Newspapers

Refine these databases by:

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom from the collection of the Reverend Charles Burney. Coverage: 1619-1800.

19th Century British Library Newspapers Parts 1 & 2

National and regional newspapers, including those from country and university towns, those from the new industrial centers of the Midlands, as well as newspapers from Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Coverage: 1800-1900.

19th Century US Newspapers

19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

ABI/INFORM Collection

Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.

Access World News

Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from over 8,400 sources and 152 countries. Includes Virginian-Pilot Historical Archive, 1865-1989. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Accessible Archives

Collections of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. Coverage: Varies by newspaper.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Broad coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life. Newspapers from over 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

African Newspapers, Series 1 (1800-1922)

African Newspapers in the World Newspaper Archive contains more than 420,000 pages of content from newspapers published throughout sub-Saharan Africa. The database features 67 titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and other countries.

Aluka-Struggles for Freedom in South Africa

Resources documenting the struggles for freedom in Southern Africa Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, and the two Congos. Nationalist publications, records of colonial governments, local newspapers, personal papers, UN documents, oral testimonies, speeches, correspondence, etc. Coverage: Early 20th century-present.

AM Explorer: Americana

Cross-searchable access to millions of pages of essential American history, literature and culture. Uncover captivating manuscript and typescript letters, diaries, notebooks, journals, newspapers, plus incredible art works, illustrations, photographs, video and 360-degree objects.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

Provides digital access to a highly comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger: Historical Newspapers 1857-1922

Founded in New York City in 1857, The American Hebrew was established as the weekly source of news impacting international Jewish communities. Reports on the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S., were of intense interest to readers of the paper.

American Indian Histories and Cultures

A wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Includes manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, photographs and newspapers. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

American Israelite: Historical Newspapers1854-2000

“Let there be light” has been the motto of The American Israelite since it was first published in 1854 with the intention to illuminate principles of Jewish faith and instill a sense of community among American Jews who often lived in geographically dispersed locations. This weekly is considered the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper available in the country.

American Periodicals Series Online

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Americas Historical Imprints

American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.

Americas Historical Newspapers (includes Early American Newspapers)

Newspapers from all 50 states with eyewitness reporting, letters, advertisements, obituaries, etc. Includes access to Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922), Series IV (1756-1922), and Series V (1777-1922). Coverage: 1690-1922.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Coverage: 1940s-1980s.

Arizona Republican

From the dust of the territorys new capital, Phoenix, The Arizona Republican arose in 1890 to ultimately become the states largest newspaper. Delivering news about a changing world to its readers, The Arizona Republican focused on local and national politics and ways to make the territory a better place to live. It was instrumental in the campaign for Arizona statehood, which was achieved in 1912. Coverage: 1890-2007

Atlanta Daily World: Historical Newspapers

W.A. Scott II founded the Atlanta Daily World at a time when most black Americans lived in the South. He felt that the race problem could only be solved in the South, which required an informed community. Rather than reading news about African-Americans through the optics of a host of prejudiced white papers, he launched his own newspaper to educate, inspire, uplift, and promote the expression of the Southern black community. Coverage: 1931-2003

Austin American Statesman: Historical Newspapers 1871-1978

Founded in 1871, the historical Austin American Statesman is the leading newspaper in the capital of Texas. It provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the state, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century.

Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League

Founded by Booker T. Washington to enhance the economic prosperity of the African American community. Assorted documents. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1901-1928.

Boston Globe: Historical Newspapers 1872-1986

Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1984). Includes Boston Daily Globe (1872-1922), Boston Daily Globe (1923-1927), Daily Boston Globe (1928-1960), and Boston Globe (1960-1986).

Chicago Defender: Historical Newspapers 1909-1975

A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1909-1975.

Chicago Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1849-1994

Full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily tribune (published 1847-1858; coverage 1849-1858), Chicago press and tribune (1858-1860), Chicago tribune (1860-1872), Chicago daily tribune (1872-1963), Chicago tribune (1963-current file). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. Coverage: 1849-1994.

Chinese Newspapers Collection

Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953

Christian Science Monitor: Historical Newspapers 1908-2004

Founded in 1908, the Christian Science Monitor provides secular, balanced coverage of international news and events, as a public service. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

This database allows you to search and view public domain newspaper pages (1690-1963) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Cincinnati Enquirer

When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city the nations 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as The Queen of the West. A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave The Cincinnati Enquirer a unique perspective to report on international, national and regional news. Coverage: 1841-2009

Civil War Collection

Contains seven parts: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective; Part II: The Soldiers Perspective; Part III: The Generals Perspective; Part IV: A Midwestern Perspective; Part V: Iowas Perspective; Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories; Part VII: Abraham Lincoln Library Abolitionist Books.

Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy

The enactment and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments and other environmental issues. News clippings, articles and editorials, speeches, studies and research reports, memoranda, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1991.

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection

A unique look at history through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor. Coverage: 1917-2013

Confederate Newspapers

The real and true history of (Southern) public opinion during the war. A mixture of issues and papers, some only single issues. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1860-1865.

D&B Hoovers

Includes company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data. Android devices not supported.

Dayton Daily News: Historical Newspapers 1898-1922

Since 1898, the Dayton Daily News has reported on historical events as the evening paper for the residents of Dayton, Ohio. Its pages offer researchers a fascinating glimpse into the history and economic, cultural, and social life of Ohio, the U.S., and the world from 1898-1922.

Detroit Free Press: Historical Newspapers 1831-1999

This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition, first U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony, and the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881. A fundamental resource for labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry.

Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution

Traces the progress of the Constitution and Bill of Rights through each of the thirteen states conventions. Convention and legislative records, private papers, newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets. Fully searchable. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1776-1791.

Early American Newspapers Series, 1-5, 1690-1922

Digital archive of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers published during the past four centuries. Includes titles from all 50 states. Coverage: 1690-1922.

EconLit with Full Text

Abstracts, indexing, and full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

Economist Historical Archive

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.

Economist Online

One of the major news magazines, focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.

Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988

This collection includes the proceedings of the 1832-1988 Democratic National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1832-1988.

Factiva

World news and business information, including information on US and foreign companies, stock prices, currency data, and financial profiles for companies worldwide. Newswires, newspaper, and magazine articles. Coverage: 1980-present.

Gale Primary Sources

Allows a user to search across all Gale historical digital collections that the library owns or subscribes to: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection -- 19th Century British Newspapers -- Eighteenth Century Collections Online -- Indigenous Peoples: North America -- Nineteenth Century Collections Online -- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers -- Picture Post Historical Archive -- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 -- The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 -- The Making of the Modern World -- The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 -- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2012.

Guardian and The Observer

The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries. From Napoleons defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandelas release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers.

Harford Courant: Historical Newspapers 1764-1992

America's longest continuously published newspaper, the Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation.

HarpWeek

Harpers Weekly, the news and literary journal published in New York City. Searchable full text, including news, illustrations, cartoons, literature, editorials, and ads. Coverage: 1857-1877.

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines

Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines gives an unparalleled view of the most important events in American history. It contains important and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British presses. Coverage: 1860-1865

Illustrated London News

Online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.

Independent Voices

A four-year project to digitize over one million pages from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960's to the 1980's. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.

Index Islamicus

Islamic subjects, including the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. Coverage: 1906-present.

Indianapolis Star: Historical Newspapers 1903-2004

The Indianapolis Star is the largest newspaper in Indiana, and a staunch watchdog and advocate for its community. Three times it has been honored with a Pulitzer Prize — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting.

Indigenous Peoples North America

Provides users with diverse and informative primary sources that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.

Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times: Historical Newspapers 1859-2016

The Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more. Each issue contains in-depth analysis and lively debate of current events. The Weekly Irish Times’ coverage (1876-1958) includes The Times Pictorial.

James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi

Meredith's efforts to become the first African American to attend the University of Mississippi. FBI documents, correspondence, memoranda, and news clippings. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1961-1962.

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers

The concerns and challenges of interned Japanese Americans during World War II. Bulletins and newspapers. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1942-1945.

Jerusalem Post: Historical Newspapers

Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. Popular with British servicemen and women stationed in the region, as well as readers in Cairo and Alexandria, the paper had strong readership in both Jewish and Arab cities throughout Palestine. Coverage: 1932-2008

Jewish Advocate: Historical Newspapers 1905-1990

The Jewish Advocate was first printed in Boston in 1909. It continues to be a primary source of regional, national and international news and information for subscribers in New England and across the U.S., as well around the world. This digital newspaper archive (1905-1990) provides an in-depth historical perspective on issues and events pertaining to the rise of Zionism and the development of Jewish-American culture.

Jewish Exponent: Historical Newspapers 1887-1900

The Jewish Exponent first hit the presses in 1887, founded by a group of 43 prominent Philadelphia businessmen. This stock ownership was meant to ensure the newspaper represented the entire community while serving in its coverage of local, national and international news.

Jewish Studies Source

Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Journal and newspaper articles, books, and biographies. Coverage: 1922-present.

