Linguistics

Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage: 1887-present.

Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.

Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute-UK). Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.

All aspects of anthropology. Journal articles, books, bulletins, and newsletters from the American Anthropological Association. Coverage: varies by title.

Sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Books and journal articles from journals published by Cambridge University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

Collection of databases devoted to a variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and science. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

Human culture and behavior, including anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Streaming video of documentaries, indigenous media, footage from anthropologists in the field, and select feature films. Coverage: 1922-present. **All films have public performance rights.**

A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

Linguistics Abstracts Online includes more than 800 journals dating back to 1911 and thousands of records with subject headings created by linguistics experts. Materials encompass the broad spectrum of linguistics and language study, including subject areas such as applied linguistics, communication, computational linguistics, deaf studies and education, English language teaching, fluency disorders, language and cultures, phonetics and phonology, psychology, speech pathology, theoretical linguistics and many more.

Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.

Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.

Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

Open access database containing the scholarly output of the W&M community, including masters theses and dissertations from 1920 to today.