History: Middle East & North Africa

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

Political, military, social, and economic developments in Afghanistan. Special reports, interviews, court proceedings, statistics, etc. Also translations of foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports,etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1945-1963.

Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states. Additional value has been by the expansion from the original 562 National Archives records to over 17,000, thus substantially improving access to over 138,000 pages documenting the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Archives Direct is a suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive.

Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in history and the social sciences. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East.

The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics. Early records in the collection focus on events in Palestine, Britains policy toward Palestine, and how the situation in Palestine affected relations with other nations.

From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions from 1945 to the present.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology. Covers 1942 to 2007.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and the industrialization and economic exploitation of Portugal's African colonies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1910-1929.

This is an outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions.

The Middle East in the 1970s was characterised by its conflicts, with a cast of political figures whose influence can still be felt today. Providing an invaluable resource for researchers and students seeking to understand the modern Middle East, this collection contains complete runs of Foreign Office files, providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact.

This collection comprises materials related to the planning and organization of the October 1991 Middle East Peace Conference in Madrid. It consists of correspondence, memoranda, cables, diplomatic dispatches, reports, studies, maps, and printed material which document all aspects of staging the conference as well as the conference itself. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1981-1993.

Covers all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) since 1450. Includes journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc. published after 1954. About 250 History journals in this database are not findable in EBSCO's Academic Search database, making this the go-to database for finding world history articles.

Islamic subjects, including the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. Coverage: 1906-present.

Collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category span from 1911-1975, offering a detailed view of U.S. foreign relations during the period from the years immediately before the outbreak of World War I through to the end of the Vietnam War. While these modules provide an excellent view of U.S. international relations during these important years, these records also offer detailed information on the countries in which the U.S. diplomatic or military officials were stationed. As such, the collections in the International Relations and Military Conflicts category are an excellent source for studies of individual countries or regions of the world. In addition, U.S. diplomats and military officials often reported back on international reaction to events in the United States, thereby providing an international perspective on important developments in the United States. This category also now includes British Foreign Office Records on World War I and the creation of Israel from 1940-1948.

Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. Popular with British servicemen and women stationed in the region, as well as readers in Cairo and Alexandria, the paper had strong readership in both Jewish and Arab cities throughout Palestine. Coverage: 1932-2008

Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Journal and newspaper articles, books, and biographies. Coverage: 1922-present.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

An extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing in fact and in fantasy. A collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.

Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Contains over 500 U.S. newspapers (ex. USA Today, Washington Post) and 700 international newspapers (ex. Toronto Star, Manila Times). Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature and is updated nearly every day. It includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA, 1822-1946), the Aigyptos database with keywords, and more than 25,000 further items. Coverage: 1822 to the present.

Otzar HaHochma is the world's largest digital library, containing more than 110,564 Judaic books, scanned page after page in their original format. The variety of topics in Otzar HaHochma embraces all Jewish fields, including: Bible and its Commentaries. Tannaitic literature including Mishnah, Tosefta, Midrash Halakhah and Aggadah as well as their Commentaries. Talmudic literature from both Babylonian and Jerusalem Talmuds and their Commentaries, as well as Geonic works. Halakhah and Customs from the Rishonim and Acharonim, as well as Responsa Literature. Jewish Philosophy from medieval times to the modern period. Kabbalah and Hasidism including liturgical writings, sermons. Modern scholarship in Jewish history, Hebrew linguistics, Jewish psychology, family studies, information science, etc. Torah compilations, memorial volumes, prayer books, and much more.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics. Includes American Revolution, Arab Spring, Chinese Communist Revolution, Civil Rights Movement, Cuban Revolutions, Hungarian Revolution, Iranian Revolutions, Russian Revolutions, and others.

Trade and Globalization Studies Online examines the history of trade, trade policies, financial crises, emerging markets and technological innovations that unite the world in an ever-changing system of trade. The collection gathers books, case studies, archival materials and documentaries to provide historical context and insights. Users can explore the societal impact of global trade by browsing on global themes, events and areas, subjects, and much more.