L Databases

1 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y

 Report an Error

 Ask a Librarian

 Usage Guidelines

 Off Campus Access



Refine these databases by:

L'Annee Philologique

Language, literature, history, and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Citations to journal articles, books, and conferences. Coverage: 1924-present.

LandScan Global Archive

The data is provided in a format which is digestible in any GIS software that allows the user to import ESRI GRID-formatted data. The WMS and WCS are links to the data hosted on East View Geospatial's servers for organization-wide access and can be used with most current GIS software. Coverage: 2000-2017.

Latin American Newspapers

Searchable collection of over 280 historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922, offering unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.

Leader-Post: Historical Newspapers 1883-2010

The Leader-Post is a Canadian newspaper with coverage of the politics, society and events in the Regina, Saskatchewan province.

Legacy RefWorks

RefWorks is an online tool that can import citations from databases and format them in various output styles for your research papers' bibliographies. It also has a Write-N-Cite function that helps you write your paper in Word, coordinating parenthetical notes, footnotes, and end notes with your bibliography. Note: RefWorks 3.0, a new version of RefWorks, is now available to W&M students, staff, and faculty, and W&M Libraries will no longer support Legacy RefWorks beginning Fall 2019. RefWorks 3.0 can be accessed at: https://refworks.proquest.com

Legal Collection

Current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world. Articles from international scholarly law journals. Coverage: Varies by title.

Legal Source

Legal Source is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, and others involved with the law. Providing full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative source for information on current issues, studies and trends in the legal world. The collection includes over 1,200 full-text journals and over 2.5 million records, including book reviews and case citations. Legal Source offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment.

LegalTrac

LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.

Letters of Christina Rossetti

Complete text of The Letters of Christina Rossetti (ed. Antony H. Harrison, University Press of Virginia, 19972004). Searchable letters of the Victorian poet. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1843-1895.

Letters of Matthew Arnold

Complete text of The Letters of Matthew Arnold (ed. Cecil Y. Lang,University Press of Virginia, 19962001). Searchable letters of the 19th-century poet and cultural critic. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1829-1888.

LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni)

Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

LGBT Life with Full Text

Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues. Journal and magazine articles, books, news sources, and regional newspapers. Coverage: Varies by title.

LGBT Thought and Culture

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.

Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

Black nationalism and pan-Africanism. FBI documents, correspondence, ephemera, reports, memoranda, transcriptions, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1970-1985.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Librarianship and information science. Citations to journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings. Coverage: mid 1960s- present.

Linguistics Abstracts Online

Linguistics Abstracts Online includes more than 800 journals dating back to 1911 and thousands of records with subject headings created by linguistics experts. Materials encompass the broad spectrum of linguistics and language study, including subject areas such as applied linguistics, communication, computational linguistics, deaf studies and education, English language teaching, fluency disorders, language and cultures, phonetics and phonology, psychology, speech pathology, theoretical linguistics and many more.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Language and linguistics, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973- present.

LinkedIn Learning

Formerly Lynda.com. LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos. With more than 5,000 courses and personalized recommendations, you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. You can also choose to add these courses and related skills to your LinkedIn profile once you've completed them. W&M login required.

Literature Criticism Online

Commentaries on major literary works. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Coverage: Varies by title.

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online offers the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day. Articles from over 430 scholarly journals included. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), one of the most important bibliographic sources for English studies.

Literature Resources from Gale

Literature criticism, biographies, work & topic overviews, reviews, and full text of many literary works. Coverage: Varies by subject.

Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers Project

Social history, industry& labor, government, sports, hobbies, etc. Publications of all 47 states, including city guides and original artwork. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1933-1943.

Loeb Classical Library

A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

Los Angeles Sentinel: Historical Newspapers 1934-2005

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2005). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

Los Angeles Times (LA Times), 1881-1994

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1881 - 1994.

Louisville Courier Journal: Historical Newspapers 1830-2000

The Louisville Courier Journal is Kentucky's newspaper of record. The paper has become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia. The Courier Journal became the first U.S. daily newspaper to appoint a woman managing editor, Carol Sutton in 1974.

Lynda.com [Now LinkedIn Learning]

Lynda.com is a constantly growing library of over 2000 video courses and over 107,000 tutorials in streaming video format, and new material is added every week. Courses are offered at different skill levels in over 140 specialties. Subjects covered range from 3D + Animation; Audio; Business including Office and Google software; Design; Developer; Photography and Video; and Web and social media. Videos use screenshots, narration, live action, smart boards, charts and graphics, audio and include captioning.