P Databases

1 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

 Report an Error

 Ask a Librarian

 Usage Guidelines

 Off Campus Access



Refine these databases by:

PAIS Index

Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.

Papers of Alexander Hamilton Digital Edition

Considered the authoritative edition of the correspondence and papers of Hamilton. Searchable across all volumes. Edited by Harold C. Syrett et al. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1768-1804.

Papers of Andrew Jackson

The entire Jackson edition, comprising the 9 volumes published so far through the year 1831, is now available in a fully searchable digital format within the American Founding Era collection.

Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry

A collection of letters, diaries, and other documents from a mother and daughter in South Carolina covering 1739 to 1830. An interesting look into the daily life of the management of an early American household and plantation.

Papers of George Washington Digital Edition

Considered the authoritative edition of the correspondence and papers of Washington. Searchable across all volumes. Begun by editors Donald Jackson and Dorothy Twohig and continued by Edward Lengel. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage ongoing, begins 1744.

Papers of James Madison Digital Edition

Considered the authoritative edition of the correspondence and papers of Madison. Searchable across all volumes. Begun by editors William T. Hutchinson and William M. E. Rachal and continued by Barbara Oberg. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1751-1820.

Papers of John Marshall

This digital edition covers the complete papers of John Marshall, the longest-serving chief justice on the United States Supreme Court. Under his direction, the judicial branch achieved equality with the other branches of government and constitutionality was established as the crucial element in court decisions. This edition brings together all twelve printed volumes published from 1974 to 2006 into one searchable online resource.

Papers of Neville Chamberlain

The Papers of Neville Chamberlain contain political papers documenting his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, but also highlight his personal correspondence with his family. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1869-1940.

Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition

Considered the authoritative edition of the correspondence and papers of Jefferson. Searchable across all volumes. Begun by editor Julian Boyd and continued by Barbara Oberg. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage ongoing, begins 1760.

Papers of Woodrow Wilson

TheROTUNDADigital Editionincludes the complete contents of the landmark letterpress edition of the papers, withnearly 35,000 documents across 69 volumes, with new material forthcoming from the Library of Congress and the Wilson Presidential Library. Coverage: 1856-1924.

PapersFirst

Citations to papers presented at conferences worldwide. Coverage: 1993-present.

Past Portal

Provides access to Colonial Williamsburg Foundations online archive of research reports, manuscripts, probate inventories, and Virginia Gazette issues published in Williamsburg from 1736 to 1780. The Digital Library has now been integrated into the Research section of the Colonial Williamsburg Foundations website. Coverage: 17th-18th centuries.

Patrologia Latina

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

Peace Research Abstracts

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including International Journal of Peace Studies, International Journal on World Peace, and Conflict Management & Peace Science. Coverage from 1964.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

Prominent early American newspaper published in Philadelphia. Articles, editorials, letters, news items, and advertisements. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1728-1800.

Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalog

Marriages, obituaries, emigration patterns, customs, important events, etc., from the Village Record, published in West Chester, PA. Coverage: 1818-1870.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County (1819-1870)

Documents the move to industrialization from a predominantly agrarian culture established by Quaker farmers in the 18th century. Articles, advertisements, vital statistics, etc., from 8 newspapers published in the area. Coverage: Varies by title.

Pennsylvania Packet

The first successful daily newspaper in America, published in Philadelphia. Coverage: 1776-1779.

Performance Design Archive Online

With the Performance Design Archive Online theater students and researchers can now truly see behind the scenes of the world's greatest dramatic performances. This database is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day.

Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers, 1690-1783

Music, dance, theater, and poetry. Citations to articles in American newspapers from the earliest extant copy (1690) through the end of the Revolutionary War (1783), including those in the French and German languages.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database

Formerly the International Index to the Performing Arts, the Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. It draws from both current files and selected backfiles to 1864 and 134 publications are included in full text.

Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

Personal Justice Denied

Concerns internment of Japanese Americans and Aleuts during World War II. Testimony of witnesses & others, personal stories, publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc,. related to the hearings. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1981.

Philadelphia Inquirer: Historical Newspapers 1860-2001

The Philadelphia Inquirer, one of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, is known for its coverage of the American Civil War that was popular with readers on both sides; its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe; and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

Philadelphia Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1912-2001

The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

Philosopher's Index

Philosophy and related fields. Citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Coverage: 1940-present. Access available to unlimited users.

PhilPapers

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis

The first US lesbian rights organization. Correspondence, manuscripts, organizational papers, constitutions, flyers, legal & financial documents, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1955-1984.

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)

PROLA is a complete archive of the American Physical Society's journal publications dating back to the first volume of each journal. Coverage: 1893-present.

Picture Post Historical Archive

Weekly newspaper published in Great Britain that defined the style of photojournalism in the 20th century. Complete and searchable. Coverage: 1938-1957.

