Modern Languages: Literature

Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements.

Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Early European Books includes digitized books from major European libraries including the National Library of France, the National Library of Florence, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library, London, and the Royal Library, Denmark. EEB provides digital access to continental printed texts before 1701 with full-color, high-resolution images scanned directly from the original printed sources. Each item in the collection is captured in its entirety, complete with its binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and any loose inserts, providing information about the physical characteristics and provenance histories of the original artefact. There are over 53,000 books included, in languages including French, German, Italian, Hebrew, Dutch, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Icelandic, Swedish, and Danish. Collections 1-19.

A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.

This Corvey Collection contains over 2 million printed pages of English-language works, many of them comprising multiple volumes. It thus constitutes one of the most important collections of British Romantic-era writing in existence anywhere. The extent of its scholarly significance is indicated by the considerable number of exceedingly rare publicationsand even numerous previously unknown worksby British writers (and women writers in particular, whose works comprise over 1,000 of the titles) who were active during the Romantic period. In addition to the English-language literary texts, the Corvey Collection of European Literature also includes 3,658 works in French (including more than 500 by women) and 2,653 works in German, all of them dating primarily from the period 17901840.

Works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers. From Cuban sources, mostly in Spanish. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1898-1958.

Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Sources from the nineteenth and twentieth century on Mexican women's history. This database of photo albums, periodicals, and literary texts gathers historical, political, social, and cultural information regarding the role of women in Mexico since the country's independence.

Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Also known as Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance. Collection of electronic books in Arabic. Contemporary novels to national heritage scientific treatises written by Arab authors of all genres. Coverage: Varies by title.

Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.

Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.

Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.

The first classical music webTV, offering a catalogue of over 1,000 concerts, operas, ballets and documentaries in VOD, as well as 100 live concerts each year.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.

Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeares plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

In the summer of 2012, as part of the London Olympic Games' Cultural Olympiad and the World Shakespeare Festival, Shakespeare's Globe hosted the hugely successful Globe to Globe Festival. This unprecedented six-week event saw companies from across the world perform at Shakespeare's Globe in over 30 different languages. Now you can watch 10 of these performances on Drama Online. The Shakespeare's Globe to Globe Festival on Screen 1 collection will support all courses in Shakespeare's plays, and especially those exploring: global performance; intercultural production, interpretation and reception; and themes such as gender across global cultures. All films will have audio in their original language alongside fully translated English subtitles.