Open Access

Refine these databases by:

Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

ccAdvisor

A searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to scholarly academic databases, websites, and tools withhundreds of reviews and updated information on electronic resources. The reviews are written by subject-area experts in collaboration between Choice and the Charleston Company.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.

EBSCO Open Dissertations

Created from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, Open Dissertations is a new, free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 1.5 million ETDs.

International Plant Names Index

IPNI is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked.

Knowledge Unlatched

Knowledge Unlatched (KU) makes scholarly content freely available to everyone and contributes to the further development of the Open Access (OA) infrastructure. Its online marketplace provides libraries and institutions worldwide with a central place to support OA collections and models from leading publishing houses and new OA initiatives.

OpenBook Publishers

E-book database, including anthropology and religion, art, cinema, music and theatre, economics and politics, history, law, literature and language, philosophy, women and gender. The titles are available to download with a choice of formatted digital editions and also a discount is given on purchases of paper copies by members of the university.

PubChem

The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.

VIVA Faculty Textbook Portal

The goal of the Portal is to provide course materials for adoption that are of no cost to students. It provides a wide array of Open Educational Resources, shared library resources, and content available for purchase using VIVA funds.

W&M ScholarWorks

Open access database containing the scholarly output of the W&M community, including masters theses and dissertations from 1920 to today.