern Languages
Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
ARTFL-FRANTEXT is the main database with over 3500 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 12th to the 20th century.
"Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search for Library" from the Asahi Shimbun Company is an online article database of Japanese language materials that permits easy investigation of past events, and is available in many universities and libraries both in and outside Japan. It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 16 million articles and advertisements from more than 140 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements.
Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Books and journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.
Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.
The China-Global South Project (CGSP), formerly known as The China Africa Project, is a non-profit independent multimedia organization dedicated to exploring every aspect of Chinas engagement with Africa. The project has a full-time team of editors and analysts in five countries in African and Asia working every day to produce daily news and analysis. The site producesa mix of editorial content that combines original material with carefully curated third-party information.
*Limited English Language Content* China Research Gateway presents the full spectrum of Chinese research, with exhaustive representation of STEM, social science, and humanities disciplines.
China is not only a rich subject for scholarly inquiry, but is one of the worlds most prolific sources of research across all disciplines. China Research Gateway presents an unparalleled breadth of sources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and many other content types.
The scale of Chinese scholarly output in areas such as Artificial Intelligence, materials science, medicine, transportation, climate science, cyber security, communications technology, and quantum computing is extraordinary and continues to grow. CRG presents a centralized means for discovery and access to this rich trove of research, specifically tailored to serve the needs of North American scholars and institutions.
Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953
Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.
Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Primary source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Early European Books includes digitized books from major European libraries including the National Library of France, the National Library of Florence, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library, London, and the Royal Library, Denmark. EEB provides digital access to continental printed texts before 1701 with full-color, high-resolution images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts, providing information about the physical characteristics and provenance histories of the original artefact. There are over 53,000 books included, in languages including French, German, Italian, Hebrew, Dutch, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Icelandic, Swedish, and Danish. Collections 1-19.
The German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II. Statistical data from three official German publications. In German and English. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1944.
This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands. Documents include requests for economic aid; guarantees to people for jobs and food; complaints of abuses; reports, promotions, and notifications to the troops and brigades, as well as information on pay. The documentation also includes acts or proceedings on revolutionary and civil trials; correspondence with municipal or State authorities in connection with problems of land, water, control of finance, trade, etc.; and, information concerning the revolutionary Convention sovereign.
Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**
A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa from Algeria to Madagascar
View description
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1910-1930.
This Corvey Collection contains over 2 million printed pages of English-language works, many of them comprising multiple volumes. It thus constitutes one of the most important collections of British Romantic-era writing in existence anywhere. The extent of its scholarly significance is indicated by the considerable number of exceedingly rare publicationsand even numerous previously unknown worksby British writers (and women writers in particular, whose works comprise over 1,000 of the titles) who were active during the Romantic period. In addition to the English-language literary texts, the Corvey Collection of European Literature also includes 3,658 works in French (including more than 500 by women) and 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 17901840.
World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.
Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.
Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.
Allows a user to search across all Gale historical digital collections that the library owns or subscribes to: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection -- 19th Century British Newspapers -- Eighteenth Century Collections Online -- Indigenous Peoples: North America -- Nineteenth Century Collections Online -- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers -- Picture Post Historical Archive -- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 -- The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 -- The Making of the Modern World -- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 -- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2012.
Sources from the nineteenth and twentieth century on Mexican women's history. This database of photo albums, periodicals, and literary texts gathers historical, political, social, and cultural information regarding the role of women in Mexico since the country's independence.
Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.
Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.
Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.
This collection offers a comprehensive survey of the original writings of the French Huguenot authors, from the first stirrings of radical dissent in the 1530s through to the end of the century. The selection privileges first and foremost original writings of authors writing within France and for an exclusively French audience: among them Antoine de la Roche Chandieu, Jean de lEspine and Philippes du Plessis Mornay. These three gifted authors offered an eclectic mixture of theology, consolation literature and political and religious polemic. Of special interest are the anonymous works that set the tone as the Huguenot movement emerged as an autonomous force during the early part of the 1560s.
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
IPA Source was developed to assist singers and teachers in the intelligent and well informed performance of vocal literature. What started as a support site for students in a university diction class in 2003, has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in order for the singer to imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (????????, News) was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles. Continuously published for over 100 years, Izvestiias prominence endures today as one of the most subscribed news sources of contemporary Russia, covering domestic and foreign policy, commentary, culture, education, and finance.
The concerns and challenges of interned Japanese Americans during World War II. Bulletins and newspapers. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1942-1945.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Also known as Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance. Collection of electronic books in Arabic. Contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises written by Arab authors of all genres. Coverage: Varies by title.
