Reference

Refine these databases by:

African American Biographical Database
Biographical information on African Americans. Includes Chadwyck-Healey's microform collection: Black Biographical Dictionaries, 1790-1950, obituary files, slave narrative collections, photographs, and illustrations; and the index to that collection, Black biography, 1790-1950.
African American Music Reference
Music Online: African American Music Reference includes full text from major reference works; personal narratives from oral histories and interviews; manuscripts, song sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources. The largest online collection of musical scores and reference works available anywhere.
African Diaspora, 1860-Present
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents.
Annual Register: A Record of World Events
The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. This classic reference work provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information. Coverage: 1758-Present
ATLAS
ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching, Learning and Schools) provides an interactive look inside the classrooms of NBCTs. With a case library of video and written commentary it serves as a teacher prep and professional learning resource. **To be added as a user please contact Rebecca Beasley at the Learning Resource Center at rlbeas@wm.edu.**
Birds of the World
Birds of the World is a scholarly publication that integrates content from several renowned ornithological resources, including Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive, Birds of North America, Neotropical Birds, Bird Families of the World, and the Internet Bird Collection.
Book Review Index Plus
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews. Coverage begins with 1965.
Brill's New Pauly Online
Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.
British History Online
Primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Includes the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial; Calendars of State Papers, Domestic; the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland; the Calendar of Close Rolls; and the official records of the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Coverage: 1500-1850, some earlier coverage. Access to premium content.
BrowZine Web
Find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your college library, covering all disciplines. Access BrowZine from your browser by simply going to http://browzine.com. BrowZine will automatically detect if users are on campus and select your library; if off-campus, users will be prompted initially to select their library. From your mobile device download BrowZine from the App Store and install it. Supported devices: iPad (2 or later); Google Nexus; Samsung Galaxy; Kindle Fire HD. Select the subject areas and start browsing!
ccAdvisor
A searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to scholarly academic databases, websites, and tools withhundreds of reviews and updated information on electronic resources. The reviews are written by subject-area experts in collaboration between Choice and the Charleston Company.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Catalog of newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching; special strength in publications and archives from developing nations. Coverage: Varies by title.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
CLCD is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.6 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of childrens books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). The database provides over 1.6 million entries including 650,000 national, state, and international award entries (725 Awards and growing) dating back to 1922.
Choice Reviews Online
Includes searchable database of reviews issued in the print magazine Choice since September 1988.
Chronicle of Higher Education
News and information about higher education, job listings in academia, discussion forums, and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. To search issues, scroll and click This Weeks Issue, then View Issues by Year. Click these instructions for accessing the Chronicle via off-campus computers, mobile devices, and iPads. Note: although the Chronicle.com website includes coverage from 1989-present, only the most current year plus one year can be searched by issue. To browse earlier years, use the database Academic Search Complete. Coverage: 1989-present (see note above)
Classical Music Reference Library
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.
ConsumerReports.org
Provides access to the online version of Consumer reports magazine, as well as additional features. Includes ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel. Includes product test videos, interactive guides, advice forums, consumer news, and more.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Worksis a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volume II provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them.
CQ Almanac
Annual coverage of the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the US Congress. In-depth reviews and analyses. Coverage: 1945-2012.
CQ Press Library
CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. It includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, Politics in America, State Stats, and Voting and Elections.
CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection
Integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a research and reference tool on voting and elections in America. From the American voter, to major and minor political parties, to actual races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships, the collection provides context-driven intelligence on the state of elections in America. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789. Election data can be downloaded.
CQ Researcher (includes CQ Global Researcher)
Issues and controversial subjects in the news. In-depth coverage of a single topic at a time, with extensive text and bibliographies. CQ Global Researcher covers international issues and crises. Coverage: 1991-present.
Credo Reference
Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, quotation dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in many subjects. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Dictionary of Old English
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology.
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare.
Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983
Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983 indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Eight Centuries
Formerly 19th Century Masterfile. Covers scholarly sources from the 12th century to early 20th century. Includes Earl Gregg Swem's Virginia Historical Index; Poole's Index to Periodical Literature; Niles' Register; American Memory; links to images in ArtSTOR; plus many more. Citations to magazine articles, books, newspapers, patents, and US/UK government documents, and images. Coverage: 1106-1930 (varies by source).
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Citations to more than 460,000 books, serials, pamphlets, advertisements, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral material published mainly in the British Isles and North America. From the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. Database now freely available from the British Library. Coverage: 1473-1800.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
A comprehensive reference work containing information on 7,097 known living languages. Languages are listed alphabetically by primary name under the country of the main population. Information includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, and other demographic and sociolinguistic information, if known. Reports and maps are included with our subscription.