Pittsburgh Courier: Historical Newspapers 1911-2002

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh Courier (1955-1965 : City ed.).

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette: Historical Newspapers 1786-2003

The Post-Gazette is the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Reporting news in a city that was once considered the industrial center of a nation, and now considered an education and medical hub, this newspaper offers researchers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.

Policing the Shanghai International Settlement

A self-governing area of British, Russian, American, German, Japanese, and French expatriates. Includes files from the Special Branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police, reports, handbills, translations of Chinese press coverage, and clippings from the English-language press. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1894-1985.

Political Relations and Conflict Between Republican China and Imperial Japan

The records of the U.S. State Department in this collection relate to political relations between China and Japan. The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied by enclosures. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1939.

Political Science Complete

This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

POLITICO Pro

POLITICO Pro is considered the essential policy information tool. It offers real-time, customizable news & analysis on developments in policy, access to over 100 policy expert reporters and a data-driven graphics/presentation tool.

Polling the Nations

Questions and responses from public opinion polls conducted in the US and other countries. Coverage: 1986-present.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

This resource contains digitizations of popular culture collections from the U.S. and U.K. between 1950 to 1975. These original archival materials are from various libraries and archives. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, and the Vietnam War. The collection includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, underground magazines, visual and video materials and ephemera and memorabilia. Part II contains additional material, such as music, press kits, mail order catalogues, advertising proofs, additional photos from the Mirrorpix archives, and documents on student unrest and the Troubles in Northern Ireland from the National Archives.

Pravda Digital Archive

Newspaper published in Moscow that was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party. Fully searchable. In Russian. Coverage: 1912-2009.

ProceedingsFirst

Every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. Citations to the papers presented. Coverage: 1993-present.

Project Muse

Arts, humanities, and social sciences. Journal articles. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.

Project Muse for Alumni

Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Access is available to all alumni through Alumni Association accounts. The link above will take you to your my1693 member login page; please log in to access this resource.

ProQuest

Collection of databases devoted to disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by database.

ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

The collection contains advanced technology related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace (ATDWA). Also includes: Computer & Information Systems Abstracts - Electronics & Communications Abstracts - Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts. Coverage: 1962-current.

ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage: 1960 - current

ProQuest Biological Science Collection

INCLUDED DATABASES: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources - ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts - ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts - Algology, Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) - Animal Behavior Abstracts - Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) - Biochemistry Abstracts 1 - Biochemistry Abstracts 3 - Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts - Chemoreception Abstracts - Neurosciences Abstracts - Ecology Abstracts - Entomology Abstracts - Endocrinology Abstracts - Genetics Abstracts - Health and Safety Science Abstracts - Human Genome Abstracts - Immunology Abstracts - Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) - Biotechnology Research Abstracts - Nucleic Acids Abstracts - Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts - Toxicology Abstracts - AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts ( included in Virology and AIDS Abstracts) MEDLINE - Plant Science Toxline - Conference Papers Index. Coverage: 1946-current.

ProQuest Central
This database is a trial which expires October 10, 2019. We appreciate your feedback.

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

ProQuest Civil War Era

This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.

ProQuest Congressional

Historic and current congressional information. Includes Committee Prints, Congressional Record 1789-2009, CRS Reports, Hearings 1824-present, Unpublished Hearings 1973-1992, House & Senate Documents and Reports, Legislative Histories, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948, and the Serial Set. Coverage: 1789-present.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations.

ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection

Includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage: 1950 - current

Proquest History Vault

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Includes multiple subcollections in broad subject areas like Civil Rights; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics and Society; International Relations and Military Conflicts; Women's Studies; and Workers and Labor Unions.

ProQuest Materials Science Collection

The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. Coverage: 1965 - current

Proquest SciTech Premium Collection

This database is the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States

Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites. Coverage: 1895-present.

PsychiatryOnline

Psychiatry and related disciplines. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM),the DSM Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM cases, journal articles, and textbooks. Coverage: Current.

Psychological Experiments Online

Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.

Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II

Most items in this collection were dropped by the Allies over German occupied territory, many printed in more than 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1939-1945.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Journal articles. Coverage: 1937-present.

PsycINFO

Psychology and related disciplines. Scholarly articles from 2,500+ psychology journals, plus books, dissertations, and other sources. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1600s-present.

PsycTESTS

A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Provides information describing the tests and measurements and how to administer them.

PTSDpubs

This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current

PubChem

The biological activities of small molecules; a component of the National Institutes of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. Substance information, compound structures, and bioactivity data. Coverage: Current.

Public Administration Abstracts

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration. Full archive of this index digitized, bringing coverage back to 1974.

PubMed

Medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, dentistry, nursing, and health care. Free database from the National Institutes of Health. Citations to biomedical literature from the MEDLINE database, journal articles, and online books. See also Medline. Coverage: 1951-present.