**William & Mary currently has access to a limited selection of films on Kanopy. If a film is not currently accessible, you can fill out a request form on Kanopy's site and the library will review and attempt to accommodate if possible.**
Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. *All films have public performance rights.*
The Latin America & Iberia Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Latin American countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, and also Spain and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, anthropology, law, and humanities.
America Latina en Video / Amrica Latina em Vdeo / Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collections materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.
Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.
Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.
The first classical music webTV, offering a catalogue of over 1,000 concerts, operas, ballets and documentaries in VOD, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
Neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, hematology, etc. Journal articles in Spanish from Latin American and Spanish publishers. Coverage: Varies by title.
An extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. A collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
This collection provides an unprecedented primary source from France in which the cultural representations of layers of the French elite and academics can be explored over more than one hundred and thirty-five years in which the modern European world was truly born. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1672-1810.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart is a general encyclopedia of music. It offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
MLA Handbook Plus is a new, subscription-based digital product providing online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
The Montreal Gazette is a Canadian newspaper with coverage of the politics, society and events in the Montreal region of the Quebec province, Canada.
Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.
This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.
Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Contains over 500 U.S. newspapers (ex. USA Today, Washington Post) and 700 international newspapers (ex. Toronto Star, Manila Times). Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of Alexander Street's editorial board.
This is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and historiographic essays on Latin American studies across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Designed by and for Spanish teachers in Spain and Latin America, Platino Educa USA has adapted the innovative online teaching tool to enhance Spanish language classrooms in the US. Platino Educa's online platform offers unlimited access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice.
Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.
Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Most items in this collection were dropped by the Allies over German occupied territory, many printed in more than 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1939-1945.
Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.
A unique collection of primary source material for the study of music and musical life. Combines access to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full Text). Coverage: 1760-1966.
This digital resource offers unparalleled access to the single largest collection of working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers anywhere in the world. With access to the annotated full manuscripts of such notable works as The Prelude and Michael, or Samuel Taylor Coleridges Dejection: An Ode this project is unrivalled in its content and scope.
The Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) collection provides same-day full-text access to more than 60 of the most influential daily and weekly Russian publications on current affairs, including news magazines. Archives dating back to 1980 can be found online in this exclusive collection. Current official sources such as Rossiiskaia gazeta, independent media and partisan publications, and several English-language newspapers such as The Moscow Times are included. Many titles have been manually scanned and digitized in-house and are available exclusively through East View. All content is legally secured by our long-term and established contracts with the publishers and suppliers of source material, guaranteed. Through our exclusive agreements, a number of the publications found on East Views site appear before the print version is available. The content is 100% complete and unabridged in full text, with every table, graph and chart included as images.
The Russian Regional Newspapers (UDB-REG) collection provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russias regions. The collection currently includes newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and as well as newspapers focusing on local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The collection represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil and gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered the most authoritative. Coverage begins in 1997 and ends in 2023.
The Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) collection provides unparalleled access to important statistical data from 1995 to present. Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, the collection contains data from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Developed in cooperation with leading statistical authorities, UDB-STAT-RUS contains official reports, yearbooks, monthly reports, special bulletins and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Coverage includes major economic indicators, industry, agriculture, economy and finance, population, environment, transportation, health, natural resources, and regional/urban statistics. Coverage ends in 2023.
All aspects of consumer health and wellness. Evidence-based reports and fact sheets. Consumer Health Complete database, in Spanish. Coverage: Current.
This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeares plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
In the summer of 2012, as part of the London Olympic Games' Cultural Olympiad and the World Shakespeare Festival, Shakespeare's Globe hosted the hugely successful Globe to Globe Festival. This unprecedented six-week event saw companies from across the world perform at Shakespeare's Globe in over 30 different languages. Now you can watch 10 of these performances on Drama Online. The Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 collection will support all courses in Shakespeare's plays, and especially those exploring: global performance; intercultural production, interpretation and reception; and themes such as gender across global cultures. All films will have audio in their original language alongside fully translated English subtitles.
World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, oral histories, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Business, including accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, and technology. In French. Coverage: 1971-present.
The complete run of Vogue Italia, one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue, from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Articles are in Italian, while some advertisements and images are in English.
Providing perspectives from both the Vichy government and the resistance movement, this unique collection constitutes the sum of the French press that actually reached Britain during the Occupation of 1940-44. It is the record of what was known by the British about the hearts and minds of the French people at the most dramatic period of their shared history.
Includes all of Voltaire's literary works from the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete Works of Voltaire.
The theological, legal, and social implications of witchcraft. Printed works, transcripts of trials, eyewitness accounts, court records, dissertations, etc. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German. There are also selected documents in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, and Dutch. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1500-1930.
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Cover: 1840-present
Research Assistance
Liz Bellamy
Instruction & Research Librarian