Music

ACLS Humanities E-book
A fully searchable collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars. These titles are offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with twenty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office.
African American Music Reference
Music Online: African American Music Reference includes full text from major reference works; personal narratives from oral histories and interviews; manuscripts, song sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources. The largest online collection of musical scores and reference works available anywhere.
American Music
Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
American Music (includes African American Music content)
A history database through music; formerly American Song. Streaming audio with songs by and about all Americans (immigrants, children, slaves, etc.), and about all aspects of the American experience (civil rights, political campaigns, the Revolutionary War, etc.). Coverage: Precolonial period-present.
Classical Music Library
Classical music, including vocal, choral, orchestral, chamber music, stage and screen, opera, and operettas. Includes recordings, program notes, composer biographies, and play lists by category. Coverage: Medieval to contemporary.
Classical Music Reference Library
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.
Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
Contemporary World Music
Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online is a unique music finder tool and an invaluable resource for orchestral librarians, libraries, planners, musicologists, conductors, and artistic directors.
Diction Police
Provides singers with a comprehensive set of tools for the study and application of lyric diction. Hear the sounds of foreign languages delivered by native speakers who are also professional singers or coaches with a practical understanding of the intricacies of singing language.
DRAM
A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings (formerly Composers Recordings Inc./CRI) and other important labels. The basis for the collection is the diverse catalog of American music recordings by New World Records. Other contributing sources include the CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music labels.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Grove Music Online (New name Oxford Music Online)
All aspects of music. Grove Music Online and full text of several reference sources. Coverage: Current. Note: Allows a maximum of 5 users at a time.
Humanities International Complete
Literature & the literary arts, philosophy, the arts, history, culture, and creative thought. Journal articles, books, and other sources from around the world. Coverage: Varies by title.
Jazz Music Library
A database of over 130 tracks to stream jazz music from thousands of jazz performers. Good for the study of jazz history, appreciation, and performance.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Medici TV
The first classical music webTV, offering a catalogue of over 1,000 concerts, operas, ballets and documentaries in VOD, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
MGG Online
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart is a general encyclopedia of music. It offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
Music Index
Classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. International coverage with citations in journal articles, book reviews, record reviews, news, and obituaries. Coverage: 1970-present.
Music Magazine Archive: Rock, Folk & Hip Hop!
The digital archive includes rarely collected, widely scattered, and now sought after publications that present a unique record of popular culture, music journalism, and social and political transition in the late 20th century.
Music Online
This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.
Musical Theater Songs
Song index with an interface that lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database. Links are provided to various sites in order to locate the sheet music and recordings, subject to availability.
Naxos Music Library
Classical, jazz, world, rock, pop, folk, etc. Music notes, cover artwork, track list, instrumentation & publisher information, libretti & synopses of operas, composer & artist biographies. Streaming access. Coverage: Varies by title.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers over 100,000 tracks of jazz from more than 9,000 albums. Over 12,000 jazz artists are represented.
OntheBoards.tv
OntheBoards.tv is a website that offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
OpenBook Publishers
E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on music across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online)
All aspects of music. Grove Music Online and full text of several reference sources. Coverage: Current. Concurrent users: 5
Oxford Scholarship Online
Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books. Swem Library has access to Biology, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, and Sociology subject modules.
Project Muse
Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
All aspects of music from around the world. Citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, iconographies, videos, etc. Coverage: 1967-present.
RIPM - With Full Text
A unique collection of primary source material for the study of music and musical life. Combines access to RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals and RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals (Full Text). Coverage: 1800-1950.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals
The first release of RIPM Jazz Periodicals contains 105 jazz journals, covering the period from 1914 to 2006. RIPM focuses its jazz collection on supplying access to publications that ceased to appear in the twentieth century.
Smithsonian Global Sound
World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.
Virtually Vocal
Virtually Vocal is an online training tool for singers, voice teachers, and schools. Unlimited access to thousands of high-quality accompaniment recordings with melody-emphasized “teach tracks”, hundreds of vocal exercises, unlimited requests for new accompaniments and learning resources. USER LOGS IN WITH PERSONAL ACCOUNT

Research Assistance