Film & Media Studies

Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 12,000 sources and 200+ countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.

The AFI Catalog is the premier, authoritative resource of American film information and covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present. Every film produced on American soil or by American production companies is indexed from the birth of cinema to the present day. New records are created by the AFI editorial team and added each year.

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Now film scholars can compare the writers vision with the producers and directors interpretations from page to screen. Most scripts in the series have never been published before and are available nowhere else.

People and events in American history and their presentation over time. Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Coverage: 1492-2000. **All films have public performance rights.**

Communications, journalism, and mass media studies. Journal articles, also searchable cited references. Coverage: 1915-present.

The Docuseek2 Essential Collection includes the most recent and most popular titles made available for streaming on Docuseek2 from our distributors. It is capped at 800 titles. Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.

Drama from Alexander Street features performances of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. These performances are from works spanning from Shakespeare to modern day playwrights. The topics covered in these works touch on subjects in the humanities, social sciences, theatre, hard sciences, law, medicine, and virtually every other field of study.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the early twentieth-century era of vaudeville (1920s) and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Educational titles in all subject areas. Streaming video from Films Media Group. Coverage: Varies by title.**All films have public performance rights.** Check out the quick start guide for more information.

Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.

Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

**William & Mary currently has access to a limited selection of films on Kanopy. If a film is not currently accessible, you can fill out a request form on Kanopy's site and the library will review and attempt to accommodate if possible.** Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. *All films have public performance rights.*

OntheBoards.tv is a website that offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.

E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.

The VIVA PBS streaming video collection, hosted for VIVA at UVA, includes 498 full-length documentaries representing over 500 hours of video. Titles include documentaries by Ken Burns and series such as American Experience and Frontline. Must sign in with your home organization: William & Mary

Formerly the International Index to the Performing Arts, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.

Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

The Sovetskii Ekran (Советский экран, Soviet Screen) Digital Archive offers a unique window into the history of Soviet cinema, capturing the essence of a journal that was pivotal from 1925 to 1998. Sovetskii Ekran, more than just a film journal, was a cultural barometer of its times, chronicling the evolution of Soviet film against the backdrop of significant societal and political changes. Its pages, filled with film critiques, interviews, and reader polls, offer a comprehensive view of the cinematic landscape and its influence on Soviet culture.

For those within the film industry, information and opinion were shaped by a number of aggressive trade publications, each competing for the same limited number of subscribers. Chief among these was the Moving Picture World (1907-1927), which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1907-1927.