Kikuzo II Visual

Database containing all editions of one of the Japanese main newspapers, the Asahi Shinbun, and the Aera news magazine. Also contains an encyclopaedia of contemporary vocabulary Chiezo. Coverage: 1879 to present.

Korea Times: Historical Newspapers

The oldest and most influential English-language newspaper in Korea, The Korea Times is globally recognized for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news historically through contemporary times as well as its perspective on regional issues and events. Coverage: 1956-2016

Latin American Newspapers

Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Leader-Post: Historical Newspapers 1883-2010

The Leader-Post is a Canadian newspaper with coverage of the politics, society and events in the Regina, Saskatchewan province.

LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni)

Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

LGBT Thought and Culture

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.

Los Angeles Sentinel: Historical Newspapers 1934-2005

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2005). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Los Angeles Times (LA Times), 1881-1994

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1881 - 1994.

Louisville Courier Journal: Historical Newspapers 1830-2000

The Louisville Courier Journal is Kentucky's newspaper of record. The paper has become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia. The Courier Journal became the first U.S. daily newspaper to appoint a woman managing editor, Carol Sutton in 1974.

Minneapolis Star Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1867-2001

Researchers will find robust primary source insights on American culture in the city’s long time newspaper, the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Regional topics reflect national and international trends of the times - such as Prohinition and civil rights.

Montreal Gazette: Historical Newspapers 1857-2010

The Montreal Gazette is a Canadian newspaper with coverage of the politics, society and events in the Montreal region of the Quebec province.

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

American history, industry, education, religion, and folklore. Diaries, journals, narratives, travel accounts, family histories, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1700-1950.

New York Amsterdam News: Historical Newspapers 1922-1993

African American newspaper, published weekly in New York City. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1922-1993.

New York Times Digital

Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and NYT apps. Also includes New York Times' archives for articles outside the 1923-1980 date range. Must be logged in to your NYTimes.com account. Register for a free account. You need only register one time at accessnyt.com. This will provide direct access to nytimes.com.

New York Times: Historical Newspapers 1851-2014

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1851-2014.

New York Times: ProQuest Recent Newspapers

New York Times as it appears on microfilm (full-page images with a page-by-page browsing format). Updated monthly. Coverage: 2008-3 months ago

Newsday: Historical Newspapers 1940-1989

As the largest suburban newspaper in the United States, Newsday provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the New York metropolitan area and northeastern United States during the post-World War II period.

Newspaper Source Plus

Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.

Newswires

Formerly, AP NewsMonitor Collection.Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. End users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers

19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

North China Daily News Online

The North China Daily News(in Chinese: Zilin Xibao), was an English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time. Spanning the period 1923-1941 this is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China, and with that the history of Shanghai, a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture and the economy, and thus the hub of all Euro-American activity.

Past Portal

Provides access to Colonial Williamsburg Foundations online archive of research reports, manuscripts, probate inventories, and Virginia Gazette issues published in Williamsburg from 1736 to 1780. The Digital Library has now been integrated into the Research section of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundations website. Coverage: 17th-18th centuries.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

Prominent early American newspaper published in Philadelphia. Articles, editorials, letters, news items, and advertisements. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1728-1800.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1819-1870)

Documents the move to industrialization from a predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century. Articles, advertisements, vital statistics, etc., from 8 newspapers published in the area. Coverage: Varies by title.

Pennsylvania Packet

The first successful daily newspaper in America, published in Philadelphia. Coverage: 1776-1779.

Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers, 1690-1783

Music, dance, theater, and poetry. Citations to articles in American newspapers from the earliest extant copy (1690) through the end of the Revolutionary War (1783), including those in the French and German languages.

Personal Justice Denied

Concerns internment of Japanese Americans and Aleuts during World War II. Testimony of witnesses & others, personal stories, publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc,. related to the hearings. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1981.

Philadelphia Inquirer: Historical Newspapers 1860-2001

The Philadelphia Inquirer, one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

Philadelphia Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1912-2001

The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

Picture Post Historical Archive

Weekly newspaper published in Great Britain that defined the style of photojournalism in the 20th century. Complete and searchable. Coverage: 1938-1957.

Pittsburgh Courier: Historical Newspapers 1911-2002

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh Courier (1955-1965 : City ed.).

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette: Historical Newspapers 1786-2003

The Post-Gazette is the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Reporting news in a city that was once considered the industrial center of a nation, and now considered an education and medical hub, this newspaper offers researchers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.

Policing the Shanghai International Settlement

A self-governing area of British, Russian, American, German, Japanese, and French expatriates. Includes files from the Special Branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police, reports, handbills, translations of Chinese press coverage, and clippings from the English-language press. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1894-1985.

