Chemistry

The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.

The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation. To login please select the Geographic Region US Higher Education (InCommon) and the College of William and Mary.

Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.

Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.

*Limited English Language Content* China Research Gateway presents the full spectrum of Chinese research, with exhaustive representation of STEM, social science, and humanities disciplines. China is not only a rich subject for scholarly inquiry, but is one of the worlds most prolific sources of research across all disciplines. China Research Gateway presents an unparalleled breadth of sources, including scholarly journals, monographs, statistical publications, government documents, newspapers, dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and many other content types. The scale of Chinese scholarly output in areas such as Artificial Intelligence, materials science, medicine, transportation, climate science, cyber security, communications technology, and quantum computing is extraordinary and continues to grow. CRG presents a centralized means for discovery and access to this rich trove of research, specifically tailored to serve the needs of North American scholars and institutions.

This resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types. Coverage: 1960 - current

The Journal of Visualized Experiments, commonly referred to as JoVE, is a journal of peer reviewed material covering the fields of biology, medicine, chemical, and physical research in video format. There is a collection of open access material in this database, generally with a firewall which excludes access to the 3 most current years. SWEM LIBRARY SUBSCRIBES TO THE GENERAL BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, ENGINEERING AND NEUROSCIENCE SECTIONS OF JoVE, WHICH PROVIDE CURRENT ACCESS TO MATERIAL IN THIS AREA.

A video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations.

Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Includes Ceramics Abstracts. Coverage: 1965 - current

Biological oceanography, ecology, physical & chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation & communications, maritime law, desalination, ships & shipping, and marine biology. Citations to worldwide technical literature. Coverage: 1981-present.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage: 1960 - current

INCLUDED DATABASES: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources - ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts - ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts - Algology, Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) - Animal Behavior Abstracts - Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) - Biochemistry Abstracts 1 - Biochemistry Abstracts 3 - Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts - Chemoreception Abstracts - Neurosciences Abstracts - Ecology Abstracts - Entomology Abstracts - Endocrinology Abstracts - Genetics Abstracts - Health and Safety Science Abstracts - Human Genome Abstracts - Immunology Abstracts - Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) - Biotechnology Research Abstracts - Nucleic Acids Abstracts - Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts - Toxicology Abstracts - AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts ( included in Virology and AIDS Abstracts) MEDLINE - Plant Science Toxline - Conference Papers Index. Coverage: 1946-current.

Includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earths air, land, and water environments. Coverage: 1950 - current

The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1965 - current

The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.

Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Free database from the National Institutes of Health. Citations to biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, journal articles, and online books. See also Medline. Coverage: 1951-present.

Organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Includes patent information. Coverage: 1771-present.

All content available with no paywall for all journals published by the Royal Society of London, beginning with the Philosophical Transactions (1665).

Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

Elsevier is a world-leading provider of scientific, technical, and medical information products and services. This collection includes nearly 700 titles from Elseviers most current 2013 collection. To view what is available to W&M library users, select Show full-text available only on the refine search panel.

You must register to use this database. Click on this link to register: https://proxy.wm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/in.... Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service.

Scite is an award-winning platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles via Smart Citations. Smart Citations allow users to see how a publication has been cited by providing the context of the citation and a classification describing whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence for the cited claim.

This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, law, humanities, and economics. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.

Springer eBooks offer high quality Springer print book publications in a digital format. This collection covers Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Science, Computer Science, and Earth and Environmental Science.

All areas of toxicology, including chemicals & pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, and teratogens. Citations to journal articles, books, and technical reports. Coverage: 2000-present.

Sciences and social sciences. Journal articles, books, reference works, databases, and other resources. Only content with the unlocked icon is available. Coverage: Varies by title.