Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
American Studies: Literature & Media
For the first time ever, nearly two decades of televisions most preeminent program are available online in one expansive streaming video resource. The 60 MINUTES: 1997-2014 collection from Alexander Street grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
The AFI Catalog is the premier, authoritative resource of American film information and covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.
Early history of African American poetry, from 1746 to the major poets of the nineteenth century.
Cross-searchable access to millions of pages of essential American history, literature and culture. Uncover captivating manuscript and typescript letters, diaries, notebooks, journals, newspapers, plus incredible art works, illustrations, photographs, video and 360-degree objects.
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
American Drama is the only electronic collection to bring together--in fully-searchable electronic format--such an extensive and inclusive compilation of 1,500 works of American dramatic literature.
American Fiction, 1774-1920 contains more than 17,800 titles and is comprised of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. It gathers extensive content in one place and allows researchers to explore the development of American literature in a changing culture through novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts, and sketches. These texts reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor of America through centuries of radical change, enabling students and researchers to answer key questions about history, society, identity, psychology, race, gender, and culture.
The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writers vision with the producers and directors interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else.
A history database through music; formerly American Song. Streaming audio with songs by and about all Americans (immigrants, children, enslaved persons, etc.), and about all aspects of the American experience (civil rights, political campaigns, the Revolutionary War, etc.). Coverage: Precolonial period-present.
Biographical articles of men and women who helped shape the nation. All eras and walks of life. Coverage: varies.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Complete poems, including any accompanying text (dedications, notes, etc.) written by the poet. Coverage: 1600-1900.
Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in history and the social sciences. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays representing the various ethnicities within the Asian American community. Along with many works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, and Chinese descent, the collection includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins in the late nineteenth century and continues to the writings of contemporary playwrights. Some 50% of the plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements.
Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.
Drama from Alexander Street features performances of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. These performances are from works spanning from Shakespeare to modern day playwrights. The topics covered in these works touch on subjects in the humanities, social sciences, theatre, hard sciences, law, medicine, and virtually every other field of study.
From canonical English-language dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, and Oscar Wilde, to the diverse cast of ethnicities who contributed unique sensibilities to the dramatic canon of the U.S. from Lynn Riggs to Jeannie Barroga, users can now study the length and breadth of English-language drama from the late thirteenth century through to the early twenty-first century.
The collection stretches from the revolutionary period to the Reconstruction era, and includes works by authors such as Herman Melville, Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Bret Harte and a host of minor writers of the period.
Searchable poems and letters from Dickinson's correspondence with her sister-in-law. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: Late 1850s-1886.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the early twentieth-century era of vaudeville (1920s) and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Integrates literature resources from Gale into a single research environment. The following collections are available within this interface: Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder,Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, MLA International Bibliography, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Harpers Weekly, the news and literary journal published in New York City. Searchable full text, including news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and advertisements. Coverage: 1857-1877.
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
Looking for a specific jazz record or CD? Want to find everything recorded by a particular bandleader or musician? Want to know who played with whom, and when? Want to find who recorded a particular tune? The Jazz Discography (TJD) is the world’s largest and most complete source of information about jazz records and jazz recording sessions.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers Project
View description
Social history, industry & labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database, pulling material from the Archives of the Federal Writers' Project (WFP). Coverage: 1933-1943.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.
Provides full text searchable archives for the New Yorker journal. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists and statesmen. Coverage: 1925-present. Two simultaneous users.
This edition of North American Indian Drama contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of Alexander Street's editorial board.
The collection consists of rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.
An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1913-1998.
Music, dance, theater, and poetry. Citations to articles in American newspapers from the earliest extant copy (1690) through the end of the Revolutionary War (1783), including those in the French and German languages.
The Philadelphia Inquirer, one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.
Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
This digital resource offers unparalleled access to the single largest collection of working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers anywhere in the world. With access to the annotated full manuscripts of such notable works as The Prelude and Michael, or Samuel Taylor Coleridges Dejection: An Ode this project is unrivalled in its content and scope.
This is the gateway to publications in Rotunda, the digital imprint of the University of Virginia Press. Rotunda includes scholarly digital editions of historical, architectural, and literary resources.
The Southern Literary Messenger (1834-1864) was one of the most successful and influential literary magazines in the South. Published in Richmond, Virginia, it is a source on Southern history, European history, military history, secessionism, states rights, and slavery issues. Contributors included prominent southern authors Edgar Allan Poe, Philip Pendleton Cooke, William Gilmore Simms, and Henry Timrod. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1834-1864.
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organisations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included.
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
An unprecedented digital collection offering access to the runs of more than 100 publications from Archie Comics. Its one of the longest-running, best-known comic staples, spanning the early 1940s to 2020. Alongside the flagship title, Archie, other prominent titles, which have pervaded wider popular culture, include Sabrina: The Teenage Witch, Josie and the Pussycats, Betty & Veronica, and Jughead.
Research Assistance
Liz Bellamy
Instruction & Research Librarian