Physical Sciences Databases

Best Bets

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database. For off-campus access Login thru your institution. Select United States InCommon Federation and College of William and Mary.

  • Organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Includes patent information. Coverage: 1771-present.

  • Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. You must register to use this database. Click on the separate database SciFinder Registration.

  • The provider of SciFinder requires an initial registration step here before you can use the SciFinder database.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Social Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • Biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. Previously published journal articles from Annual Reviews, a nonprofit scientific publisher. Coverage varies by publication up to and including 2016. Annual Review of Economics and Annual Review of Marine Science include current year.

  • Information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, engineering, and allied subject areas. Journal articles, books, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, press releases, etc. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Ceramics industry, including the manufacture, processing, applications, properties, and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Citations to conference proceedings, books, patents, standards, and company product literature.

  • Life sciences, environmental sciences, and the aquatic sciences; also physics, engineering, chemistry, and materials science. Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Searchable full text of the current handbook, critically evaluated chemical and physical data, as well as structure drawing and searching. Coverage: Current edition.

  • Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects.  Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.

  • Electronics and communications: circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, and power systems. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, books, etc. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • This database captures every aspect of the interdisciplinary nature of magnetic resonance and provides the most complete and up-to-date online reference resource in the field. Currently eMagRes has published over 1,100 articles written by more than 1,250 experts in the field.

  • The manufacturing practices, properties, and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composities. Searches multiple databases at one time: Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering; Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Copper Technical Reference Library; Corrosion Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts , Ceramics; Materials Business File; CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Mechanical Engineering Abstracts; and METADEX. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, patents, etc. Coverage: 1986-present.

  • Handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering, also telecommunications. Coverage: Current editions.

  • Geology and geosciences of North America and the world. Citations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses. Includes references to all publications of the US Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669-present for North America, 1933-present for the rest of the world.

  • Geology and the geosciences. Citations to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Biological, medical, physical, and social sciences. Journal articles, reference works, books, and conference proceedings. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • Agricultural, food & beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries. Citations to the journal. Coverage: 1982-present.

  • Collection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.

  • The Journal of Visualized Experiments, commonly referred to as JoVE, is a journal of peer reviewed material covering the fields of biology, medicine, chemical, and physical research in video format.

    There is a collection of open access material in this database, generally with a firewall which excludes access to the 3 most current years.

    SWEM LIBRARY SUBSCRIBES TO THE GENERAL BIOLOGY, CHEMISTRY, ENGINEERING AND NEUROSCIENCE SECTIONS OF JoVE, WHICH PROVIDE CURRENT ACCESS TO MATERIAL IN THIS AREA.

  • Metals and materials industries. News, international trade data, government regulations & management issues, business & company information. Journal articles, books, patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, technical reports. Coverage: 1985-present.

  • Forensic engineering, management & marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics & dynamics, and mathematics & computation. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, and patents. Coverage: 1966-present.

  • Metals and alloys, their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and books. Coverage: 1966-present.

  • Biological oceanography, ecology, physical & chemical oceanography, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, nonliving marine resources, navigation & communications, maritime law, desalination, ships & shipping, and marine biology. Citations to worldwide technical literature. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database. For off-campus access Login thru your institution. Select United States InCommon Federation and College of William and Mary.

  • The collection contains earth science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from GeoRef. Also includes Oceanic Abstracts. Coverage: 1693-current.

  • This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

  • The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.

  • Organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Includes patent information. Coverage: 1771-present.

  • All aspects of science and technology. Citations to journal articles. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1970-present.

  • Multidisciplinary sciences, with some humanities and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: 1995-present.

  • Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service. You must register to use this database. Click on the separate database SciFinder Registration.

  • The provider of SciFinder requires an initial registration step here before you can use the SciFinder database.

  • All aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials & devices, high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology, and other relevant topics. Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Coverage: 1981-present.

  • Contains full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers) journals and proceedings published since 1990.

  • Biomedicine, life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, law, humanities, and economics. Journal articles and books. Coverage: Varies by title.

  • All areas of toxicology, including chemicals & pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, mutagens, and teratogens. Citations to journal articles, books, and technical reports. Coverage: 2000-present.

  • Water-related topics including characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Coverage: 1967-present.

  • All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Science, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index—Social Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

  • Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

  • WorldCat Discovery includes access to a wide variety of electronic, licensed, physical and locally digitized materials. Users can discover more than 1.8 billion items in local libraries and around the world with a single search.