Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Refine these databases by:
A history database through music; formerly American Song. Streaming audio with songs by and about all Americans (immigrants, children, enslaved persons, etc.), and about all aspects of the American experience (civil rights, political campaigns, the Revolutionary War, etc.). Coverage: Precolonial period-present.
The L.A. Theatre Works Collection delivers, for the first time online, more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nations premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
Classical music, including vocal, choral, orchestral, chamber music, stage and screen, opera, and operettas. Includes recordings, program notes, composer biographies, and play lists by category. Coverage: Medieval to contemporary.
Provides access to over 250,000 streaming tracks of contemporary world music from over 169 countries and 800 labels from around the world.
A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, liner notes and essays from New World, Composers Recordings (formerly Composers Recordings Inc./CRI) and other important labels. The basis for the collection is the diverse catalog of American music recordings by New World Records. Other contributing sources include the CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music labels.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
A database of over 130 tracks to stream jazz music from thousands of jazz performers. Good for the study of jazz history, appreciation, and performance.
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
This is a cross searchable database that links access to the following music streaming databases: American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Listening, Music and Dance Online, Music Periodicals of the 19th Century, Popular Music Library, Reference, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. This database provides unlimited simultaneous access to over 7,000,000 tracks of music.
Classical, jazz, world, rock, pop, folk, etc. Music notes, cover artwork, track list, instrumentation & publisher information, libretti & synopses of operas, composer & artist biographies. Streaming access. Coverage: Varies by title.
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers over 100,000 tracks of jazz from more than 9,000 albums. Over 12,000 jazz artists are represented.
Naxos Music Library World Music offers a wide range of content, from legendary historical performances to contemporary world music featuring recordings of over 32,000 artists. The complete catalogues of important world music labels such as the ARC and Smithsonian Folkways are on the platform, along with thousands of titles from over 350 other labels. New titles are added weekly. NML World covers music from over 150 countries and 1,500 cultural groups.
Philosophy Talk is a weekly, one-hour radio program that challenges listeners to question their assumptions and to think about things in new ways. The hosts' down-to-earth and no-nonsense approach brings the richness of philosophic thought to everyday subjects. Topics are lofty (Truth, Beauty, Justice), arresting (Terrorism, Intelligent Design, Climate Change), and engaging (Baseball, Love, Happiness). Philosophy Talk is produced by KALW on behalf of Stanford University, as part of its Humanities Outreach Initiative. Unlimited access to the complete Philosophy Talk radio archive. The archive features 500 episodes on a enormous range of interdisciplinary topics that support course curricula. Contains all Philosophy Talk episodes aired since the program's debut in 2004.
World music and aural traditions. Recordings of music, spoken word, oral histories, and natural and human-made sounds. Coverage: All time periods, most recordings done 1948-1986.
Virtually Vocal is an online training tool for singers, voice teachers, and schools. Unlimited access to thousands of high-quality accompaniment recordings with melody-emphasized teach tracks, hundreds of vocal exercises, unlimited requests for new accompaniments and learning resources. USER LOGS IN WITH PERSONAL ACCOUNT