Modern Languages: Russian Studies

Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.

A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.

World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.

Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (????????, News) was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles. Continuously published for over 100 years, Izvestiias prominence endures today as one of the most subscribed news sources of contemporary Russia, covering domestic and foreign policy, commentary, culture, education, and finance.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

**William & Mary currently has access to a limited selection of films on Kanopy. If a film is not currently accessible, you can fill out a request form on Kanopy's site and the library will review and attempt to accommodate if possible.** Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. *All films have public performance rights.*

Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.

The first classical music webTV, offering a catalogue of over 1,000 concerts, operas, ballets and documentaries in VOD, as well as 100 live concerts each year.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.

This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.

Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.

Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.

A unique collection of primary source material for the study of music and musical life. Combines access to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full Text). Coverage: 1760-1966.

The Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) collection provides same-day full-text access to more than 60 of the most influential daily and weekly Russian publications on current affairs, including news magazines. Archives dating back to 1980 can be found online in this exclusive collection. Current official sources such as Rossiiskaia gazeta, independent media and partisan publications, and several English-language newspapers such as The Moscow Times are included. Many titles have been manually scanned and digitized in-house and are available exclusively through East View. All content is legally secured by our long-term and established contracts with the publishers and suppliers of source material, guaranteed. Through our exclusive agreements, a number of the publications found on East Views site appear before the print version is available. The content is 100% complete and unabridged in full text, with every table, graph and chart included as images.

The Russian Regional Newspapers (UDB-REG) collection provides close-up coverage of developments throughout Russias regions. The collection currently includes newspapers from all seven Federal Districts of the Russian Federation and as well as newspapers focusing on local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. The collection represents such noteworthy regions as the troubled Northern Caucasus (Groznenskii rabochii from Chechnya, Severnaia Osetiia from Northern Osetiia-Alania, etc.), oil and gas rich Western Siberia (Tiumenskie izvestiia, etc.), the investment-friendly Volga region (Nizhegorodskie novosti from Nizhnii Novgorod or Samarskie izvestiia from Samara), and many others. The selected newspapers have the largest circulation in their regions and are considered the most authoritative. Coverage begins in 1997 and ends in 2023.

The Russia/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) collection provides unparalleled access to important statistical data from 1995 to present. Designed to optimize searching and browsing of statistical data, the collection contains data from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States. Developed in cooperation with leading statistical authorities, UDB-STAT-RUS contains official reports, yearbooks, monthly reports, special bulletins and related publications of regional statistical bodies and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Coverage includes major economic indicators, industry, agriculture, economy and finance, population, environment, transportation, health, natural resources, and regional/urban statistics. Coverage ends in 2023.

This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.

World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, oral histories, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

The Sovetskii Ekran (Советский экран, Soviet Screen) Digital Archive offers a unique window into the history of Soviet cinema, capturing the essence of a journal that was pivotal from 1925 to 1998. Sovetskii Ekran, more than just a film journal, was a cultural barometer of its times, chronicling the evolution of Soviet film against the backdrop of significant societal and political changes. Its pages, filled with film critiques, interviews, and reader polls, offer a comprehensive view of the cinematic landscape and its influence on Soviet culture.