Art & Art History

ACLS Humanities E-book
A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. Coverage: 1895-2015
Art Full Text (includes Art Abstracts)
Fine, decorative, and commercial art; photography, folk art, film, and architecture. Journal articles, books, dissertations, museum bulletins, and reproductions of art works. Coverage: 1984-present. Full text 1997-present.
Art Index Retrospective
Fine, decorative, and commercial art; archaeology and architecture. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1929-1984.
Artsearch
The national employment service online bulletin for the performing arts by Theatre Communications Group. Includes job postings for administration, artistic production, career development, and education. **Please contact the Cohen Career Center at career@wm.edu to obtainlogin.**
Artsearch for Alumni
The national employment service online bulletin for the performing arts by Theatre Communications Group. Includes job postings for administration, artistic production, career development, and education. Alumni log in toTribe Careers at https://wm-csm.symplicity.com. **Please contact the Cohen Career Center at career@wm.edu to obtain login to Artsearch**
ArtStor
Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods. To download or save images create a free user account with your W&M email.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Architectural design, archaeology, built environment, city planning, historic preservation, interior design, landscape architecture, garden history, urban design, real estate development, sustainable design. Citations to journal articles. Coverage: 1741-present.
Berg Fashion Library
Now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank.
BHA

BHA

Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1990-2007.
Encyclopedia Virginia
Encyclopedia Virginia is the online reference work about the Commonwealth of Virginia. It aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state's proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology and interpret the state's significance to the people of Virginia, the nation, and the world.
Grove Art Online (New name Art Online)
Visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Encyclopedias and other reference resources. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.
Humanities International Complete
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
A resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Kanopy - Limited to instructional use - More info
Kanopy Streaming Video has one of the largest collections of films in the world with 26,000+ films from hundreds of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Documentary Educational Resources, etc. Users can watch films, share comments, create clips and playlists. Subject areas include: Humanities, Education, The Arts, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media & Communications. **All films have public performance rights.**
OpenBook Publishers
E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.
Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art Online)
Visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. Encyclopedias and other reference resources. Coverage: Current. Three simultaneous users.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on art history across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Formerly the International Index to the Performing Arts, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.
Project Muse
Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Repertoire International de la Litterature de L'Art
Western art, all media, from late antiquity to the present. Citations to journal articles, books, essay collections, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1975-1989.
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.

Research Assistance