Europa World
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to a wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. It includes: The entire universe of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S. A database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders A database of over 3 million recently awarded grants A keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF Grantmaker-related news, job opportunities, and Request For Proposals (RFPs) Grantmaker-sponsored publications
Gale Ebooks
Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library. Digitized reference books (encyclopedias, directories, etc.) in many subjects, with strong emphasis on literature. Searchable full text across all volumes. Date coverage: Varies by title. Access available to unlimited users.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
This cross-curricular product covers today’s hottest social issues and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. More than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and 19,000+ reference articles are included.
Gale Literature [Gale Literary Sources]
Integrates literature resources from Gale into a single research environment. The following collections are available within this interface: Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder,Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, MLA International Bibliography, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Global Plants
JSTOR Global Plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.
Humanities Index Retrospective 1907-1984
Humanities Index Retrospective 1907-1984 indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to over 1,000,000 articles, including citations of over 155,000 books reviews.
International Plant Names Index
IPNI is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked.
Library & Information Science Source
Library & Information Science Source was developed to meet the needs of librarians, information professional and students. Content includes full text for more than 460 publications and indexing for hundreds of high-quality journals, as well as books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. In addition, Library & Information Science Source provides comprehensive coverage of the history of library studies.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective 1905-1983
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective contains indexing of nearly 1,500 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. This resource provides access to nearly 80 years of citations that document all of the innovations, controversies and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Librarianship and information science. Citations to journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings. Coverage: mid 1960s- present.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.
Lynda.com [Now LinkedIn Learning]
Lynda.com is a constantly growing library of over 2000 video courses and over 107,000 tutorials in streaming video format, and new material is added every week. Courses are offered at different skill levels in over 140 specialties. Subjects covered range from 3D + Animation; Audio; Business including Office and Google software; Design; Developer; Photography and Video; and Web and social media. Videos use screenshots, narration, live action, smart boards, charts and graphics, audio and include captioning.
Merriam-Webster Online
English-language dictionary and thesaurus. Coverage: Current.
National Journal
Includes all the tools most useful to academic users: The Almanac, a Congressional and Federal Agency Directory that includes biographical information of members, committee breakdowns, and state/district demographic breakdowns; the Daybook, a comprehensive Congressional and regulatory calendar to track hearings, meetings, and events; and the Racetracker, an elections dashboard tracking polling and financials for every federal election in 2016. Also includes the Presentation Center and Axis Data Center.
New Play Exchange
The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. Designed and built with the needs of the entire new play sector in mind, it serves writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and even fans of the theater.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on art history across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Buddhism as a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Chinese Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Hindu Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Hinduism. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
The new OCD is a continuously updated and ever-expanding resource that will ensure scholarship remains current and reflective of emerging subfields and perspectives. New and revised articles written by leading international authors will appear on a rolling basis.
Oxford English Dictionary - OED
Definitions for most of the words in the English language. Also information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present. Coverage: Current and historical.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Reference sources, scholarly & introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines. Coverage: Current. Unlimited user access.
ProQuest Central
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Coverage: 1970-current.
PubChem
The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.
Reaxys
Organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry. Information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Includes patent information. Coverage: 1771-present.
SciFinder-n
You must register to use this database. Click on this link to register: https://proxy.wm.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/in.... Chemical and related scientific literature, including chemical structure, substance data, reaction information, and commercial sources. Citations, with some links to full text, to journal articles and patent literature, from the databases produced by the Chemical Abstracts Service.
Short Story Index
This products aim is to index all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered. Approximately 200+ monographs are captured per year, with approximately 3,000-4,000 analytics (chapters/stories).
Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1983
Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1983 offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the social sciences dating as far back as 1907. With its extraordinary breadth and depth, this database indexes approximately 1,000,000 articles, including book reviews.
Something About the Author
Something About the Author series examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a special research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Users will be asked to create a user profile.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Detailed information about serials from around the world, including academic & scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc. Includes evaluative reviews of hundreds of those serials from Magazines for Libraries. Coverage: Current.
Virginia Heritage Database
Virginia history and culture. Finding aids with descriptions of manuscript and archival collections in universities, colleges, and institutions in Virginia. Coverage: 1607-present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 , Scholar's Edition
US history and US women's history. Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, web site reviews, the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, and all publications of local, state, and national commissions on the status of women since 1963. Coverage: 1600-2000.
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Citations to books, journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, production reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media, etc. Coverage 1960-present.
WorldCat
Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.