N Databases

1 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y

 Report an Error

 Ask a Librarian

 Usage Guidelines

 Off Campus Access



Refine these databases by:

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The NCJRS Abstracts provides users with information thoroughly covering the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice. Topics covered within the database include corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims.
National Geographic Virtual Library
The complete archive of National Geographic magazine, from the first issue to the present. Includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface. Includes People, Animals, and the World. Coverage: 1888-present.
National Journal
Includes all the tools most useful to academic users: The Almanac, a Congressional and Federal Agency Directory that includes biographical information of members, committee breakdowns, and state/district demographic breakdowns; the Daybook, a comprehensive Congressional and regulatory calendar to track hearings, meetings, and events; and the Racetracker, an elections dashboard tracking polling and financials for every federal election in 2016. Also includes the Presentation Center and Axis Data Center.
National Security and FBI Surveillance Enemy Aliens
This collection provides insight into the recent history of the surveillance of aliens and national security during World War II and the early postwar period. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1940-1978.
National Theatre Collection
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Naxos Music Library
Classical, jazz, world, rock, pop, folk, etc. Music notes, cover artwork, track list, instrumentation & publisher information, libretti & synopses of operas, composer & artist biographies. Streaming access. Coverage: Varies by title.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers over 100,000 tracks of jazz from more than 9,000 albums. Over 12,000 jazz artists are represented.
NBER Working Papers
Results of National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) research in preliminary form before final publication. Coverage: 1973-present.
NetAdvantage
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage is a comprehensive, professional source of proprietary analysis on industries, along with analysis of the major companies in a given industry. For non-business students, the service includes a Financial Education section with tools for understanding personal finance.
New Pauly Online
Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world
New Play Exchange
The New Play Exchange, a National New Play Network project, is the world’s largest digital library of scripts by living writers. Designed and built with the needs of the entire new play sector in mind, it serves writers, producers, directors, artistic directors, literary managers, dramaturgs, publishers, agents, actors, professors, students, and even fans of the theater.
New York Amsterdam News: Historical Newspapers 1922-1993
African American newspaper, published weekly in New York City. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1922-1993.
New York Times Digital
Unlimited access to the NYTimes.com web site and NYT apps. Also includes New York Times' archives for articles outside the 1923-1980 date range. Must be logged in to your NYTimes.com account. Register for a free account. You need only register one time at accessnyt.com. This will provide direct access to nytimes.com. 1. Navigate to accessnyt.com 2. Search for William & Mary 3. On campus click here off-campus click Go (you will need to log in to your school library site) You will be redirected to the NYT welcome page. 4. Click "Create Account” and complete registration fields Once completed, you may navigate directly to nytimes.com from any web-enabled device.
New York Times: Historical Newspapers 1851-2014
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1851-2014.
New York Times: ProQuest Recent Newspapers
New York Times as it appears on microfilm (full-page images with a page-by-page browsing format). Updated monthly. Coverage: 2008-3 months ago
New York Tribune/Hearld Tribune: Historical Newspapers 1841-1962
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1841-1962.
New Yorker Archive
Provides full text searchable archives for the New Yorker journal. Covers domestic and international politics, arts and culture from leading authors, poets, journalists and statesmen. Coverage: 1925-present. Two simultaneous users.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015
NewsBank/Readex
Collection of historical primary-source databases. See titles of individual databases for further information. Coverage: Varies by title.
Newsday: Historical Newspapers 1940-1989
As the largest suburban newspaper in the United States, Newsday provides a fascinating glimpse into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the New York metropolitan area and northeastern United States during the post-World War II period.
Newspaper Source Plus
Major American newspapers, some foreign newspapers, and selected stories from US regional newspapers. Also includes television and radio news transcripts. Coverage: Varies by title.
Newspapers.com – World Collection
Newspapers.com is a historical database of newspapers across the globe, potentially going as far back as 1690 and up until the present day.
Newsweek Archive
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries. With coverage from 1933 through 2012, it comprises 80 years of news reporting and commentary, charting the key US and global events during this period. Its diverse content beyond news and politics (in areas including business, science/technology, arts, travel, and family life) is such that there is valuable material for researchers in many fields, from history and political science through to economics, women's studies, and media history.
Newswires
Formerly, AP NewsMonitor Collection.Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. End users can immediately access the full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexisincluding U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933
The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1910-1933.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online

Politics, society, literature, diplomacy, theater, music, high & popular culture, etc. Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers

19th century U.S. urban and regional newspapers. Fully searchable. Coverage: 1800-early 20th century.

Norfolk Journal and Guide: Historical Newspapers 1916-2003
One of the best researched and well written African American newspapers of its time. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1916-2003.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Historiesincludes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives,
North American Indian Drama Second Edition
This edition ofNorth American Indian Dramacontains 256 plays by 49 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
This fifth release of North American Indian Thought and Culture contains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diariesincludes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Coverage: Colonial to 1950
North China Daily News Online
The North China Daily News(in Chinese: Zilin Xibao), was an English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time. Spanning the period 1923-1941 this is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China, and with that the history of Shanghai, a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture and the economy, and thus the hub of all Euro-American activity.