POLITICO Pro

POLITICO Pro is considered the essential policy information tool. It offers real-time, customizable news & analysis on developments in policy, access to over 100 policy expert reporters and a data-driven graphics/presentation tool.

Pravda Digital Archive

Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.

ProQuest

Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

ProQuest Civil War Era

This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.

Republic of New Afrika

Activities of the Republic of New Afrika leaders, power struggles within the organization, its growing militancy, and its affiliations with other black militant organizations. Documentation collected by the FBI, including newspaper and periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, leaflets, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1968-1980.

Revolution and Protest Online

Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18thcentury through the present. It is organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics.

Richmond Times Dispatch

Full color image edition (with current day) of the Richmond Times-Dispatch daily newspaper. All formats of the Richmond Times-Dispatch (print feed, web edition, and new image edition) can also be accessed from Access World News.

San Francisco Chronicle: Historical Newspapers 1865-1922

Founded by two teenage brothers in 1865 when the West was still wild, this newspaper lets researchers travel back in time to experience the completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Klondike gold rush, the San Francisco earthquake and fire of 1906, America’s entry into World War I, and many other events.

Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993

The origins of and responses to the deregulation of S&Ls. Correspondence, studies, testimony, talking points, and news clippings from the White House, staff offices, and agencies. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.

Scotsman: Historical Newspapers 1817-1950

When it was founded in 1817, The Scotsman was so radical that it was considered “incendiary.” Today, it continues to provide an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events. The Scotsman captured the unprecedented turmoil and change occurring on both sides of the Atlantic during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Security Issues Online

Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

South China Morning Post: Historical Newspapers 1903-1998

South China Morning Post gives researchers new insights into Hong Kong’s unique political and social history during the 20th century. This premier English-language title is known for its authoritative, influential, and independent reporting on all of Asia as well as its perspective of the rest of the world.

St. Louis Post Dispatch: Historical Newspapers 1874-2003

The St. Louis Post-Dispatch was noted for its investigative reporting and human interest stories. Created by Joseph Pulitzer of two pre-existing newspapers, the Post-Dispatch is the only St. Louis newspaper still in print. In addition to valuable coverage of pivotal regional events the daily publication provides a uniquely Midwestern perspective of local, national and international news.

Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993

The student demonstrations and their aftermath, including crackdowns on Chinese civil rights. Public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.

Times Digital Archive (London Times)

The world's newspaper of record. Includes entire newspaper, all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos. Fully searchable. Does NOT include the Sunday Times. Coverage: 1785-2012.

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

Weekly literature review published in London. Complete facsimile edition, fully searchable. Book reviews, arts reviews, poems, letters, and commentary pieces. Coverage: 1902-2012.

Times of India: Historical Newspapers1838-2008

The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.

Toronto Star: Historical Newspapers 1894-2015

The Toronto Star is Canada’s highest circulation newspaper and was unique among early North American newspapers in its consistent advocacy of ordinary people. It was an advocate of social causes and is generally considered to be the most leftwing of Canada’s major newspapers and a major influence on the development of Canadian social policy.

Virginia Gazette

News covering all of Virginia, also information from other colonies, Scotland, England, and other countries. Published weekly in Williamsburg, VA. Coverage: 1736-1780.

Virginian-Pilot Historical and Current

Includes the Virginian-Pilot Historical Archives, 1865-1989; as well as the current newspaper issues from 1990 to present. Content can also be accessed from "Access World News."

Wall Street Journal: Historical Newspapers 1889-2002

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1889-2002.

Washington Post Digital: 1996 to present

Unlimited digital access to the WashingtonPost.com web site on any device and to all Washington Post apps. Must be logged in to your WashingtonPost.com account. Register for a free account with your W&M email address at the registration link above. You need only register one time. This will provide direct access to washingtonpost.com.

Washington Post: Historical Newspapers 1877-2002

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1877-2002.

Washington Post: ProQuest Recent Newspapers

Washington Post as it appears on microfilm (full-page images with a page-by-page browsing format). Updated monthly. Coverage: 2008-present.

Web of Science

All areas of research. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation IndexScience, and Conference Proceedings Citation IndexSocial Sciences & Humanities. Unique feature: ability to search citations to a person's work in footnotes and bibliographies. Coverage: 1900-present.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through womens voices.

World News Connection

Complete archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Contains information derived from full-text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.

WYDaily (Williamsburg Yorktown Daily)

Williamsburg Yorktown Daily is the only daily newspaper dedicated to Williamsburg and James City and York counties. MUST BE ON-CAMPUS TO ACCESS.