Modern Languages: Hispanic Studies

Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.

Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.

Social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. Citations to journals from Latin America in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Coverage: 1975-present.

Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.

Primary source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Amricas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Early European Books includes digitized books from major European libraries including the National Library of France, the National Library of Florence, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library, London, and the Royal Library, Denmark. EEB provides digital access to continental printed texts before 1701 with full-color, high-resolution images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts, providing information about the physical characteristics and provenance histories of the original artefact. There are over 53,000 books included, in languages including French, German, Italian, Hebrew, Dutch, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Icelandic, Swedish, and Danish. Collections 1-19.

This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands. Documents include requests for economic aid; guarantees to people for jobs and food; complaints of abuses; reports, promotions, and notifications to the troops and brigades, as well as information on pay. The documentation also includes acts or proceedings on revolutionary and civil trials; correspondence with municipal or State authorities in connection with problems of land, water, control of finance, trade, etc.; and, information concerning the revolutionary Convention sovereign.

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.

World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.

Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.

Agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology. Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. Coverage: Varies by title.

Sources from the nineteenth and twentieth century on Mexican women's history. This database of photo albums, periodicals, and literary texts gathers historical, political, social, and cultural information regarding the role of women in Mexico since the country's independence.

Latin America: anthropology, art, economics, geography, government & politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy, and sociology. Citations to scholarly books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Coverage: 1936-present.

Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, etc., appearing in social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Coverage: 1970-present.

Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

IPA Source was developed to assist singers and teachers in the intelligent and well informed performance of vocal literature. What started as a support site for students in a university diction class in 2003, has grown into the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. The goal of IPA Source is to promote comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in order for the singer to imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

**William & Mary currently has access to a limited selection of films on Kanopy. If a film is not currently accessible, you can fill out a request form on Kanopy's site and the library will review and attempt to accommodate if possible.** Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. *All films have public performance rights.*

The Latin America & Iberia Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Latin American countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela, and also Spain and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, anthropology, law, and humanities.

America Latina en Video / Amrica Latina em Vdeo / Latin America in Video gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collections materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.

Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.

Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.

Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.

Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.

Neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, hematology, etc. Journal articles in Spanish from Latin American and Spanish publishers. Coverage: Varies by title.

An extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. A collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.

This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of Alexander Street's editorial board.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and historiographic essays on Latin American studies across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

Designed by and for Spanish teachers in Spain and Latin America, Platino Educa USA has adapted the innovative online teaching tool to enhance Spanish language classrooms in the US. Platino Educa's online platform offers unlimited access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice.

Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.

A unique collection of primary source material for the study of music and musical life. Combines access to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full Text). Coverage: 1760-1966.

All aspects of consumer health and wellness. Evidence-based reports and fact sheets. Consumer Health Complete database, in Spanish. Coverage: Current.

World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, oral histories, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. Cover: 1840-present