Religious Studies

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

Founded in New York City in 1857, The American Hebrew was established as the weekly source of news impacting international Jewish communities. Reports on the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S., were of intense interest to readers of the paper.

Descriptions of peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the US government, sex roles, efforts at Christian education, aboriginal and post-contact Indian culture, the many problems and achievements of missionary work, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1833-1893.

Let there be light has been the motto of The American Israelite since it was first published in 1854 with the intention to illuminate principles of Jewish faith and instill a sense of community among American Jews who often lived in geographically dispersed locations. This weekly is considered the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper available in the country.

The American Jewish Congress, founded in 1918 under the leadership of Louis Brandeis, Felix Frankfurter, and Rabbi Stephen S. Wise, is one of the most important organizations dedicated to advocating for the interests of the American Jewish community and defending the civil rights of all Americans. The American Jewish Congress Records span from 1915-2009 and document the American Jewish Congress’s impact on the United States legal system, civil rights and liberties, the fight against discrimination and antisemitism, and support for the State of Israel. The records of the American Jewish Congress are digitized by ProQuest from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society. This module represents the first seven series of the collection, covering the history of the American Jewish Congress, the proceedings of its governing committees, the files of the Executive Directors, and records of the organization’s national conventions.

All fields of religion: biblical studies, archaeology, world religions, church history, ethics, etc. Citations to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays. Coverage: 1908-present.

Contains the content of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books. The site allows users to browse the entire corpus of material and perform Boolean searches by title, author, subject, word, issue, or date range in any combination.

East, Southeast, and South Asia. Citations to Western-language journal articles, books, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Coverage: 1971-present.

From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.

Items originating from prisoners. Mostly letters, but also receipts for parcels, money orders, personal effects, paper currency, and realia. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1936-1945.

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.

Christian missionary activities, practices, and thought in the US. Personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

Islamic subjects, including the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. Coverage: 1906-present.

The Index Religiosus is an internationally renowned bibliography of academic publications in the fields of theology, religious sciences, and Church history. It is a gateway to books and articles written in major European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, etc.). The Index Religiosus brings together the Elenchus Bibliographicus (formerly published by the Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses) and the bibliography of the Revue dHistoire Ecclsiastique. In combining and continuing these two bibliographies, the Index Religiosus is an indispensable instrument for scholars, the quality of which is improved daily thanks to an ongoing process of eliminating double records that resulted from merging the two bibliographies. Currently, the Index Religiosus counts more than 600,000 bibliographic records. Another 20,000 titles are added yearly, with updates applied every 3 months.

Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. Popular with British servicemen and women stationed in the region, as well as readers in Cairo and Alexandria, the paper had strong readership in both Jewish and Arab cities throughout Palestine. Coverage: 1932-2008

The Jewish Advocate was first printed in Boston in 1909. It continues to be a primary source of regional, national and international news and information for subscribers in New England and across the U.S., as well around the world. This digital newspaper archive (1905-1990) provides an in-depth historical perspective on issues and events pertaining to the rise of Zionism and the development of Jewish-American culture.

The Jewish Exponent first hit the presses in 1887, founded by a group of 43 prominent Philadelphia businessmen. This stock ownership was meant to ensure the newspaper represented the entire community while serving in its coverage of local, national and international news.

Based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, this resource offers captivating insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over three centuries. Collection includes 24 collections of personal papers (which include letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, and notebooks), 6 collections of organizational papers, photographs, and printed books and pamphlets.

Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Journal and newspaper articles, books, and biographies. Coverage: 1922-present.

Primarily the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance. Leaflets, handbills, printed proclamations, resolutions, circular letters, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1939-1945.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

John A. Ryan was the foremost social justice advocate and theoretician in the Catholic Church during the first half in the 20th century. Ryan was a Professor of Political Science and Professor of Moral Theology at the Catholic University of America from 1915 until 1939 and Director of the National Catholic Welfare Council's Social Action Department during its first 25 years, from 1920 until his death in 1945. Ryans relationship with President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the New Deal both personally and politically garnered him the nickname "Right Reverend New Dealer." The John A. Ryan Papers span from 1892 to 1945, with a heavy focus on the last twenty years of his life, 1925 to 1945. Most of the collection consists of Ryans correspondence, focusing on the Catholic Church, politics, and Ryans writings, speaking engagements, and personal matters. The Ryan Papers also include articles, sermons, reports, pamphlets, lecture notes, scrapbooks, and a personal journal.

E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.

Otzar HaHochma is the world's largest digital library, containing more than 110,564 Judaic books, scanned page after page in their original format. The variety of topics in Otzar HaHochma embraces all Jewish fields, including: Bible and its Commentaries. Tannaitic literature including Mishnah, Tosefta, Midrash Halakhah and Aggadah as well as their Commentaries. Talmudic literature from both Babylonian and Jerusalem Talmuds and their Commentaries, as well as Geonic works. Halakhah and Customs from the Rishonim and Acharonim, as well as Responsa Literature. Jewish Philosophy from medieval times to the modern period. Kabbalah and Hasidism including liturgical writings, sermons. Modern scholarship in Jewish history, Hebrew linguistics, Jewish psychology, family studies, information science, etc. Torah compilations, memorial volumes, prayer books, and much more.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Buddhism as a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Hinduism. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Jewish studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.

Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

World religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Journal articles. Coverage: 1975-present.

A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. Coverage: 1845-2015

Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century.

Political affairs, Jews, refugee & relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank. The collection consists of the State Departments records of the President's personal representative to Pope Pius XII. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1940-1950.

The theological, legal, and social implications of witchcraft. Printed works, transcripts of trials, eyewitness accounts, court records, dissertations, etc. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German. There are also selected documents in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish, and Dutch. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1500-1930.

WorldCat Discovery includes access to a wide variety of electronic, licensed, physical and locally digitized materials. Users can discover more than 1.8 billion items in local libraries and around the world with a single search.