Reference Sources Databases

  • One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The Associated Press Images Collection contains millions of photos from 1826 to the present, that capture the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment. More than 3,500 photos are added daily.  

  • An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews. Coverage begins with 1965.

  • Find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your college library, covering all disciplines. Access BrowZine from your browser by simply going to http://browzine.com. BrowZine will automatically detect if users are on campus and select your library; if off-campus, users will be prompted initially to select their library. From your mobile device download BrowZine from the App Store and install it. Supported devices: iPad (2 or later); Google Nexus; Samsung Galaxy; Kindle Fire HD. Select the subject areas and start browsing!

  • A searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to scholarly academic databases, websites, and tools with hundreds of reviews and updated information on electronic resources. The reviews are written by subject-area experts in collaboration between Choice and the Charleston Company.

  • Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Searchable version of the most recent edition.

  • Provides access to the online version of Consumer reports magazine, as well as additional features. Includes ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Includes product test videos, interactive guides, advice forums, consumer news, and more.

  • CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. It includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, Politics in America, State Stats, and Voting and Elections.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects.  Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.

  • Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to a wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. It includes:

    • The entire universe of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.
    • A database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders
    • A database of over 3 million recently awarded grants
    • A keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF
    • Grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs)
    • Grantmaker-sponsored publications
  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature.  Searchable full text across all volumes.  Date coverage: Varies by title.  Access available to unlimited users.


     

  • Practical information for travelers. Information by country on basic facts, climate, society & culture, demographics, telecommunications, money & banking, health & medical information, etc. Coverage: Current.

  • A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

  • English-language dictionary and thesaurus. Coverage: Current.

  • Literature, language, linguistics, literary theory, folklore, and the dramatic arts. International coverage of journal articles, series, books, dissertations, bibliographies, and scholarly websites. Includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals. Coverage: 1925-present.

  • Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.

  • The new OCD is a continuously updated and ever-expanding resource that will ensure scholarship remains current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives. New and revised articles written by leading international authors will appear on a rolling basis.

  • Definitions for most of the words in the English language. Also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present. Coverage: Current and historical.

  • Information on many subjects from the 14th century BC-21st century AD drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • RefWorks is an online tool that can import citations from databases and format them in various output styles for your research papers' bibliographies. It also has a Write-N-Cite function that helps you write your paper in Word, coordinating parenthetical notes, footnotes, and end notes with your bibliography.

     

  • RefWorks (for Alumni) is a online tool that can import citations from databases and format them in various output styles for your research papers' bibliographies. It also has a Write-N-Cite function that helps you write your paper in Word, coordinating parenthetical notes, footnotes, and end notes with your bibliography. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your "my1693" member login page; please log in to access this resource.

  • Detailed information about serials from around the world, including academic & scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc. Includes evaluative reviews of hundreds of those serials from Magazines for Libraries. Coverage: Current.

  • Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.